Overall Review

3.6
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 9.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 5th, 2016
Inaccurate Diagnosis
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Firshein's bedside manner was just ok, but the worst issue was he very poor attention and eventual diagnosis. After pointing out a problem for two years, a growth that was continuing to increase significantly in size he kept pointing out that it was "just a fluid build up" and "nothing to worry about". Turned out he was extremely inaccurate, turned out to be a large Liposarcoma tumor. He doesn't listen to his patients issues and he should have helped me much sooner. Would definitely not recommend him and have found another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2016
INAPPROPRIATE TOUCHING
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I AM A FEMALE IN MY 30'S. I WAS ASKED TO GO TO THE PRACTICE AS A RESULT OF A LOW WBC FROM MY PRIMARY. IN OUR "EXAM" THE DOCTOR ASKED ME TO LAY BACK. HE FELT AROUND MY STOMACH AND BRUSHED UP AGAINST MY BOOB THEN. THEN AGAIN AS HE WAS BRINGING HIS HANDS DOWN FROM EACH SIDE OF MY NECK. HE ACKNOWLEDGED IT AND APOLOGIZED THE 2ND TIME, BUT WHAT DOCTOR DOESN'T KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING AND FUMBLES WHEN GIVING AN EXAM? YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED IF YOU'RE A WOMAN AND YOU DECIDE TO GO TO THAT DOCTOR. THE PRACTICE, THE OFFICE, THE STAFF HAD THIS SULLEN GREY FEEL. IT WAS AN AWKWARD, CREEPY FEEL ALL AROUND. I'M GLAD I NEVER HAVE TO GO BACK. IF I HAD SOMETHING TO PROPERLY REPORT HIM ON I WOULD, BUT YOU JUST KNOW WHEN SOMEONE IS A CREEP. IN ADDITION, HIS BEDSIDE MANNER WAS HORRIBLE. HE TOLD ME THAT LOW WBC WAS TYPICAL OF MY RACE AND I SHOULDN'T WORRY ABOUT IT. A 2ND OPINION IS NOW GOING TO BE NECESSARY, JUST TO MAKE SURE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 22nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
helped my wife thru 2 bouts of cancer.very grateful for his help and knowledge.thank God.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 15th, 2015
Hematology At It's Best!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Wethersfield staff made this appointment so easy! They were very friendly and willing to help in any way... The Clinical Partners Lab was excellent in taking blood which was effortless, since I usually have difficulty giving blood. Dr. Firschein is a very caring and understanding person who takes the time to listen and answer all the questions you may have... his knowledge and expertise in the field of Hemotology puts you at ease and in the Best hands possible to monitor your progress. He also has a great sense of humor and makes you feel relaxed during an exam.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
Excellent Dr
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very nice man. Feel like I have his undivided attention throughout the appointment. Am able to ask all the questions I need to without feeling rushed or burdensome. Had a procedure outside his office recently and needed approval from. He/his office answered right away. Only complaint is the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2014
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a terrible experience with Dr. Firshein. He was incredibly rude to my husband and I. I agree with the other review, in that he belongs in a laboratory rather than with patients. He lacks compassion and is very abrasive. I would never recommend him after what we've been through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 13th, 2013
Find another doctor!
Wait time
5 minutes
If you would like to see a doctor who talks more about himself than showing concern for his patient than this is the doctor for you. Had my physical 2 months ago and can't get either the doctor or office to return any of my phone calls to let me know my test results. Unacceptable
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2013
Poor Bedside Manor, and Uncompassionate
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although Dr. Firshein may be educated, that does not mean he should be seeing patients. He is not forthcoming on information and when presenting diagnosis, does so in a "hit and run" manor. He should stick to research so that he doesn't have to deal with people. If it were just my experience I could say that maybe I am not looking at this in the correct light, however my family has had the same experiences where he has a dogmatic attitude, doesn't care about the patient and has absolutely no compassion. I hope this review will save someone the anger and pain that I and my family have experienced with this individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2012
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did not answer questions I had after the diagnosis was given. In fact the diagnosis ended up being incorrect! I ended up going to another doctor who did answer my questions and also accurately diagnosed me. Waste of time, time that could have gone towards my treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding doctor with great bedside manner who takes the time to understand how you are feeling.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 26th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Firshein is smart and conservative. His real interst is hematology so he can come up short in some areas of internal medicine/primary care such as muscular skeletal issues. He does listen and will make referrals if you persist about you concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Firshein, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hartford, CT.

Doctor

Dr. Daniel Kramer

9 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. James Kallal

40 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Melissa Ferraro-Borgida

23 years experience

4.7 of 5