The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Kates Is this you?
  • 18
  • 0
  • 3
  • 7
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Kates?


31 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2017

Very Caring and Very Thorough

Dr. Kates took time to answer all of my questions. He made sure I understood all of my options, and walked me through every step of the procedure I will be having.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

June 10th, 2015

pain

I waited 2 weeks for a appointment with his PA (who was excellent). I got a needed MRI. that showed the cartilage was gone in my left hip and the bone was bruised and swollen I could not get a pre op appointment with Dr Kates for 6-8 weeks . I was in a great deal of pain but appointments are scheduled on first come basics. I think Dr Kates should stop taking new patients until his practice is more manageable.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 27th, 2015

Dr. too busy to address surgical complications

If you have a surgical complication, it is impossible to get followup. Too busy.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2014

Superior service and Excellent office staff

Very easy to make an appointment if you call the appointment line. Offers surgery with extremely little wait time for such an experienced surgeon. Staff is friendly and helpful. To the person that wrote the bad review- you have the wrong Doctor as Dr. Kates only does knees and hips. He does not do hands or elbows. Maybe you should get the right physician before you put in a negative review.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2013

I love Dr. Kates. His office sees many patients so it can be hard toget an appointment. But it is worth it. I refere every one to him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2012

Had me in an over the elbow cast for 6 months for a broken scaphoid bone in my wrist. I was in a cast for a total of 8 months.

He never even prescribed PT after surgery, even though my arm was immobilized for 8 full months. It was horrendous and inexcusable. I'

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 4th, 2010

Total Knee Replacement

Dr. Kates is a very compassionate and caring surgeon. He is very concerned not only with the physical recovery but your emotional recovery as well. The joint is wonderful and my recovery is going well. His staff is exemplary and if ever again I need orthopedic surgery, he will be the one I choose!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 26th, 2017

2.0 Rating

May 26th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2015

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Kates is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Richmond, VA.

  • Dr. Joanna Horstmann

    Pediatric Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Richmond, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Ilvy Cotterell

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Richmond, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    9
  • Dr. Jonathan Isaacs

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Richmond, VA 0 mi

    4.6
    (16)
    21