Dr. Stephen Kates MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Richmond, VA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.8)

31 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    23%
  • Bad
    10%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 21.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2017
Very Caring and Very Thorough
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Kates took time to answer all of my questions. He made sure I understood all of my options, and walked me through every step of the procedure I will be having.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 10th, 2015
pain
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I waited 2 weeks for a appointment with his PA (who was excellent). I got a needed MRI. that showed the cartilage was gone in my left hip and the bone was bruised and swollen I could not get a pre op appointment with Dr Kates for 6-8 weeks . I was in a great deal of pain but appointments are scheduled on first come basics. I think Dr Kates should stop taking new patients until his practice is more manageable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 27th, 2015
Dr. too busy to address surgical complications
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you have a surgical complication, it is impossible to get followup. Too busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2014
Superior service and Excellent office staff
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very easy to make an appointment if you call the appointment line. Offers surgery with extremely little wait time for such an experienced surgeon. Staff is friendly and helpful. To the person that wrote the bad review- you have the wrong Doctor as Dr. Kates only does knees and hips. He does not do hands or elbows. Maybe you should get the right physician before you put in a negative review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Kates. His office sees many patients so it can be hard toget an appointment. But it is worth it. I refere every one to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2012
Had me in an over the elbow cast for 6 months for a broken scaphoid bone in my wrist. I was in a cast for a total of 8 months.
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He never even prescribed PT after surgery, even though my arm was immobilized for 8 full months. It was horrendous and inexcusable. I'
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2010
Total Knee Replacement
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kates is a very compassionate and caring surgeon. He is very concerned not only with the physical recovery but your emotional recovery as well. The joint is wonderful and my recovery is going well. His staff is exemplary and if ever again I need orthopedic surgery, he will be the one I choose!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017

2.0 of 5
May 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2015
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Kates, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Richmond, VA.