Dr. Stephen Mikulak MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.3
  • 102 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 1.3)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    53%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Wait Time 43.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2016
A Dedicated Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an excellent physician. The nature of his practice is that he gets emergencies. On occasion I've had lengthy waits for appointments at times but when I consider that the emergency could have been for me I realize the level of care he puts into his patients. I like it that he is decisive when I'm in a position where I'm having difficulty making a decision. He is a good man with a good staff. I've had terrific outcomes from his work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 1st, 2015
Yes to a second round!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Has my right hip replaced two years ago and now will choose him again for my left hip. Excellent follow up, accurate diagnosis and a caring staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 19th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mikulak and his staff, nurses, and especially his assistant Mr. Mike Walker are all angels! This is how I felt like in the surgery room: "surrounded by angels"! Dr. Mikulak is very confident, knowledgeable, caring, and kind! His calm and confident demenour projects onto his patients as soon as he walks in!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2014
Excellent
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had both knees replaced 4 weeks apart in 2012. The recovery time was speedy and the knees are performing wonderfully(20 months later). The physician gave an accurate and honest diagnosis with no pressure. Additionally, I have much less scarring than most total knee replacement recipients. I highly recommend Dr Mikulak.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2013
Husband's Hip Replacement
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband, Massimo had 16 months total hip replacement done by Dr. Stephan Mikulak- Excellent surgeon, Massimo is not an easy patient, however he is very please with the results, doctor's promptness, accurate diagnosis, manners, professionals and very courteous staff, with Mr. Mike the assistant. Thank you for making my husband running!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2013
So Glad I Found Him!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had hip replacement surgery. Dr. M was the second Dr. That I went to for a consultation. The 1st Dr. was a total hack! Dr. M was knowledgable, explained everything completely and I had a great recovery with NO PAIN! And a very tiny scar! I was up and playing golf within 2 mos! Followup continues to be great. I have referred many friends to Dr M and they have been just as pleased.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2011
No Walker No Cane No Pain?
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Day 15. Walked 1.6 miles without assistance. Dr.Mikulak's PA and the entire team were always responsive to any needs and questions. I never had pain above a 2 out of 5 level.Thank You Dr.Mikulak and your awesome team of professionals
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2010
Unprofessional behavior when quesitioned about my problem he created.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recommend him and after I went for my hip replacement (and ended up with a fractured femur as well, despite good bone density) the people that had told me he "was good" were not as surprised of my experience. I wish they had been more honest in their recommendation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2009
Amazing Results
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had both knees replaced by Dr. Mikulak. The results are truly amazing. His minimally invasive surgery meant that my recover/rehab process has been literally pain free. I haven't needed anything stronger than extra strength Tylenol!! I'm walking without pain for the first time in over 6 years. Only two days in the hospital, no blood transfusions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 10th, 2009
Two knee replacements
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
recovery was very quick.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2009
Joint Surgery-Knee
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The procedure that Dr. Mikulak does when replacing knees is much less invasive. He cuts down the inside of the leg instead of the top which means he doesn't cut through the muscle which mean quicker and easier recovery. The incision is sewn from the inside so it's a small then line that eventually (almost) disappears. I've had two knees replaced and cannot be happier with the entire experience. He did it at Hoag Hospital, with is the best in EVERYTHING anyway, but Mikulak and his staff are true professionals, and that is echoed by other doctors and staff at the hospital. He has a good name in the rehab community too. I hear how lucky I am from Physical Therapists, other patients and medical providers that don't even know him. Several people look at my scar and my quick recovery and say to me "i wish i would have gone to your doctor". All I can say is, I'm glad I did my research before and went to him for surgery. Don't think twice, go to Mikulak!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 19th, 2009
Not Going Back
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Too much cortisone - too many side affects - didn't fix the problem -way too expensive - went somewhere else
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Mikulak, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Ralph Venuto

49 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ryan Labovitch

15 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alan Beyer

40 years experience

4.7 of 5