The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Mikulak Is this you?
  • 58
  • 5
  • 2
  • 6
  • 21

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
37.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Mikulak?


92 Ratings with 14 Comments

4.0 Rating

November 2nd, 2016

I am a physician MD

I am 65 years old and remain active in the gym and in sports. I have had both hips and my right knee replaced in the past five years. I never considered another surgeon other than Dr. Mikulak to perform these surgeries. His skill is unmatched and his staff is knowledgeable and efficient.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 11th, 2016

A Dedicated Doctor

He is an excellent physician. The nature of his practice is that he gets emergencies. On occasion I've had lengthy waits for appointments at times but when I consider that the emergency could have been for me I realize the level of care he puts into his patients. I like it that he is decisive when I'm in a position where I'm having difficulty making a decision. He is a good man with a good staff. I've had terrific outcomes from his work.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

November 2nd, 2015

Yes to a second round!

Has my right hip replaced two years ago and now will choose him again for my left hip. Excellent follow up, accurate diagnosis and a caring staff.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 20th, 2014

Dr. Mikulak and his staff, nurses, and especially his assistant Mr. Mike Walker are all angels! This is how I felt like in the surgery room: "surrounded by angels"! Dr. Mikulak is very confident, knowledgeable, caring, and kind! His calm and confident demenour projects onto his patients as soon as he walks in!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2014

Excellent

I had both knees replaced 4 weeks apart in 2012. The recovery time was speedy and the knees are performing wonderfully(20 months later). The physician gave an accurate and honest diagnosis with no pressure. Additionally, I have much less scarring than most total knee replacement recipients. I highly recommend Dr Mikulak.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2013

Husband's Hip Replacement

My husband, Massimo had 16 months total hip replacement done by Dr. Stephan Mikulak- Excellent surgeon, Massimo is not an easy patient, however he is very please with the results, doctor's promptness, accurate diagnosis, manners, professionals and very courteous staff, with Mr. Mike the assistant. Thank you for making my husband running!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 8th, 2013

So Glad I Found Him!

Had hip replacement surgery. Dr. M was the second Dr. That I went to for a consultation. The 1st Dr. was a total hack! Dr. M was knowledgable, explained everything completely and I had a great recovery with NO PAIN! And a very tiny scar! I was up and playing golf within 2 mos! Followup continues to be great. I have referred many friends to Dr M and they have been just as pleased.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2012

?9
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2011

No Walker No Cane No Pain?

Day 15. Walked 1.6 miles without assistance. Dr.Mikulak's PA and the entire team were always responsive to any needs and questions. I never had pain above a 2 out of 5 level.Thank You Dr.Mikulak and your awesome team of professionals

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 30th, 2010

Unprofessional behavior when quesitioned about my problem he created.

I would not recommend him and after I went for my hip replacement (and ended up with a fractured femur as well, despite good bone density) the people that had told me he "was good" were not as surprised of my experience. I wish they had been more honest in their recommendation.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2009

Amazing Results

I have had both knees replaced by Dr. Mikulak. The results are truly amazing. His minimally invasive surgery meant that my recover/rehab process has been literally pain free. I haven't needed anything stronger than extra strength Tylenol!! I'm walking without pain for the first time in over 6 years. Only two days in the hospital, no blood transfusions.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 11th, 2009

Two knee replacements

recovery was very quick.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Mikulak is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

  • Dr. Scott Forman

    Dr. Scott Forman

    Foot and Ankle Orthopedics, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (31)
    31
  • Dr. Anthony Mork

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (66)
    40
  • Dr. Nicholas Rose

    Dr. Nicholas Rose

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Newport Beach, CA 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (25)
    26