Dr. Stephen Osborn MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Mountain View, CA

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 25 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.3)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    87%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Osborn's for over 25 years, and have always left his office knowing I had his full attention and best care. The few times I have had to see super specialists, he found me the best of the best, even in another state. I have seen physicians in the "big box" medical offices and much prefer the one on one attention you get at Dr. Osborn's office. If you need an orthopedist and want both a great doctor and individualized care, I highly recommend Dr. Stephen Osborn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Knows what he is doing. Easy to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 7th, 2015
Health Care Worker (Microbiologist)
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Besides having great results from my two surgeries, I was most impressed by Dr. Osborn's attention to detail. He is meticulous in all aspects of your treatment and recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2015
Meticulous and knowledgeable
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Spends ample time with patients. You never feel rushed. Great doctor. Highly recommend. Nice person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2014
Excellent Doctor for very unusual patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Osborn has taken the time to consult with VA doctors about my particular issues. I've never had a doctor who went to the experts to get more information about my situation. Truly unusual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 1st, 2014
Great doc, not just for sports injuries
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Osborn for a shoulder injury. Unlike a lot of his patients, this was not sports related but a house cleaning injury! I hurt my shoulder scrubbing the shower over 2 years ago. I ignored it for the most part, and at one point saw a different orthopedist. The other doc did a 5 minute exam and said I could have an x-ray if I wanted to. Since he didn't think the x-ray would show anything I decided to pass. Nothing more was done but the pain never left. I finally saw Dr. Osborn and after a 40+ minute exam, lots of questions and physical tests, he sent me for x-rays (4 images.) The results showed a bone spur but were inconclusive. I then had an MRI which showed 2 bones spurs which pinch when my shoulder rolls forward, a great deal of inflammation, arthritis and bursitis. Dr. Osborn was amazed that I am not a volleyball or basketball player because you don't expect this level of severity from cleaning your house. I am undergoing treatment and thus far have avoided surgery. Not only do I physically feel better, but mentally I don't feel insane regarding this consistent pain. As much as I did not like hearing the list of things wrong with my shoulder, it did validate the fact that something really was wrong. I'm glad he was not dismissive like my previous doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 24th, 2013
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never write reviews, but I was prompted to by this very negative experience. The worst doctors visit of my life. I am a competitive runner and went to see him about hip pain having been recommended by someone I know. He spent the first ten minutes after he walked in the door talking about how much he hated my college (I was wearing a college running shirt) when he went there for a medical conference. It's located in a small, relatively poor town and it seemed that his economic situation made him superior to the locals. In terms of my injury, he interrupted me multiple times (once or twice so that he could return to how much he hated my college) while I was trying to explain how/what I was feeling. When I used the word "piriformis" he insulted my intelligence and told me that I should stop trying to use google to diagnose myself. Piriformis is a relatively common running related muscle. Ultimately, he told me he didn't know what was wrong with me and ordered and MRI. I will not be going back. I do not advise giving this man your business.

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2011
Great Surgeon, Spends Time to Understand Problem
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After getting terse responses from the doctor at Palo Alto Medical Foundation for my shoulder issue I asked my chiropractor for a recommendation. He'd had several of his patients who had great results with Dr. Osborn. I easily made an appointment and had the longest interview for my symptoms. It was great. He doesn't believe in churning out patients but it does lead him to run late sometimes so if you have the time, he's the guy.He performed my surgery well and I am at home recovering while still under his care. He tracks his patients all the way through physical therapy as well, wants to make sure the whole recovery happens.He is super detailed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 11th, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I came to Dr Osborn with a hurt knee based on a friend's referral and I've stayed with him for two knee surgeries (both knees), and will continue to see him for any future problems. Dr Osborn spends time with his patients, properly evaluating them and looking at their past history. It's the first time in a doctor's office that I haven't felt like I was at a Jiffy Lube.I've referred friends to him and hope he continues to practice here for as long as I'm trying to hurt myself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 27th, 2011
Best Orthopedic Care Around
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Osborn combines an old-fashioned work ethic with cutting edge information and technology. Where else can you find someone who will spend 40 minutes educating you about your injury and how to care for it? Of our family of five, 4 of us have needed Dr. Osborn's expertise. With an outstanding manner and complete professional care, we are so lucky to have someone like him in our area doing this important work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Four knee operations and one shoulder operation in the past 16 years.Dr. Osborn is my go to guy for orthopedic problems.His advice for post-surgery rehab and on-going maintenance isdirect and has been highly effective for me. I'm 62 and still "in the game" thanks in large part to Dr. Osborn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2011
Understands & Adjusts for The Individual
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am 69yrs old and a former powerlifting competitor, which probably contributed to osteoarthritis in one shoulder. Dr. Osborn took considerable time to locate a surgeon who could give me the best chance to continue weight training, my preferred way to stay physically (and psychologically!) healthy. He understood why I wanted to continue weight training, and offer very constructive suggestions about how to do that to assist my rehab, regain strength and conditioning without damaging my "new" shoulder or damaging my good one. I really appreciate the personal attention and understanding and sensitivity he displayed with respect to my personal background, circumstances, goals and mind set. Oh...and the fact that Dr. Osborn referred me to the surgeon arguably best qualified in the entire U.S. to correct my condition speaks reams about his professional integrity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Osborn, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mountain View, CA.