ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Schutz Is this you?
  • 10
  • 0
  • 4
  • 1
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
13.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Schutz?


22 Ratings with 14 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 30th, 2016

Have seen him for many colonoscopies and endoscopy Always very friendly and informative. Takes his time to explain everything you want to know. His staff very friendly explaining everything as you proceed with tests. If only what you drank tasted better but that's not his fault.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2016

He'll harml you with drugs...not rebuild you with probiotics and nutrition

He pinched my colon during a colonoscopy and I woke up, was extremely sick for years after he stripped all my probiotic bacteria without ever rebuilding my gut flora.I felt pain in my Colon six months later and called his office 4 weeks to try to see him.finally i got in to see a nurse practitioner and she sent me to get a MRI that revealed Two tennis ball size absess in my colon..I could of died of toxic shock if they popped. They then forced me to take flagyl a antibiotic on my do not take list and was hospitalized for vomiting and diaarriea.WBC count was 15 and they wanted to cut out my whole colon. Recovered with another antibiotic and speng 7 months on pain meds. Diagnosed me with crohns and said food has nothing to do with your crohns. Found out later i cracked a amalgamand had mecury poisoning. Worse bed side manner ....never returned calls..

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 1st, 2016

Great doctor!

Excellent Doctor! Took his time with me and helped me become a healthier, happier patient by recommending things to improve my quality of life. I have a minor condition and he took his time with me as if I was a chronically ill patient. He was compassionate with me and actively listened even though again, I have a minor condition. I would recommend him if you need a GI referral and have some apprehension about seeing this kind of specialist and/or a colonoscopy for a minor condition or even cancer. He's very knowledgable and discusses even the newest "self care" options out there. He's a big believer in probiotics and healthy diet instead of just pushing a pill. This kind of treatment by an MD solves medical issues instead of creating new ones with drugs. Although I'm sure he would prescribe if he saw a true medical reason to. Keep it up doc!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2013

Outstanding dedication and care

When my husband's routine colonoscopy didn't go as planned because of incomplete cleanout, Dr Schutz not only removed the polyp that he could see, but adjusted his busy schedule so that a complete cleanout was done and the rest of the colonoscopy could proceed. I was most impressed by Dr Schutz's compassion and willingness to avoid rescheduling the colonoscopy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2013

Great experience

My family has had 4 encounters with Dr. Schutz and his clinic in the past year. Each time we were very pleased with our treatment and outcomes. Follow-up has been thorough. The entire staff is professional, courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly. The facility is state-of -the-art. Dr. Schutz is caring, informative and technically competent. We are very pleased!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2013

Pleasant experience

2nd visit in 3 years for digestive procedures. The doctor and staff are very pleasant and professional. They listen and answer questions in a caring way

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 17th, 2013

Very satisfied

When I met Dr. Schutz the first time, he looked at me and decided not to operate. He thought I looked too good. My next appointment at Digestive Health was with another doctor who had put in a stint and he wanted Dr. Shutz to re-evaluate the action. Dr. Schutz then installed a metal expanding stint that I kept in for about 6 months. I took a driving trip to Alaska covering 9000 miles all with no problems. Last week I had the stint pulled out and all seems to working properly. Through it all Dr. Schutz has been the most kind, understanding and above all professional doctor. I most highly recommend him for an ERCP and assume any other gastro-intestinal issue.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2013

Waste of Time

I have a digestive disorder that has required close GI care for over 16 years. I have had a terrible time trying to find a new GI in Boise since I moved here 3 years ago. Dr. Schutz was the worst I have seen in Boise! I waited 4 weeks for an appointment and when I finally saw him, he was rude and dismissed my concerns basically saying he could do nothing for me. Getting in to see a GI is difficult enough; I would not recommend wasting time seeing Dr. Schutz.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2011

makes you wait 30 days for an appointment; cancels your visit one day before, and makes you wait 30 more days. Does not know what is wrong with me.

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 19th, 2011

Dr. Schultz does not care

My husband went in for a colonscopy last year, in which Dr. Schultz performed. Since this procedures, my husband has had pain (sometimes excruciating). My husband has tried to get into see Dr. Schutz and every appointment scheduled, Dr. S's office cancels and reschedules. Now, Dr. S doesn't want to see him at all and referred him to another dr.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 10th, 2011

Doc OK, Staff and clinic very poor

Once I actually get to see Dr. Schutz, he's an ok guy who seems to know his stuff. But try to get anyone on the phone at the DHClinic and forget it! You will NEVER get a human being to answer a phone over there and even if you leave a message, good luck in getting a call back. If they are that busy, they need to hire more receptionists. Concern and care for their patients is non-existant! Look elsewhere. More than my bowel is irritated with these folks!!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 20th, 2010

Very polite and professional. I had an excellent experience with Dr Schutz.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Schutz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Boise, ID.

  • Dr. Robb Gibson

    Dr. Robb Gibson

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Boise, ID 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Samuel Gibson

    Dr. Samuel Gibson

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Boise, ID 0 mi

    4.0
    (9)
    34
  • Dr. Ike Tanabe

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Boise, ID 0 mi

    3.9
    (19)
    28