Dr. Stephen Schutz MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Boise, ID

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

22 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    45%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    18%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 13.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Have seen him for many colonoscopies and endoscopy Always very friendly and informative. Takes his time to explain everything you want to know. His staff very friendly explaining everything as you proceed with tests. If only what you drank tasted better but that's not his fault.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2016
He'll harml you with drugs...not rebuild you with probiotics and nutrition
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He pinched my colon during a colonoscopy and I woke up, was extremely sick for years after he stripped all my probiotic bacteria without ever rebuilding my gut flora.I felt pain in my Colon six months later and called his office 4 weeks to try to see him.finally i got in to see a nurse practitioner and she sent me to get a MRI that revealed Two tennis ball size absess in my colon..I could of died of toxic shock if they popped. They then forced me to take flagyl a antibiotic on my do not take list and was hospitalized for vomiting and diaarriea.WBC count was 15 and they wanted to cut out my whole colon. Recovered with another antibiotic and speng 7 months on pain meds. Diagnosed me with crohns and said food has nothing to do with your crohns. Found out later i cracked a amalgamand had mecury poisoning. Worse bed side manner ....never returned calls..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 1st, 2016
Great doctor!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent Doctor! Took his time with me and helped me become a healthier, happier patient by recommending things to improve my quality of life. I have a minor condition and he took his time with me as if I was a chronically ill patient. He was compassionate with me and actively listened even though again, I have a minor condition. I would recommend him if you need a GI referral and have some apprehension about seeing this kind of specialist and/or a colonoscopy for a minor condition or even cancer. He's very knowledgable and discusses even the newest "self care" options out there. He's a big believer in probiotics and healthy diet instead of just pushing a pill. This kind of treatment by an MD solves medical issues instead of creating new ones with drugs. Although I'm sure he would prescribe if he saw a true medical reason to. Keep it up doc!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2013
Outstanding dedication and care
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When my husband's routine colonoscopy didn't go as planned because of incomplete cleanout, Dr Schutz not only removed the polyp that he could see, but adjusted his busy schedule so that a complete cleanout was done and the rest of the colonoscopy could proceed. I was most impressed by Dr Schutz's compassion and willingness to avoid rescheduling the colonoscopy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2013
Great experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My family has had 4 encounters with Dr. Schutz and his clinic in the past year. Each time we were very pleased with our treatment and outcomes. Follow-up has been thorough. The entire staff is professional, courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly. The facility is state-of -the-art. Dr. Schutz is caring, informative and technically competent. We are very pleased!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 26th, 2013
Pleasant experience
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
2nd visit in 3 years for digestive procedures. The doctor and staff are very pleasant and professional. They listen and answer questions in a caring way

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2013
Very satisfied
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I met Dr. Schutz the first time, he looked at me and decided not to operate. He thought I looked too good. My next appointment at Digestive Health was with another doctor who had put in a stint and he wanted Dr. Shutz to re-evaluate the action. Dr. Schutz then installed a metal expanding stint that I kept in for about 6 months. I took a driving trip to Alaska covering 9000 miles all with no problems. Last week I had the stint pulled out and all seems to working properly. Through it all Dr. Schutz has been the most kind, understanding and above all professional doctor. I most highly recommend him for an ERCP and assume any other gastro-intestinal issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 12th, 2013
Waste of Time
Wait time
5 minutes
I have a digestive disorder that has required close GI care for over 16 years. I have had a terrible time trying to find a new GI in Boise since I moved here 3 years ago. Dr. Schutz was the worst I have seen in Boise! I waited 4 weeks for an appointment and when I finally saw him, he was rude and dismissed my concerns basically saying he could do nothing for me. Getting in to see a GI is difficult enough; I would not recommend wasting time seeing Dr. Schutz.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
makes you wait 30 days for an appointment; cancels your visit one day before, and makes you wait 30 more days. Does not know what is wrong with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
Dr. Schultz does not care
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband went in for a colonscopy last year, in which Dr. Schultz performed. Since this procedures, my husband has had pain (sometimes excruciating). My husband has tried to get into see Dr. Schutz and every appointment scheduled, Dr. S's office cancels and reschedules. Now, Dr. S doesn't want to see him at all and referred him to another dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 10th, 2011
Doc OK, Staff and clinic very poor
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Once I actually get to see Dr. Schutz, he's an ok guy who seems to know his stuff. But try to get anyone on the phone at the DHClinic and forget it! You will NEVER get a human being to answer a phone over there and even if you leave a message, good luck in getting a call back. If they are that busy, they need to hire more receptionists. Concern and care for their patients is non-existant! Look elsewhere. More than my bowel is irritated with these folks!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very polite and professional. I had an excellent experience with Dr Schutz.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Schutz, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Boise, ID.