ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Thorn Is this you?
  • 63
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Thorn?


70 Ratings with 19 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 2nd, 2015

It's very likely your appointment will be running late. It's even more likely you will think he's worth waiting for. Genuinely cares about his patients and is an absolute joy to know. He is a gifted physician and a blessing for so many people I know.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2015

Dr Thron is seriously the best infertility doctor out there!!!!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2015

Dr Thorn is Terrific Upfront and Honest Great Doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 17th, 2013

Awesome

I love Dr. Thorn. I feel like he cares about me and spends time with me at my appointments. I don't get upset when I have to wait for him in the waiting room because I know that he is giving the patient that he is with all of his attention and I too will get that!! Amazing man!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2012

The BEST EVER!!!!!

Dr. Thorn has been my doctor for 10+ years and I was completey crushed when he let go from Albert Lea. I have never had a more caring and trust worthy doctor EVER!!! He help me and my husband through fertility problems which eneded in a beautifl heatlhy little girl. My husband and I have again been struggling over the past year with fertility only to reciently suffered a miscarriage. We have seen a couple different docots but I just don't feel as comfortable and trusting as I did with Dr. Thron and I am tired of trying to put that trust into other doctors when the only one that I want to be dealing with is Dr. Thorn so I have made the decision to travel the 2 hours to New Hampton to continue my care with him and now with having suffered a loss I will not see anybody else. It may be a long distance but I know it will be completely worth every mile. I am very excited to once again be one of his patients.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2011

Absolutely THE BEST... he's unbeatable!

Dr. Thorn is a master in his field. Anyone looking for a great physician should get in line to see him - wherever he lands. If he provides care anywhere within a 60 mile radius of my home, he will have me as a patient! He has the BEST bedside manner, he's humble, and he truly cares about his patients. I was so disappointed in Mayo Clinic's decision to let him go. I always want to support our local businesses and service providers but I won't be going there again for prenatal care.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2011

Thank you Dr Thorn

THank you for help me during the pregnancy I will follow your practice at Mercy Medical Center, I hope you can start soon. THank you again

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 31st, 2011

Dr thorne has been my doctor for 20 years. He diagnosed my cevical cancer within a week and even followed up by sending me a pathology results circled when I did not make the follow up appointment right away. He saved my life and has always been not only a knowledgeable doctor but a great comfort. He saved my life I will always be greatful

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 24th, 2011

Coming to New Hampton, Iowa

Dr. Thorn will be employed by Mercy Medical in Mason City and will be seeing his patients at Mercy Medical- New Hampton. I don't think he has started yet.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2011

Dr. Thorn is STILL Practicing!

Dr. Thorn is the best OB/GYN's I have ever dealt with, and I was very unhappy to hear that he left the clinic. There are not many that are skilled enough to handle high-risk pregnancies, and even less that really want to put the time and effort into dealing with women who need a little more attention and care than others. I am so disappointed in Albert Lea's decision that I will not be returning.Dr. Thorn has moved his practice to Mason City, so for those lucky enough to be able to follow him; GO!!!If it wasn't 80+ miles just ONE way for me, you can bet I'd be there in a heart beat. Also, my insurance won't cover me outside of MN.I am so disgusted with Albert Lea's inability to work with and retain a doctor who has given his skill, heart, time, and donations to their clinic, not to mention many, many happy women who delivered their babies safely thanks to him, including many who are high risk.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2011

Dr. Thorn will be greatly missed. I don't know what the issue was between him and ALMC, but I am disappointed that ALMC couldn't figure out how to hold on to this gem of a doctor. He helped us through a very difficult time, and I had hoped he'd be around to help us now that we are close to delivering a healthy baby (and he promised after our miscarriage that we'd be back soon with a happy ending, he appears to be right). I have never heard anything but rave reviews about him- whatever clinic gets him will be blessed. ALMC, you've got your work cut out for you- don't let us down!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 10th, 2011

Was blessed to have had him as my Dr. for the last 5 years. Informed today that he is no longer with ALMC. It is a sad sad day for that facility. I hope he finds somewhere else to practice as he has so many patients that love him!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Thorn is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mason City, IA.

  • Dr. Jonna Quinn

    Dr. Jonna Quinn

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Mason City, IA 0 mi

    4.6
    (11)
    8
  • Dr. Roberto Velez

    Dr. Roberto Velez

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Mason City, IA 0.06 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    26
  • Dr. Mark Leduc

    Dr. Mark Leduc

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

    Mason City, IA 0.06 mi

    4.8
    (12)
    15