The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Tower Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 5 Comments

4.3
  • 15
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Tower?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

hip replacement

Posted on November 9th, 2017

1st visit very thorough and explained the procedurre very well.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I do not trust Dr. Tower.

Posted on December 27th, 2016

I do not trust Dr. Towers for the following reasons: he did not fully explain his diagnosis, in addition to misdiagnosing my problem; he did not give me any options other than the major surgery he was proposing; neither he nor his staff did anything to put me at ease. I felt that he did not have my best interest in mind. I felt that he just wanted to get me on the operating table to further his scientific research. When I questioned him about my MRI and X-rays, his response was unsatisfactory and did not make sense, so I feel that he misdiagnosed my problem. He also called me names. I would not recommend him as a doctor. In my opinion he is not a good doctor. I went to another surgeon to have the problem taken care of and now it’s fixed.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Orthopedic Doctor In Alaska

Posted on October 31st, 2015

One of the funniest things about Dr. Tower is that he is incredibly tall, skinny, and has these huge hands that should be on a guy like Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone. Huge hands on a overgrown skinny guy. I am what he called a Blueprint Patient [in other words I am a patient where other doctors scratch their heads and said they couldn't do anything, until Dr. Tower came into play]. I was a young kid in a village in Alaska, bullied everyday for being tall, falling everyday, always fixing splints, and for being the daughter of two tall parents. My father was 6 foot 2 at his peak, and my mother was 5 foot 11 at her peak. My ankles had been bad ever since I was 5, I was 3 feet tall at age of 2, and continued to both taller and falling even more when I became a teenager. I fell down 19 steps in my own house when I was 14 to the point where my left foot was almost completely backwards. I found out the next morning that I was not only done growing, but there was someone who could look at all of my medical history [which didn't fit in the door slot at the doctor's office]. I saw Dr. Tower, and he spent what was a 15 minute appointment into 2 hours of figuring out what exactly he wanted to do to my ankles. He cut off my heel bone, slid it laterally, then screwed it back in with a hollowed out screw that was 2 to 3 inches long, released the calf muscle at the back of my leg, and used cadaver tendons on the tendon that was so badly injured that it looked like chewing gum. It has been a huge success in my life, and it has given me a new prospective in life. I can't thank Dr. Tower enough for giving me something that seems so minor in the way that everyone has used in one way or another to me. I never could walk normally since I was a child, and he gave me something that can make it as close to normal as anyone could get.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hip replacement

Posted on July 10th, 2015

Had a great experience with Dr Tower. Felt very at ease and very confident with Dr Tower.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Superb surgeon from the first visit, the diagnosis, throughout the surgical process, and of course.. the very important aftercare.

Posted on February 18th, 2014

Bedside manner is important to me. Dr. Tower excels in this area. It feels good knowing that I'm able to contact him with my questions, comments and concerns. Having a caring physician not only before the surgery - but during the aftercare - is vital.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 31st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 12th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on December 14th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on June 30th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 20th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 30th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 29th, 2015

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Tower is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Anchorage, AK.