Dr. Steven Newman MD Patient Reviews

  • Medical Oncology Naples, FL

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.3)

29 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    79%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    14%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 39.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 6th, 2017
Choose someone else
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you choose him to be your oncologist, be prepared for the following: - Wait time of at least 2 hours - Poor bedside manners, including answering his cell phone during your visit and having conversations with that person - He will learn about you as he reads your chart during your visit. In other words, he does not prepare or know anything about you before walking into your visit - More discussion about politics or other non-medical conversations than your cancer - You will have no knowledge of what blood tests he is having you get done, or what the results even are In short, choose another oncologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2017
THE BEST ANYWHERE IN US
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wouldn't let ego or wait time get in the way. If your question isn't answered, say so and he'll slow down. If I didn't get it, he'll pull out a paper and write a diagram to help me understand my tumor, etc. as well as what is going on in the body. He'll stay late or see me at the last minute if I call and ask. The wait time is this: Dr. Newman wants to get absolutely everything handled in my appointment session. When it's your turn, you'll get the same dedication. If you need a referral to other specialists, he'll pick up the phone and call as many as you need while you're in the office, get the doc on the line, ask for a priority, if need be. If you ask, he'll dictate a letter to your insurance company while you're sitting there. The politics of any office often make it seem that it’s uncaring; but rest assured, Dr. Newman truly cares for his patients. Your success is his success. I’d rather have “brilliant” than warm and fuzzy any day when it comes to the best health care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2016
patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's a fine fellow, fine doctor, a nice man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 8th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Calm and reassuring. Knows his stuff and communicates it well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Dr. Steven B. Newman - Worth the Wait
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We were literally "assigned" to Dr. Newman when my husband was diagnosed with cancer. We were told he is "phenomonal and does great things". We waited almost 2 hours for our first appointment which upset us greatly, but after meeting him and talking with him, we were convinced he was the miracle we were looking for. He is compassionate but honest, kind, willing to spend as much time with you as you need. The only drawback is the waiting, but you know that you wait because he's giving another patient the same time and consideration that he'll give you. My husband has had a number of tests and all of the techs, nurses, etc., tell us what a great doctor we have. The whole Oncology group makes us feel like family and we know they all have our backs. I don't know what those negative reviews were all about, but I can't believe its the same doctor....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 19th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This oncologist/hematologist is not worth your time. If you like someone who submits falsehoods in your records,, then he is the one for you. He is for himself ,and himself only. His ego and potential fears of liability mean more to him than a patient. He may have been good to some of the people who wrote reviews I saw here, but there must be a good financial data on these patients. Simply put, don't choose this doctor.

2.3 of 5
July 30th, 2013
Review
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not pro active in treatment, average wait time in excess of one hour, very poor communication skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 24th, 2013
Private practice assembly line.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Newman's only goal is to see as many patients as possible in the shortest amount of time. On average, it takes 2 hours of waiting in the waiting room before being seen. Why do they even setup appointments? Very poor bedside manner. Would not recommend this Oncologist to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 10th, 2011
Steven is Fantastic
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Someone would be hard pressed to find a more dedicated, committed, passionate, sensible oncology MD. I attribute being alive to the good fortune of having met Steven Newman.It would be a mistake to allow little inconveniences like having to wait (because another patient was in crisis or Dr. Newman thought a patient needed more time) get in the way of coming under his care.In addition to being thoroughly knowledgeable and conscientious he is, as human beings go, a prince among men.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 13th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 10th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Newman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Naples, FL.