The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Nelson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Nelson?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Nelson?

Ratings and Reviews

22 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 22 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 21st, 2017

Very personable and extremely knowledgeable!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2017

Exceptional physician

My first visit with him, he identified a serious medical condition which placed me immediately in the hospital. He visited me every day, twice a day on some days.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2016

Awesome physician, very caring and concerned! Definitely recommend him to everyone!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

September 9th, 2016

Dr. Nelson is a very good doctor, as is his clinic nurse, Marcie. However, the support office staff is often abrupt, rude, condescending and downright hateful at times. Patients are not informed who they should refer questions to; you have to learn by making a mistake. The patient portal is sometimes not loaded with results for months, even after asking. The plusses of location and physician himself may not be worth the stress of dealing with the staff.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 12th, 2015

Dr. Nelson is great; however the front secretarys and the referral nurse are horrible. No one will ever call you back after you leave a message and the secretarys are extremely rude when you ask them about it. I have even been hung up on when I've called. This is no way to run a office and it is unfortunate because Dr. Nelson is a very good doctor.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 20th, 2014

previous patient

you c an wind up with stage 3 kidney disease with nelson. he doesnt go over tests with you.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 11th, 2013

Never Returned - It was that bad.

This doctor made assumptions based on my looks. He never even looked at my health information that I brought with me. He told me that what I had been told by previous doctors was wrong. He informed me that I probably had not had lab work in years even though I had it with me at the time. He was rude and informed me that he was not used to patients disagreeing with him and I needed to find another doctor to see. I did follow his advice to find another doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2016

4.0 Rating

July 4th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

November 30th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Nelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kansas City, MO.

  • Dr. Emily Lott

    Family Medicine, Sports Medicine

    Kansas City, MO 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    11
  • Dr. Amy Brose

    Family Medicine

    Kansas City, MO 0 mi

    4.9
    (9)
    11
  • Dr. Daniel Roney

    Family Medicine

    Kansas City, MO 0 mi

    4.4
    (10)
    27