The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Caplan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Caplan?

Skin Cancer

Skin Cancer

Get the facts about skin cancer, including the different types and symptoms.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Caplan?

Ratings and Reviews

15 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    7
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Bedside Manner
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 15 Ratings with 7 Comments

2.3 Rating

December 23rd, 2014

Dr. Caplan's bedside manner leaves a to to be desired He is quite terse and rather cold and abrupt, as well as impatient. Had no interest at all in my hubby beyond what he was being seen for. No warmth and a communicaitons style that is terse.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2014

I have been using this practice for 5 years. I have seen Dr. Caplan many times and though he does a fast examination, he is thorough. He doesn't spend a lot of time with pleasantries, he gets down to your issue. There are only a handful of dermatologist in the Gettysburg/Hanover area so he is extremely busy. My only problem is that it takes weeks to get an appointment.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2013

Solved my problem after other doctors failed
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 28th, 2012

Caplan's the best!

I recently made my first visit to a dermatologist for a body check and minor surgery. Dr. Caplan was outstanding. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 30th, 2010

Abrupt manner and treatment

Dr Caplan blazed into the examination room at warp speed and did a rapid assessment of my condition. He then did a treatment which was mechanical and lightning quick. The "head to toe" exam was minimal and I don't see how a skin disorder could be detected given the speed and partial skin areas examined. I don't need smoozing during an office visit but a reasonable speed would be greatly appreciated. I left with doubts about the quality of my visit. I won't go back.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2010

I am so impressed with Dr. Caplan that I would like to name my child after him. So smart and handsome!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 19th, 2008

NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE

TOOK MY 7 YEAR OLD SON TO THIS MAN. THE DOCTOR "DIAGNOSED" MY SON... FROM ACROSS THE ROOM. HE NEVER CAME WITH-IN A FOOT OF MY SON DURING THE ENTIRE VISIT. I WAS THEN TOLD TO SCHEDULE OUR NEXT APPOINTMENT WITH THE "PRACTIONER", AS MY SONS SEVERE ECZEMA WAS DEEMED NOT IMORTANT ENOUGH FOR THIS DOCTORS TIME. WE WILL NOT BE BACK DUE TO DOCTORS TREATMENT AND THE EXTENDED WAIT WE EXPERIENCED, IN BOTH THE WAITING ROOM AND EXAM ROOM

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 11th, 2017

4.0 Rating

October 20th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2015

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2014

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Caplan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near York, PA.

  • Dr. John Stoner Jr

    Dr. John Stoner Jr

    Dermatology

    York, PA 0 mi

    4.5
    (4)
  • Dr. Laura Spears

    Dr. Laura Spears

    Dermatology

    York, PA 0 mi

    3.9
    (18)
    38
  • Dr. Ira Berman

    Dr. Ira Berman

    Dermatology

    York, PA 0 mi

    3.1
    (21)
    39