The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven De Jong Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven De Jong?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven De Jong?

Ratings and Reviews

35 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15.8 min

Showing 35 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2015

Wonderful doctor and staff. We have the utmost confidence in Dr. DeJong. He explains everything so we can understand the illness and what he can do to "fix" the problem. He has even reviewed testing ordered by another physician who was not returning our calls. He is a class act!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2014

The best in the game! Super knowledgable, courteous, and explains everything in great detail.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 5th, 2013

Disappointed

I was seen by Dr DeJong in 2010 for a thyroidectomy. 1st of all I was told that he was the only dr at Loyola who did thyroidectomy. I found this hard to believe since Loyola is such a known hospital in Chicago. I was farmed out to a different hospital (due to insurance) until DeJong was back in town & available. He did great work when he did my thyroidectomy. I am a fireman who had tyroid & lymph node cancer. I asked DeJong if my cancer could've been related to my hazardous job, he said, "no". I have come to learn that he was wrong, but he was so sure that he was right. I started to lose faith in him. I was referred to him again for a painful lump in my armpit that was causing numbness in my fingers & nerve pain in my arm. With my history of cancer I was told that I should see an oncologist. But before oncology would see me they wanted me to have a biopsy of this lump to see if it was cancerous or not. DeJong told me to wait, it had already been 4 mths. I couldn't take the pain anymore & he wanted me to wait longer. I was disappointed again with him. His surgical work is good. But I have learned that I can't trust him 100%. I have found a surgeon who was willing to help my painful situation & who cared enough to want to find out if it was cancer or not. Sorry Dr DeJong, but you did this to yourself. You're not always right, eventho everyone tells you that you are.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 31st, 2012

I had a biopsy 10 days ago and haven't heard from the Dr. I have left 3 messages with the nurses triage. I'm hoping its good news, but would like to know that!!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 8th, 2011

easy to speak with and explains things thoroughly in language you can understand

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2011

great bedside manner!!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2017

4.0 Rating

February 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 5th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2016

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 21st, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven De Jong is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Maywood, IL.

  • Dr. Christopher Davis

    Trauma Surgery, General Surgery

    Maywood, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    9
  • Dr. Michael Hurtuk

    General Surgery

    Maywood, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    9
  • Dr. Michael Salvino

    Plastic Surgery, General Surgery

    Maywood, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    15