advertisement
Browse Health

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.5
  •  
Total Ratings

52

Total Reviews

14

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 17 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 17 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
Write a Review
Sep 9th, 2015

Hard to get appointment, but he is a great surgeon. I am preparing for my third surgery and would not consider anyone else. Just wish you could get in quicker, but understand if you are good you are busy.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Jul 7th, 2015

Dr. Hess did an excellent job. I've felt so good since he did a procedure on my back. I highly recommend him.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
None better show details None better
by Sue/Ron on Apr 9th, 2015

Dr. Hess is absolutely the best. We truly cannot thank him enough.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
wonderful experience show details wonderful experience
by bryan behm on Apr 7th, 2015

Pure health did an awful job of referring me to him/ passing the ball but he himself was a very professional doctor with attentive staff.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Feb 10th, 2014

Dr. Hess tells you like it is and I appreciate that. He did an anterior cervical fusion on me in 2009 that was a great success. I am now going in for laminectomy thoracic 1/2. He was upfront about what results may or may not be. As a retired nurse, I checked him out thoroughly before my first surgery. In my opinion, he is one of the top neurosurgeons in the Kansas City area.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Great Doctor show details Great Doctor
Dec 3rd, 2012

Dr. Hess is a very good doctor. Had a very serious back problem and only took one pain pill after surgery. Was back at work in 5 weeks.

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Dr Hess - Professional - Talented - Caring show details Dr Hess - Professional - Talented - Caring
Sep 18th, 2012

Dr Hess has performed 2 lower back surgeries, one 11 years ago and the other 10 days ago. All the time Dr Hess has been professional and caring. The first surgery is a huge success and causes me no pain or problems. The second surgery I imagine will turn out like the first. I had immediate relief from a herniated disc and stenosis in another. I awoke from surgery with none of the pain from the the mentioned problems. The only pain I have now is a slight pain from the incision and muscle pain from walking with good posture vs barely walking

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Jul 23rd, 2012

He is a great surgeon but to get someone on the phone is like pulling teeth...ugh

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Very extensive back surgery show details Very extensive back surgery
Jul 7th, 2012

Had a 5 level 7 hour fusion surgery. He did an excellent job and pain is mostly gone. He had to repair damage from a poor surgery I had 12 years before from another doctor. He is a very busy Dr. but makes time for his patients and knows what he is doing. God bless him.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Flawless Spine surgery show details Flawless Spine surgery
Nov 4th, 2011

absolutely without a doubt the best possible experience. Dr Hess did a wonderful job in reliving my pain with a terribly difficult surgical proceedure.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Did complicated Back Surgery show details Did complicated Back Surgery
Feb 8th, 2011

Did a 7 hour, complete lumbar fusion and stenosis surgery, he did a terrific job. My back pain has pretty much gone (7 mos out).Office staff is great.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Two unrelated surgeries show details Two unrelated surgeries
Dec 10th, 2010

Dr Hess saved my life and provided full, normal function for a neurological problem experienced in 1997. He recently operated highly successfully on herniated disks. I give him the highest marks in all aspects of his care and skill.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Neck reconstruction of 4 vertb cervical show details Neck reconstruction of 4 vertb cervical
by Dougie De on Aug 12th, 2010

Dr. Hess was awesome, he gave me a prelim. diognosis ran a spinal mri and got right to the trouble fixed it and I am good as new. I can tell when its gonna rain but the pain is gone.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Oct 20th, 2009

He's a great doc but has a terrible bedside manner