Dr. Steven Hess MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Olathe, KS

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 66 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (-0.2)

66 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    79%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 16.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 31st, 2017
Horrible
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm in a lot of pain, I can interpret the dictated reports from the radiologist on the mylogram and MRI I had done, what's messed up is Dr Hess thinks I don't understand what's going on, long story short I'm find a different surgeon to look at the tests I had done, not wasting anymore time dealing with Dr Hess, there are other neurosurgeons available, I recommend to all to always get a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 31st, 2017
Severe spinal stenosis
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had a Mylogram done and an MRI, and flex x-rays done. Dr Hess spent less than 2 minutes with me during my visit, he didn't explain any of those expensive tests I had done, having severe headaches daily, both legs go numb with severe back pain, this Dr was the biggest waste of my time, don't recommend Dr Hess to anyone, roll the dice and you will find out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Hard to get appointment, but he is a great surgeon. I am preparing for my third surgery and would not consider anyone else. Just wish you could get in quicker, but understand if you are good you are busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hess did an excellent job. I've felt so good since he did a procedure on my back. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2015
None better
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hess is absolutely the best. We truly cannot thank him enough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2015
wonderful experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Pure health did an awful job of referring me to him/ passing the ball but he himself was a very professional doctor with attentive staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hess tells you like it is and I appreciate that. He did an anterior cervical fusion on me in 2009 that was a great success. I am now going in for laminectomy thoracic 1/2. He was upfront about what results may or may not be. As a retired nurse, I checked him out thoroughly before my first surgery. In my opinion, he is one of the top neurosurgeons in the Kansas City area.

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2012
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hess is a very good doctor. Had a very serious back problem and only took one pain pill after surgery. Was back at work in 5 weeks.

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2012
Dr Hess - Professional - Talented - Caring
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Hess has performed 2 lower back surgeries, one 11 years ago and the other 10 days ago. All the time Dr Hess has been professional and caring. The first surgery is a huge success and causes me no pain or problems. The second surgery I imagine will turn out like the first. I had immediate relief from a herniated disc and stenosis in another. I awoke from surgery with none of the pain from the the mentioned problems. The only pain I have now is a slight pain from the incision and muscle pain from walking with good posture vs barely walking
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 23rd, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
He is a great surgeon but to get someone on the phone is like pulling teeth...ugh
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2012
Very extensive back surgery
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Had a 5 level 7 hour fusion surgery. He did an excellent job and pain is mostly gone. He had to repair damage from a poor surgery I had 12 years before from another doctor. He is a very busy Dr. but makes time for his patients and knows what he is doing. God bless him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2011
Flawless Spine surgery
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
absolutely without a doubt the best possible experience. Dr Hess did a wonderful job in reliving my pain with a terribly difficult surgical proceedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Hess, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Olathe, KS.