Steven Jaffe MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Atlanta, GA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 1.3)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    37%
  • Great
    16%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    11%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 9.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2014
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding, caring, extremely responsive, extremely knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Thanks for not helping
Wait time
5 minutes
Back 17 yrs ago, at age 15, I was hospitalized for cardiac arrest stemming from an acute drug overdose. Being this was not a conscious attempt to take my own live, I was shuffled through the "system" and back at home in a week having no treatment other than immediate symptoms from my OD. My family was referred to Jaffe and I proceeded to see him for individual care, as well as a young adolescent/ teen therapy group. We all were in the group for the same troubles which was some form of pleasure from using drugs. On the very first treatment session I had, doctor Jaffe proceeded to diagnose me with ADD, and writting me prescriptions for Ritalin. Needless to say I was not ADD, just an under challenge, bored adolescent. Well, I too also found out in group that this doctor with credentials up the wahzoo, who was running a session for drug addicted adolescents, all if I can recall you have been prescribed Ritalin by doctor Jaffe, we found out that he had never done anything. Sure that's good for him never smoke cigarettes never drink beer never tried any drugs. We all laughed asking ourselves how a man who knew nothing about what we were experiencing could help us recover, I see Percy that to stop us with more drugs. On a side note, we decided to see if he was worth anything and we all dropped acid during 1 of his sessions. Mind you it was very entertaining. Now back to my complaint. I was misdiagnosed and prescribed a new drug to me which opened the door to a 15 yr battle with a cocaine and methamphetamine addiction , and no end, or desire of an end in sight. Not trying to claim that I would have never gone down this path but I can thank the Quick to 'Script Doctor for my turn from downers to the beautiful 2 yrs of ritalin abuse, turned Cocaine / Meth connoisseur... Thank you Dr. Staightedge for the quick fix!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2013
20 years with WRONG DIGNONSIS...
Wait time
5 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I had a traumatic childhood and had depression and ADHD so I entered a psychiatric hospital called Brawner North when I was a pre -teen. Dr Jaffe after only a few days diagnosed me with Bi-polar 2 at the age of 11 or 12 yrs old I started numerous medications including lithium .. this medicine within less then a year damaged my thyroid beyond repair and now I have Hypothyroidism & have to take synthroid for the rest of my life. Fast forward to now. I am 31 years old and on disability for Epilepsy (that began in that very hospital due to the numerous drugs I was given) and until recently bi-polar disorder . Dr Jaffe wrongly Diagnosed me with Bi-polar disorder causing me great stress and confusion because I never had a manic attack ever, I was laughed at and told by others whenever I had any form of feelings about something that it was just because I was " BI -POLAR" However I really have severe depressive disorder, PTSD and anxiety. I know Dr Jaffe specializes in this Bi Polar disorder and feel that he is a little to quick to diagnosis Bi Polar disorder more for his career then for his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2011
Great Doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Jaffe is the very best Doctor for children psychiatry. I have been a very satisfied patient of Dr. Jaffe for almost 10 years. He has always been there for me when I needed him and I am very grateful to have him as a Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 4th, 2011
Outstanding
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding. Really listens. Even asked what I thought the issue was because, Mom are in tuned to what is going on. Can't say enough about him his experience shows!!!!

1.0 of 5
July 14th, 2010
A joke
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Jaffe about 12 years ago as a teenager. I am not going into detail...but in hindsight he gave us the worst possible advice. He pushed me and my parents apart and looking back I resent ever seeing him...my brother saw him as well and we often joke about how awful he was...his eyes would roll into the back of his head as he talked to us and often it seemed as though he was sleeping...The care he gave was not funny and I am glad I turned out okay despite his terrible counseling...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 12th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 18th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Steven Jaffe, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Atlanta, GA.