The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Garner Is this you?
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Garner?


15 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 1st, 2014

Bad Tummy Tuck

I had a tummy tuck done by Dr. Garner at the end of 2013. The staff was great. Dr. Garner explained everything in detailed and told me I would love the results. I had my procedure done and I do have to say, he would answer my calls at any time, he even provided me with his cell number. All in all, when my husband came in with me for my follow-up, Dr. Garner told him he was not able to come in to the room while he was doing my follow up! My husband had to wait until the end of the appointment to go in with me! Did I forget to say my husband is in the medical field too? As if that was not enough, my husband asked a question and Dr. Garner basically made my husband feel stupid with the way he answered. Well now getting to my results of the tummy tuck, I asked Dr. Garner why was my upper abdomen bigger than the lower part. At the beginning he told me to give it some time to heal, that I was very swollen, then weeks went by and the swelling started to subside, but the odd shape of my belly was not getting any better. Still Dr. Garner would say give it some time. It was 5+ months later that I finally asked to see if he would do a revision on this and his response was: he read to me, all of my chart notes which was a combination of the truth and other stuff that I was never told or expected. Then when I told him I was very unsatisfied with the end results, he said he did the best he could and would not take blame as to say he would do a revision. Since then I have consulted with 2 doctors and without telling them my story, they both have told me they would have performed this procedure differently. They will not say "it was done wrong" but interesting enough they ask a lot of questions that make me feel like such a dummy for having done this procedure with Dr. G. So with all that being said, I WOULD NOT RECOMEND DR. GARNER AT ALL. People, please take your time and do as much research as you can, I was very hesitant to write a review, I do not like to bad mouth individuals, but now that I see how much more money I would have to come up with to fix my issue, I don't want that to be the case for others. Good Luck .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 28th, 2013

Double Cost, Double Trouble

I have had three procedures done here. The first, tummy tuck came out very well. I was happy with the results even though I was a bit concerned about the condescending attitude during post-op visits. The second procedure was disappointing as I could not see results after having gone through the cost and recovery time for the lower (short scar) lift. I had to undergo a second procedure with another charge and recovery time to get minimal results. My bad, that I went back for a third and the biggest procedure of liposuction. Again, very disappointing, uneven results and he wants me to come back at another serious charge to complete the surgery that I have already paid for once. Do I have a big "sucker" sticker on my forehead? Not going back. I am now going to a different Plastic Surgeon to see if things can be evened up. In all fairness though, I never had any serious infections or bad scarring. My biggest complaint is disappointing results and double charging.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2010

wonderful doctor

Dr. Garner is a very through and honset doctor. I initially saw him 5 years ago for breast implants and after having children returned to him for a "mommy makeover." I thought I should get a full tummy tuck and he advised me what was in my best interest was a mini. Im so thankful he is such a honest doctor because he saved me alot of time and money doing what was best for ME instead of what was best for him financially. He's awesome and I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2010

he was a great surgeon and very nice. he did my implants that look and feel great even after 3 kids. im going back to him for more work

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 19th, 2010

Not so gentlemanly

Dr. Gardner has the WORST bedside manner I have ever encountered. He explains things in terms that are too medical for me to understand, and when I ask follow-up questions, he pretty much explains that I'm too dumb to understand, in more technical terms of course. Furthermore, he read me the clinical note from my last visit with him, which was full of inaccuracies. He wants to do surgery on me without even knowing what is wrong and got upset that I preferred to get imaging first. Funny thing is, he treated me MUCH nicer when I had different insurance. I would not trust this "surgeon" who seems more money hungry than altruistic, neither with my tonsils nor appendix, much less my bones!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 25th, 2009

An artist, in a world of wanna bes

Dr Garner is a gentleman, and an artist in the field. More professional than I have words to tell. My proceedure was handled with gentle hands, and a caring heart. Spiritual in a way of trust. The results were perfect. I am truly happy.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 7th, 2009

Todd Connor

Dr. Garner and his staff are FANTATIC! They all treated me with great respect and genuine concern for my welfare! Dr. Garner explained the entire process and great detail desiring for me to be totally satisfied with the end result... and he definitely delivered!I would recommend Dr. Garner to anyone in a "heart-beat second"! He and his staff were/are kind and courteous, while mainating a professional deamenor at all times!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 17th, 2009

This doctor should NOT be allowed to practice medicine or do surgery he's incompetant. He botched the entire surgery and I have a lifelong injury.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2009

No doctor has ever spent as much time with me to make sure all my questions were answered. Office staff very helpful

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 15th, 2009

cosmetic surgery consultation

I was very impressed with the office staff and surprised by the amount of time Dr. Garner spent with me. Dr. Garner was my second consultation, and I felt at ease and had all my questions answered. Dr. Garner spent at least 35-45 minutes with me, and I was shocked when he called me personally to make sure my questions had been answered. I highly recommend this Doc and this practice. Staff very helpful as well.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2009

This doctor should not be allowed to do surgery, he's BAD NEWS!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2009

Courteous and professional from the moment I called the office. I was especially happy with the way all of my options were explained.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Garner is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Santa Cruz, CA.

  • Dr. Michael Purkey

    Dr. Michael Purkey

    Otolaryngology

    Santa Cruz, CA 0.03 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8
  • Dr. Alexis Lane

    Dr. Alexis Lane

    Otolaryngology

    Santa Cruz, CA 0.19 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    26
  • Dr. Randall Nacamuli

    Dr. Randall Nacamuli

    Plastic Surgery

    Santa Cruz, CA 0.19 mi

    4.2
    (14)
    19