Dr. Steven Mortazavi MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.5
  • 71 patient ratings
  • 48 comments

Last 12 months:

3.3 (+ 0.8)

48 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    37%
  • Satisfied
    1%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    59%
  • Wait Time 33.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 18th, 2016
Couldn't be happier
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just started going to Valley Pain Specialists after my old pain management place didn't accept my insurance anymore. I couldn't be happier that that happened. Valley Pain is so professional, caring and thorough. I feel totally comfortable and happy with Dr. Mortazavi, my PA Katherine Gehringer, the nursing staff (especially Jennifer, Julie and Katie) and the office staff. From the time I get there to the time I leave I feel very well taken care of.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2016
Would recommend 10xxxxx
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor along with his PA Marissa are a blessing. Although I'm still new to the office Marissa sat down with me explained everything in full an didn't just shove a prescription in my face we scheduled my first epidural with them an although I have more pain the next day I feel 90% better I can't thank these people enough!!!!! Doctor was amazing staff was an marissa the PA thank you so much for helping me live a better life
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 1st, 2016
BAD Doctor-
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
STAY AWAY !!! Unless of course you like to feel like a piece of meat on an assembly line. I've been to numerous- yes numerouse pain doctors in the past 6 yrs. This Doctor, and i use that word loosely, is by far- THE WORSE. As one happy reviewer wrote, i DON'T need to have my hand held or have a doctor show me warm fuzzy feelings. You also stated that some bad reviews were based on emotion. If you are so educated, pain is not only physical. It is emotional. It took over a month of seeing his PA and getting low mg of tramadol. And i felt like i was pulling teeth & begging for some pain relief. My 1st injection was painful, but tolerable. I had minimal relief. My 2nd injection was HORRIBLE. As others stated, he doesn't listen. He doesn't explain. He chats to his assistant. When i asked if this injection would hurt like the 1st one, he adamantly declared it would hurt less. WELL, my whole body tensed up-for he poked me in the wrong area. I was in intolerable pain, i tried to grab his arm. Normal reaction i suppose. He YELLED at me about sterile procedures, but could care less about my hyper-ventilating panic attack. I had a full on panic attack and was crying uncontrollably. As he swiped me off my stomach, like a slab of meat, HE SAID NOTHING. Didn't even address my very obvious distress. Not even 35 seconds later, i have the nurse asking me my pain level as I'm clearly trying to cup my hand around my mouth to control my breathing. Mind you, I've had numerous injections elsewhere, that I've lost count. Nothing compared to this nightmare. After 2 minutes, I'm asked to pee in a cup- but can barely stand. I had to wait ONE hour before steady enough to do a urine. NOW GET THIS:::: As i rushed to shower and get out the door, as not to be late for that appt., i hastily forgot to put on a new 7 day Butrans Pain Patch. When my urine showed i didn't have Butrans in my system, i was LET GO from the practice. Is that messed up or what ?? I had jumped into my waiting vehicle, declaring to my husband I'd never ever EVER go back. He witnessed the lingering affects of my anxiety..So when i recieved that discharge letter 2 weeks later, i laughed.. This place--- HONESTLY, is a Injection based facility. That's where they get their $$$$. I wasted almost $780.00 in Out-of-Pocket expenses, on the lamest-most uncaring doctor imaginable. GO TO DR. Kandra and Dr. Szollas from Premier Pain & Spine. He's located on Community Dr. in Easton, PA. HEED my WARNING.....Run Run Run from this incompetent Mortazavi.. And this review is NOT based on my emotional "hurt feelings",. My last visit with this "doctor" was over 8 months ago. I'm glad i saw the light before he made me worse then i was.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Do not recommend!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr M never sees patients in the office. I only got to see PA, even first visit. I didn't meet him until it went for epidural and he barely went over anything with me. He's too busy talking to his X-ray tech the whole time I was laying there. It made me very anxious and nervous to go there. Felt he was just doing it for the money. Never go there again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2015
Praise for Dr. Mortazavi and his staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I could offer only the highest praise for Dr. Mortazavi and his caring, articulate staff. I was experiencing severe pain in my back and down my leg. I had received pros and cons of injections, but felt that I would speak with Dr. Mortazavi. I have had three sets of injections, and I am now pain free. Dr. M. explains the problem and the procedure in understandable terms, guides and "feels" me through the procedure. His staff is dedicated, very detail oriented, and they too are ready to answer my questions. I have recommended Dr. Mortazavi to friends and colleagues. Thank you Dr. M. and your staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2015
I was recently seen by Dr Mortazavi and his caring staff. I must say, I was quite impressed with the whole set up there. I had an evaluation and examination with someone who took the time to show me my actual MRI pictures on a small computer and explain to me where the damage was. They took to the time to answer all of my questions and suggested that I get an injection that very same day! It is a very convenient set up....there is a surgery center there where the injections are done. There were two very friendly and caring nurses who made me feel at ease. I must say, that I was a bit anxious. The doctor and his assistant worked in harmony together on me. I had such confidence in them just by their actions. The doctor took the time to explain the pictures to me yet again and afforded me time to ask any last minute questions. It was a very short procedure that only lasted about 10 minutes. The best part of this experience is the fact that I am now pain free....yes, pain free. I would recommend this facility to anyone who has pain. They really do work miracles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
injection game
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw a approx 20y/o PA, trying to look tough. This place is injections for money game. No real understand of my problem. Been dealing with very bad back for many yrs. did the injections thing. Have scars to prove it. I'm not a candidate for surgery. Told them I wanted to take less medication. Was very honest. The sad fact is I'm going to be on some medicine the rest of my life but they stuck to THIER plan. injections. You must play the game, k now I'm up all night detoxing...karma, some day they will be in a similar situation......
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
Factual Review
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After failing to secure an emergency appnt for my husband for a dibilitating, acute herniation, my mother, suggested Dr. Mortazavi. Our call to the office was immediately returned and we were scheduled with in 24hrs. I visited this site prior to the appointment. I am a healthcare provider in a hospital for nearly 20yrs in radiology. After reading the reviews I will say I was perplexed. My mother who has worked and run her own business in healthcare for years strongly recommended him, though the reviews would scare most off. Upon our arrival, yes we waited. However, given the fact that all the other offices in Berks county were UNWILLING to even consult w my husband as an emergnecy pt, I was undeterred. PA, Ashley, was pleasant and thorough, after which Dr. M. examined, diagnosed and treatment planned w us. Was he fast..yes, but took the time to explain all options, potential side effects and the procedure itself. My husband enjoyed his convo w Dr. M. during the procedure, staff was efficient and followed up immediately. All calls have been returned in more than a timely fashion along w insurance questions and medication needs/concerns addressed. His staff follows proper sterile procedure (I prepped my husband to check). The surgi center is equipted w state of the art tech to most accurately perform procedures. We are headed back for another ESI which was initially successful. Dr. M. made sure my husband had adequate pain CONTROL prior to his first ESI. When you read these reviews, review them. Many are angry reviews, likely people in pain and angry at life in general because of it. I, myself, am NOT easily satisfied! I am more likely an office's worst nightmare bc I am well educated do to my occupation as well as taking the time to educate myself concerning my family's health and any procedures. I am so very pleased and appreciative for Dr. Mortazavi and his staff. Hadvthe ESI not been successful, that would not alter my opinion. Understand this when you see a physician...they are providing a service, professional care to the best of their ability. Some will be successful, others won't. That is NOT and never should be a reflection on the practice, doctors or staff. And for those of you who's commentary reflected an unwelcoming staff or lack of empathy/sympathy from Dr. M.....grow up. He's not being paid to hold your hand and rub your forehead. If you need to be coddled, take your mom or grandma. He's providing quality MEDICAL care, your emotional state is second seat and if that means he speaks quickly and has little time for pity so he can successful diaganosis and treat the next pt, too bad. I know thats rough for many to hear but reality is just that. And with any Pain Management office, it is their DUTY to be diligent in prescribing narcotics in an effort CONTROL pain, not complete relief. If they are not implementing those office guidelines, THAT SHOULD make you question their integrity. Bottom line, I sought top quality care with state of the art technology for my husband and I received it. I witnessed nothing that raised concern for code or standard practice of care/procedure violations. I believe many are driven away by earlier reviews which were clearly emotionally based. Keep it to the facts people, not your emotion or treatment outcome. Neither is with in ANY doctor's control and is therefore irrelevant in reviews of this sort. Hope this helps someone! And FYI...No I am not an employee or associated with this practice, just a satisfied pt with the top quality care we have received.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2015
Dismissed me, made me feel like a criminal and a liar!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to him by my RA doctor. At first it was fine. Having RA there are worse times with pain then others. I had a flare, went to my RA doctor and WAS TOLD I could take 2 more of my pain meds. for a 12-14 day period to help with pain. I also got injections in both joints. WELL, I went for my 3 month visit, WAS HONEST on what happened. Got my scripts, made my next appt. ONE WEEK LATER I got a dismissal letter in the mail for a VIOLATION of my meds. I called and the girl was EXTREMELY rude to me. I will be calling for my records and now have to find new pain management which I was told will be very hard after being labeled as a dismissal. When I call I am going to see IF he will even speak to me, but I am not holding my breath. Very disgusted and disappointed in the lack of trust. The last thing I am is a LIAR! You would think being a patient for OVER 2 yrs. they would GET RA and how the bad weather really makes things so much worse. I really resent the LACK of trust in which they have in their patients. IF they could be this way with me after 2 plus yrs. they can do this with anyone. I may not be perfect, but a LIAR I am not!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2014
let me explain the true facts!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have gone to Dr. Mortazavi for ten years and these are my true feelings and observations. First, in the ten years he has never tried to sell me on getting injections. After all this time I am getting worse due to my RA, which is a severe form and very aggressive. This means every year I am in more pain than the year before, this is not anyones fault, it's just the way it is. Also my RA was made much worse by a terrible near death accident in which I broke literally every bone in my body. A month ago I decided I needed to try an injection in my neck which is in bad shape having been broken in my auto accident. Dr. M did two injections and I was scheduled for a third but Dr. M said to me "if your feeling real good after this shot you can cancel the next" Sure doesn't sound like a man selling injections at any cost, does it. Also in ten years I have never waited longer than ten minutes to be seen. This is the shortest time of all the Drs. I have to see. His staff is friendly and his Physicians assistants are efficient and very thorough and friendly. There is another factor to be considered when people write reviews, there are many people who go to pain specialist to seek out drugs and drugs only! No therapy for them and when an alternative is proposed, like injections, they become angry and a little vindictive. I worked in a Dental office for years as a lab tech and the Dentist would almost get into physical altercations with these people when they didn't get what they wanted. Those are the facts as I see them and I have no reason to lie to you. I am happy with my treatment and care and I know you would be as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2014
Wrong diagnosis
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This mis-diagnosis & injections led to surgery to remove bone spur on nerve. Physician said I had way too many injections. Go elsewhere!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 8th, 2014
THEY ALL SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES
DONT WASTE YOUR PRECIOUS TIME BY GOING TO THIS PRACTICE. THEY ARE LIARS AND DONT CARE ABOUT YOUR PAIN. IF THEIR INJECTIONS DONT WORK, THEY KICK YA TO THE CURB AND TELL YA TO GO ELSEWHERE WHEN THEY (PROFESSIONALS) COULD COME UP WITH A SECONDARY CARE/PAIN PLAN FOR YOU IF THEIR PRECIOUS INJECTIONS DONT WORK!!! AT THE ASSESSMENT THEY TELL YA THEY HELP YOU COME UP WITH A PLAN INVOLVING VARIOUS MEDICATIONS IF THE THE INJECTIONS DONT WORK, BUT THATS A LIE, THEY ONLY WANT TO INJECT YOU AND IF IT DOESNT WORK EVEN ON THE FIRST TRY, THEY SAY BYE BYE!!! HOW PATHETIC AND UNPROFESSIONAL!!! NOW I DONT EVEN HAVE A PAIN MANAGEMENT PLACE OR PAIN MEDICATION BECAUSE MY INJECTION DIDNT WORK AND I WAS SENT PACKING!!! NOW I HAVE TO SUFFER, WHAT A SHAME!!! I DONT KNOW HOW AND WHY THEY WOULD DO THIS TO PEOPLE IN CHRONIC PAIN!!! THEY GO TO SCHOOL TO PRACTICE TO HELP PEOPLE SO HELP THEM THEN, BUT IN THE END ITS ALL ABOUT $$$... I WOULDNT SEND MY DOG THERE EITHER!!! SAD, SAD, SAD!!! THIS PLACE SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES!!! KARMA
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Mortazavi, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Bethlehem, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Evan Queler

9 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kimberly Moffat

7 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Sunita Arora

20 years experience

5.0 of 5