Dr. Steven Nichols MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Birmingham, AL

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.4)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    43%
  • Great
    20%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    33%
  • Wait Time 37.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Promptness

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2017
Knee and Shoulder repair
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nichols did a great job on both my Knee and Shoulder, highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 28th, 2016
Terrible
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, condescending jerk. Rude obnoxious staff. In worse shape than I was before surgery. I will have to have a second surgery to repair whatever he's done to me. Run from this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Dr Nichols, A true gentleman
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Nichols gave me my life back. I've been struggling with back pain and my legs going numb for years. Because of my weight I kept getting sent to get blocked (total of 7 blocks 3 different back doctors with no consistent relief). He fused my spine from the side and I was ready to go home the next day 6 months later and doing great. My only regret is not having gone to Dr Nichols first.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2015
Jerk
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No compassion for those in pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wait time while in waiting room is excellent, before you sit down you're called for x-ray and then sent to wait for a room. That goes pretty fast too but once in the room? Well, the wait is rather long. I'd bring a book or your iPod! I know these guys are busy but they are worth the wait when your turn arrives.,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 18th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He fused 2 of my 3 herniated disks. Would definitely use him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2014
Don't Waste Your Time
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Apt time 1:30pm. Time I actually saw the doctor 3:45 pm. Length of time the doctor spent with me. 5 minutes. Never examined me. Never listened to me. Very condescending. I have never been treated like that in all my life. I left there in tears. I came there in pain, and left there in pain. I would NEVER recommend Dr. Nichols to anyone. He obviously hates his job and just needs to retire at this point. He lacks compassion and is very cold. Don't just take my word. Read his reviews. Wish I had.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 18th, 2014
Go Somewhere Else If You Want A Concerned And Caring Doctor
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my mother to see Dr. Nichols several months ago about a problem with her shoulder from a fall and her knees. We went to 3 appointments with him without getting much results. He put her arm in a sling, gave some medication and was very condescending in his tone. He wouldn't let her explain what was going on with her and criticized the occupational therapist that was coming to the house. After waiting 2 hours for 5 minutes of his time I decided to take her elsewhere. He never touched her, just looked at the x-ray.

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2014
Rush to Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Tried no other options. Misdiagnosis because pain is worse after surgery. Exploring accurate diagnosis with another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2014
Great Job
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read some of the reviews and thought this might help with Dr. Nichols image. I had surgery a few years back ( I think 1989) and have not had any trouble with that knee to this day. He did a great Job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 11th, 2013
Great Job !!!!!!!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fixed 2 ruptured disc in my neck, I can use my left arm and hand for the 1st time is several years, Went back to him because he did such a great job on my right Elbow several years ago and I am So Glad I did. I would highly recommend Dr. Nichols. He has also fixed the neck of Three personal friends of mine and all tell me what a great Job he did. Great staff, Terri, Donna and Kim---- Thanks to all !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2012
GOOD Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
I saw Dr. Nichols in 2010 after years of knee pain, I had a total knee replacement, and my second one in 2012. I have been a nurse for a number of years, you learn what to look for in a good doctor, and I found that in Dr Nichols. His staff also have been knowledgeable, professional and friendly. I will not hesitate to see him again should I have orthopedic problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Nichols, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.