ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Petak Is this you?
  • 23
  • 0
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
15 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Petak?


30 Ratings with 11 Comments

3.0 Rating

December 1st, 2016

Unfortunately, my endocrinologist of 14 years retired and I chose Dr. Petak. I was sadly disappointed in him. He dismissed the 14 years of records that I had brought, had a terrible bedside manner, didn't ask me how I was feeling, etc. The clincher was when he even questioned why I thought I was hypothyroid after I have been on medication and been under doctor's care for 31 years. He acted like a big shot that really didn't care about me and made me feel stupid. I really believe at one time he must have been an excellent doctor, however something is clearly wrong now. Read the reviews and check the dates of when things were great and then not. Makes me sad that someone that holds such a prestigious position is no longer the doctor it seems he once was.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

December 1st, 2016

Unfortunately, my endocrinologist of 14 years retired and I chose Dr. Petak. I was sadly disappointed in him. He dismissed the 14 years of records that I had brought, had a terrible bedside manner, didn't ask me how I was feeling, etc. The clincher was when he even questioned why I thought I was hypothyroid after I have been on medication and been under doctor's care for 31 years. He acted like a big shot that really didn't care about me and made me feel stupid. I really believe at one time he must have been an excellent doctor, however something is clearly wrong now. Read the reviews and check the dates of when things were great and then not. Makes me sad that someone that holds such a prestigious position is no longer the doctor it seems he once was.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2016

DO NOT RECOMMEND. I am deeply disappointed in the service I received from this provider, after not 1 but 3 visits. Has no bedside manners, doesn't seem to care what I have to say, minimal eye contact, seems distracted and preoccupied with other things other than concentrating on talking about my case. Doesn't know the side effects (that I claimed to have) of the medication he prescribed me. I also had to defend my position on not increasing the dose, since the medication was clearly helping my blood work come to normal levels. Made me loose all credibility on how he's handling my medical care. He has a poor choice of words that give off destructive criticism. Don't be afraid to file a complain for any concerns similar to this. He is supposed to provide quality care, not to put people down and simply collect a paycheck.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

Saved my life

Amazing Doctor, saved my life, I can walk and function again with out passing out. Dr. Petak found out after the first visit what was wrong after two other Doctors misdiagnosed me, leaving me bed ridden for months. The best endocrinologist in Houston period.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 11th, 2015

Not the doctor for me

All he cared about were the test results. Period. My symptoms were irrelevant. No bedside manner, no eye contact, acted bored, give little to no explanation. Made me feel stupid for being there even though it was my internist who requested my seeing a specialist.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 28th, 2013

Caring doctor

I've been going to Dr. Petak for several years now. I really like him. He is professional and seems to care about his patients. I wish all doctors were like him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2012

Brilliant and Practical

He's terrific, smart, but admits doctors don't know everything and is willing to try alternatives - doesn't try to force everyone to fit the same mold. He knows that everyone is different and will respond differently to different approaches. He is open minded and I like that. He's practical.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2012

Travis Brooks

Dr. Patekhas taken great interest in diagnosing and treating my issue. I have found him to be very professional and to the point in his diagnosis and treatment in a manner that I understand and appreciate. My treatment is ongoing and will likely be required for many years to come. I am fortunate to have a medical professional of his caliber to guide me going forward. I highly recommend Dr. Patek.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 14th, 2012

excellent!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2012

outstanding
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2008

OUTSTANDING
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 14th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Petak is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

  • Dr. Fernando Urrutia

    Dr. Fernando Urrutia

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    4.3
    (56)
    40
  • Dr. Dara Wang

    Dr. Dara Wang

    Family Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    3.8
    (12)
    7
  • Dr. Ernest Bartimmo Jr

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Houston, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    46