Dr. Steven Prakken MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Durham, NC

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 10 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

10 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    80%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My standard for medical doctors is extremely high. Dr. Steven Prakken is the standard by which I evaluate all other physicians. His knowledge and mastery of his areas of expertise is exemplary. The initial accuracy of his diagnoses has always been exceptional and he does not hesitate to refine any initial perceptions and treatment modalities as he is made aware of new and additional information. He has a kind, engaging, and empathic bedside manner which makes it easy for one to confide their symptoms and fears to him. He definitely spends time with his patients and takes the necessary time to seek patient feedback at all points of treatment. I have found him to always be available for serious concerns which might arise following formal appointment times. Words are insufficient to accurately describe his caring manner, his exceptional knowledge and quest for new research, and his life saving diagnosis and treatments. He truly is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 25th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I think that Dr. Prakken buys into the latest psychiatric thinking (which changes frequently) instead of judging a case by it's unique and often hidden problems and by asking questions that will elicit the often differing answers from what Dr. Prakken has already concluded are the cause of a problem. I believe he means well , but does not have either the time or capacity (or possibly both) to listen with what Theodore Reich called the "third ear", that can hear what is often not necessarily spoken, but is definitely present and is of great importance.. He strikes me as overly sure of the diagnosis arrived at early on and does not, therefore, inspire faith in me in his psychiatric skills. He is, however, quite likeable as a person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2014
Family of Patient
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want to get addicted to pain killers go to this guy, he hands them out like candy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 8th, 2012
Dr. Prakken
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The entire office of Dr. Steven Prakken and Dr. Lisa Peoples are very welcoming, and very professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2009
Desperation from Pain and Irritability
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I consulted Dr. Prakken after seeking help from over 15 specialist seeking relief from my chronic undiagnosed pain from including the renown Cleveland Clinic. I consulted Dr. Prakken after seeing a TV show on the advanced techniques for pain management. Steven was the first doctor that understood my pain and how it affected my behavior including irritability. Many specialist labeled me as needing psychiatric counseling, but this doctor understood how the my central nervous system was affecting everything including your immune system and didn't believe that was the situation. Though he does not know the root cause, his treatment did wonders and made my quality of life so much better. It was definitely worth the wait to see him personally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 13th, 2009
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My appointment was scheduled two months out but the waiting time was worth it. Immediately upon meeting this doctor, I felt at ease. He is very knowledgeable and up to date in his field. He has a strict protocol to follow and does so without compromising patient dignity (as so many docs do in this field). I would recommend him to anybody who is struggling with a chronic condition that is impeding their quality of life.

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 24th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Prakken, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Durham, NC.