ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Prakken Is this you?
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
25.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Prakken?


12 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 26th, 2016

My standard for medical doctors is extremely high. Dr. Steven Prakken is the standard by which I evaluate all other physicians. His knowledge and mastery of his areas of expertise is exemplary. The initial accuracy of his diagnoses has always been exceptional and he does not hesitate to refine any initial perceptions and treatment modalities as he is made aware of new and additional information. He has a kind, engaging, and empathic bedside manner which makes it easy for one to confide their symptoms and fears to him. He definitely spends time with his patients and takes the necessary time to seek patient feedback at all points of treatment. I have found him to always be available for serious concerns which might arise following formal appointment times. Words are insufficient to accurately describe his caring manner, his exceptional knowledge and quest for new research, and his life saving diagnosis and treatments. He truly is the best!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2015

I think that Dr. Prakken buys into the latest psychiatric thinking (which changes frequently) instead of judging a case by it's unique and often hidden problems and by asking questions that will elicit the often differing answers from what Dr. Prakken has already concluded are the cause of a problem. I believe he means well , but does not have either the time or capacity (or possibly both) to listen with what Theodore Reich called the "third ear", that can hear what is often not necessarily spoken, but is definitely present and is of great importance.. He strikes me as overly sure of the diagnosis arrived at early on and does not, therefore, inspire faith in me in his psychiatric skills. He is, however, quite likeable as a person.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2014

Family of Patient

If you want to get addicted to pain killers go to this guy, he hands them out like candy!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2012

Dr. Prakken

The entire office of Dr. Steven Prakken and Dr. Lisa Peoples are very welcoming, and very professional.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2009

Desperation from Pain and Irritability

I consulted Dr. Prakken after seeking help from over 15 specialist seeking relief from my chronic undiagnosed pain from including the renown Cleveland Clinic. I consulted Dr. Prakken after seeing a TV show on the advanced techniques for pain management. Steven was the first doctor that understood my pain and how it affected my behavior including irritability. Many specialist labeled me as needing psychiatric counseling, but this doctor understood how the my central nervous system was affecting everything including your immune system and didn't believe that was the situation. Though he does not know the root cause, his treatment did wonders and made my quality of life so much better. It was definitely worth the wait to see him personally.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 13th, 2009

My appointment was scheduled two months out but the waiting time was worth it. Immediately upon meeting this doctor, I felt at ease. He is very knowledgeable and up to date in his field. He has a strict protocol to follow and does so without compromising patient dignity (as so many docs do in this field). I would recommend him to anybody who is struggling with a chronic condition that is impeding their quality of life.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 27th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 26th, 2015

5.0 Rating

November 24th, 2014

5.0 Rating

November 6th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Prakken is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Durham, NC.

  • Dr. Erica Veguilla

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Durham, NC 0.16 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    14
  • Dr. Hansen Su

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Durham, NC 0.16 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    17
  • Dr. Mark Heine

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Durham, NC 0.16 mi

    3.5
    (7)
    31