Overall Review

3.0
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 1.5)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    38%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    38%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 30 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is fabulous with my 4-year-old twins. He has been their doctor since they were 1-year-old, and I wouldn't go to anyone else. Wait times are long, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 12th, 2015
Should not work with kids
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor should not be practicing with children. I thought I was the only one who had this experience with him. I though bringing my 4 yrs old son to a pediatric doc would help with his treatment since hes scared of doctors. Dr. Rubin just made my sons experience worse by totally being passive to his behavior. He had me hold my son down for an exam. He has no skills working with childeren. His office has no toys or games which would look like a pediatric office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 4th, 2015
He is better than others we've met
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Well, all the reviews are more or less are true about dr Steven rubin. Not a smile, not a friendly shake or tone to a kid to make him feel comfortable... We all understand that after many years of practicing pediatric ophthalmology (I guess so) Doctor must be "tired, annoyed, fed up" with little kids crying or squirming or pushing his hands away and just acting scared like any child would, but then dr shouldn't be doing his job imo... Just to work because it's a work, with no compation is should not be allowed. He is a great dr, but yet again like we all saw he just doesn't have a way w kids, again I think he can he just doesn't want to. And I don't want tot bring my child to a dr like that. And this is sad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 26th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Over 2 months ago, I started wearing glasses. Miraculously my 8 year old started complaining of her eyes and asking for glasses. So o took her to this fabioules Dr, who turned to be a psychologist on me telling me that my daughters telling me that my daughter's eyes were fine and that my daughter might be suffering from her environment that is causing her stress or maybe she was exposed to trama!!!! The bottom line, all what he saw a covered woman. He showed me every sign of prejudice person could show.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 10th, 2015
Competent but Cranky
Wait time
35 minutes
He is a little stern given his specialty is kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2014
Good doctor, horrible mannar
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my 17 month old to see Dr Rubin because of a suspected eye infection. Overall I felt happy with his knowledge about eyes and I felt confident in his diagnosis. However, his manner with children is horrible. My daughter was behaving amazingly mostly because she was scared, but when she was trying to move his hand away he told her "don't do that, I don't want to have to hold you down." Thankfully she is only 17 months and did not understand him, but his way with her was very upsetting as a parent. For an older child he would certainly come across as a very scary man. Furthermore, he acted annoyed to explain anything to me about the infection. I ended up looking everything up in Medical websites and books after I left. I would never go back to him unless I had to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2011
rude and arrogant
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor should not be practicing. At least not on living patients. After a long wait, we met a rude and condescending man with no patience for children or anyone else. His bedside manner was obnoxious and, frankly, we think he grossly misdiagnosed our daughter's problem. We made an appointment for a second opinion and will NOT be going back (or anywhere near) Dr. Rubin. Avoid this "doctor".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 7th, 2011
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is impatient.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2011
5* DR WITH BAD ATTITUDE
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yes he does what he has to do without telling u anything. Talks down to u, does not give any hope ....very discouraging... well miracles do happen and I am believing God for one Dr Rubin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 24th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst bedside manner of any Doctor I've come in contact with in my entire life. On several occasions I was ready to walk out of his office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 7th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has horrible bedside manner - very condescending
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2009
Not caring
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Just want his job done, not explaining anything what hes gonna do. Its like he doesnt hv kids or I meann grandkids of his own. No compassion with kids at all. Im looking for 2nd opinion. But the staff are great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Rubin, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Great Neck, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Carolyn Shih

13 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Howard Pomeranz

23 years experience

3.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Hal Schwartzstein

5 years experience

1.0 of 5