The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Rudolph Is this you?
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Rudolph?


14 Ratings with 4 Comments

5.0 Rating

April 17th, 2013

A valued relationship

I began seeing Dr.Rudolph about 3 years ago to treat my dependency to prescription pain medication. For the first several visits, I often left his office questioning the concept of mental healthcare and especially the value of the treatment I was receiving from our sessions together. It wasn't too long thereafter whenI came to the realization that my life had drastically improved in several areas beyond just that which I was being treated for. After much self-reflecting, it was clear that my self-improvement was the direct result of the treatment and support received under Dr.Rudolph's care. I'm proud to declare that my relationship with Dr.Rudolph has only become stronger and is one which I value as if he was family. He is sincere and always available in his role as a support figure. I've never questioned his expertise as a doctor and has properly diagnosed every ailment I've described. I'd choose Dr.Rudolph as my doctor if I had it to do all over again and strongly recommend others do the same. Cheers

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 12th, 2010

Hope and Happiness at last!

I am 45 years old and have sought out help for depression, compulsive and addictive behavior for over 25 years. I went to many counselors and group therapy in an effort to escape compulsion, shame, emotional pain, self hatred, anger and sadness. Although I was able to maintain a career and a home and the normal things, I was very unhappy almost all the time. After years seeking help from counselors, psychologists, psychiatrists and self help books I had all but given up ever feeling normal, happy or ever liking myself. The emotional pain was intense and I felt hopeless and lonely. Then after being told by yet another counselor that they could not help me, I went to Dr Rudolfs office. To make a long story short, less than a year later I am a new person. For the first time in my life I am free of all my compulsive feelings. I am not sad or depressed. I feel hope for the future and joy in the improvement that I did not believe was possible. Thank you Dr Rudolf! Ray.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2010

Chronically dissatisfied with the medical care I have received

Dr. Rudolph is unique. He can be moody but you always sense he is totally committed to his patients despite some frustration he shares about the health care system. He spends more time with me than any other doctor I have ever met. I feel understood, even when I dont feel better. I feel safe, even when Im scared. He calls himself a teacher, reminding me that the word doctor means "teacher" in Latin. He says his job is to help me learn about my brain so I can make better life choices. I like his style, though at times he seems overworked. I especially like it when he says: "this is what I would recommend if you were in my family, and I could be objective." That makes me feel cared for.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 28th, 2008

Dr. Rudolph took a more personal interest in my mental health than any one doctor I had ever seen. He is warm gentle and understanding. At times he gets overworked but when confronted he is able to acknowledge his shortcomings in a way that I have never experienced before. For example, one time he was running behind because of a patient emergency and he waived the fee for my visit because he felt that it wasnt fair for me to have to wait. I explained this was not necessary but he insisted. Although he seems focused on maintaining the business of his practice effeciently, I never felt like I was just there so he could make money. Also, he has a wonderful sense of humor and in the depths of my major depression truly helped me learn to not take my self so seriously. He always reminded me that "how you feel is not the same thing as who you really are and what you are capable of"

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 19th, 2016

5.0 Rating

August 8th, 2016

1.0 Rating

June 21st, 2016

1.0 Rating

May 29th, 2015

1.0 Rating

May 11th, 2015

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 6th, 2011

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 3rd, 2009

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2009

Easy Appointment
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Rudolph is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

  • Dr. Divya Krishnamoorthy

    Dr. Divya Krishnamoorthy

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Child Psychiatry

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    13
  • Dr. Joseph Mawhinney

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry

    Del Mar, CA 0.35 mi

    4.1
    (21)
    46
  • Dr. Ann Massion

    Psychiatry

    Del Mar, CA 0.35 mi

    3.7
    (7)
    29