The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Schechter Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Schechter?

IBS

IBS

Get the facts about Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), including symptoms, what exacerbates it, and doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Schechter?

Ratings and Reviews

48 Ratings with 4 Comments

  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    30
  • Great
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
52.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 48 Ratings with 4 Comments

1.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2015

need help scheduling patients

I was scheduled for 12:30. Waited til 2:30 and still was not seen. I tried to rescheduled and was told any appointment I make, I will have to wait over several hours to be seen because he is a surgeon.

Wait time
56 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2015

Consult patient

I went for a consultation about 5 years ago and I found the whole experience to be easy but most importantly I really really liked Dr. Schecter, he was nice, spent time with me and although he could not offer me anything surgically to change my situation he went over my options in depth.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 5th, 2014

Very good doctor and great person

Dr. Schechter has been my doctor for about 15 years. I was having lots of pain when I went to him. He is knowledgeable, thorough and treats you with respect. He will see you the same day if you call. He has a good sense of humor and greets you with a smile. You will feel cared for, confident and even if you don't like the diagnosis, he will calm all your fears. I would recommend him very highly and without reservation. That is probably why you have to wait in his office, but it is well worth it, The time he spends with others he will gladly spend with you. And he will also talk with your loved ones if you wish.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 20th, 2012

Hit & Run Doc

Dr. is more concerned about his students than than his patient. He never asked permission to bring students in prior to doing so.He is not good at calling patients back. He gives very little information after a surgical procedure and leaves you feeling hopeless.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 7th, 2017

4.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 5th, 2016

4.0 Rating

November 29th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2016

4.0 Rating

July 20th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

June 21st, 2016

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Schechter is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Providence, RI.

  • Dr. Adam Klipfel

    Dr. Adam Klipfel

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Providence, RI 0 mi

    20
  • Dr. Matthew Vrees

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Providence, RI 0 mi

    4.2
    (64)
    20
  • Dr. Leslie Roth

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Providence, RI 0 mi

    4.2
    (39)
    11