The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Shimoura Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Shimoura?

Seasonal Allergies

Seasonal Allergies

Get the facts about seasonal allergies, including the different types, symptoms, and doctors who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Shimoura?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    16
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
29.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 22nd, 2016

He is a great guy to talk to and he explains everything well

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2016

Excellent doctor

I have used Dr. Shimora for quite a few years. He did my sinus surgery, with excellent results! I find him to be compassionate, caring and most of all compassionate physician. I highly recommend him to anyone needing an ENT.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

November 5th, 2012

GREAT ENT.

STRAIGHT TO THE POINT. KNOWS HIS BUSINESS.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2012

Very Knowledgable!!

Dr. Shimoura is great!! My 8yr old was having sleep apnea issues and we were referred to Dr. SHimoura. Best referral ever! His bedside manner is awesome and he's extremely knowledgable. I appreciate his approach to every indiviual situation. With treatment, he's both aggressive and conservative at the same time. It's weird but totally true! My son needed immediate attention for the sleep apnea issues so we moved forward immediately for the safety of my son but then with follow up issues Dr. SHimoura recommended a "wait & see" approach. This was a beautiful combination that helped my son physically and emotionally handle this whole situation. Yes, the wait time in the reception area can sometimes be lengthy but my son's life is worth it and I would wait as long as I have too so my son could get the proper healthcare. Thank you, Dr. Shimoura & staff!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2011

Heroes are hard to find

Dr. Shimoura saved my son's life. When other doctors told us to wait and watch, Dr. Shimoura said, no, we have to move on this now. His knowledge, judgment, and willingness to act are the reasons my 4-yr-old didn't die from an aggressive form of cancer. During one of the office visits, the doctor made a star out of tongue depressors, then threw it against the wall, where it burst into individual sticks. A simple, silly trick. You know what? It made a scared little boy smile. If there's a downside to this practice, it's that you might have to wait once you get there, because so many patients want to see him. This is a problem that "awful physicians" rarely have. Stop looking-- this is the guy you want.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2011

I
Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

September 2nd, 2009

Awful physican

Everything about this practice was awful, from the rude staff to the Dr. He scheduled surgery for a non-existing condition. I had violent headaches that were in fact caused by TMJ and decided they were sinus-related even after the cat scan was clear. Had another family member who also had issues.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 7th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 26th, 2016

4.0 Rating

August 8th, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Shimoura is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Columbia, MD.

  • Dr. Barry Ominsky

    Otolaryngology

    Columbia, MD 0.39 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    47
  • Dr. Alice Chang

    Otolaryngology

    Columbia, MD 0.39 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    5
  • Dr. Robert Lisk

    Otolaryngology

    Columbia, MD 0.39 mi

    4.7
    (9)
    47