Dr. Steven Spellman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.3
  • 143 patient ratings
  • 88 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.4)

88 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    78%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 17.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm very satisfied with the reception, examination, treatment and my new lenses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2016
Tommy Newberry
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best!! Just had cataract surgery and have never seen better. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Spellman has been my family's doctor for many years and I wouldn't trust our eyes to anyone else's care. He recently did a procedure on me by where he removed excess skin that was weighing on my eyelids. For me, it was a completely pain free experience and I have been enjoying the benefits of this procedure. I am very happy that I chose to have it done and am more pleased that Dr. Spellman took great care of me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent result after cataract surgery. Couldn't be more pleased. Wore glasses since childhood, now don't need them except to read.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Spellman is knowledgeable, kind, talented, caring, helpful and personable Dr. I won't trust any other ophthalmologist with my eyesight. His staff reflects his calm and professional assistance. I am thankful for their service. A lot of his staff have been with Dr Spellman for many years. That itself is a quality measure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very pleased with Dr. Spellman, his staff and the results of my cataract surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 21st, 2016
Reverand
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The ease of appointment was wonderful, and the promptness was surprising. I had called in regarding a problem and the staff was very knowledgeable and courteous and told me the correct diagnosis. Later, I wanted to double check and made an appointment with Dr. Spellman and put me at ease right away and went beyond what was expected, showing me a video concerning my problem and came back to check to see if I understood it. No greater Doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm one happy patient ! Dr. Spellman did cataract surgery on both eyes , results are better than I could have hoped for. He and his staff are top notch. I'm 74 and have white coat syndrome and they put me at ease .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Successful Cataract Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I put off this surgery way too long, worrying about the process and outcome. But everything went so well. I'm glad I had it done. It was smart to have the good eye done first, like the doctor recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 20th, 2016
Cataract Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Spellman was very informative in explaining the procedure and options to me. I received excellent care during the surgery and at post-op visits. I always felt I was in very competent hands with both the doctor and staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
Excellent Doctor !
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Spellman did an excellent job with both of my cataract surgeries. He has a very friendly manner, and he was very respectful of my questions and concerns. I rate him and his office highly !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Spellman, a man of integrity, a very capable physician, excellent bed-side manner, with a well run office and a great group of employees. I have been recommending him and his practice every opportunity I get.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Spellman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Leana Long

18 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Hood

6 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Eric Feinstein

5 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor