Dr. Steven Spellman MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Newport News, VA

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 148 patient ratings
  • 90 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.3)

90 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    78%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    1%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 18.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Spellman for a number of years and am highly satisfied. Had lots of changes this last year with developing cataracts; recently had one removed and with lens to correct astigmatism. I was really nervous, but his positive attitude about the results gave me confidence. Though I know he's very busy, he always takes a few minutes for general conversation so I don't feel like just another number/patient; and answers questions. Staff is also very knowledgeable and helpful. Extremely pleased with surgery results and will have other eye done in a few months. Practice has also started texting appointment reminders--very helpful--as I don't always check voice mail.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2017
Outstandings services his practice provides.
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Spellman for many years and have always had great treatment for my eyes as they kept changing over the years. Both my wife and I see him. He just recently operated on both my eyes, the results were outstanding. The surgery did everything that he said it would do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 16th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm very satisfied with the reception, examination, treatment and my new lenses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 7th, 2016
Tommy Newberry
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best!! Just had cataract surgery and have never seen better. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Spellman has been my family's doctor for many years and I wouldn't trust our eyes to anyone else's care. He recently did a procedure on me by where he removed excess skin that was weighing on my eyelids. For me, it was a completely pain free experience and I have been enjoying the benefits of this procedure. I am very happy that I chose to have it done and am more pleased that Dr. Spellman took great care of me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent result after cataract surgery. Couldn't be more pleased. Wore glasses since childhood, now don't need them except to read.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Spellman is knowledgeable, kind, talented, caring, helpful and personable Dr. I won't trust any other ophthalmologist with my eyesight. His staff reflects his calm and professional assistance. I am thankful for their service. A lot of his staff have been with Dr Spellman for many years. That itself is a quality measure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very pleased with Dr. Spellman, his staff and the results of my cataract surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 21st, 2016
Reverand
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The ease of appointment was wonderful, and the promptness was surprising. I had called in regarding a problem and the staff was very knowledgeable and courteous and told me the correct diagnosis. Later, I wanted to double check and made an appointment with Dr. Spellman and put me at ease right away and went beyond what was expected, showing me a video concerning my problem and came back to check to see if I understood it. No greater Doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm one happy patient ! Dr. Spellman did cataract surgery on both eyes , results are better than I could have hoped for. He and his staff are top notch. I'm 74 and have white coat syndrome and they put me at ease .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Successful Cataract Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I put off this surgery way too long, worrying about the process and outcome. But everything went so well. I'm glad I had it done. It was smart to have the good eye done first, like the doctor recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 20th, 2016
Cataract Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Spellman was very informative in explaining the procedure and options to me. I received excellent care during the surgery and at post-op visits. I always felt I was in very competent hands with both the doctor and staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Spellman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Leana Long

18 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Melinda Wu

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Hood

6 years experience

5.0 of 5