Dr. Steven Chang MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.9)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    36%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Wait Time 25.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 18th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outpatient surgery went smoothly from pre-ops thru follow-up. Very happy with Dr. Chang and his office staff, and the hospital.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2015
Great doctor and group!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've had three different surgeries with Dr. Chang and his group and they've all gone incredibly well!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 29th, 2015
Good Experience
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chang did surgery on me about 2 years ago. I do not quite understand the negative comments about him, although I respect other patients' opinions. We all have different expectations and approaches. I found Dr. Chang to be courteous, knowledgeable, efficient, and very accommodating. Is he Mother Theresa? Not really. He is straightforward and to the point, but pleasant and concerned. That was my experience with him and I would certainly go back to him if I had to. Hope this is helpful to someone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 24th, 2012
A 5 minute doctor??
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Chang:He was useless to me. Dismissed my overwhelming varicose veins as genetic, get lost??
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 11th, 2011
No problem
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had 3 operations with Dr.Chang and have found him to be caring and concerned.He is willing to answer questions and I've never felt I was being "rushed". He's a busy Dr. but the office is well run and efficient. He does his job well and I would recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 8th, 2011
Worst practice ever dealt with.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This surgeon was easy to get into, but the day of my surgery, Dr. Chang was over an hour and a half late for a 10:30am surgery, running in disheveled and confused, which concerned my wife. The nurse and dr. told us two different time lengths the surgery would take, extremely different. Dr. told my wife he would come out to talk to her after surgery and he never did. He just left without a word or instructions on care. The nurses didn't even know. It was the worst ever experienced. THEN, his office messed up on my disability extension as I had complications and could not return to work to my extremely physical job, but it was really the way he worded the paper work as if he didn't even know how to fill out what must be typical paperwork for a surgeon dealing with disability. THEN they wanted me to pay another $25 to file their mistake! I had already paid them an additional $25 out of pocket to do all paperwork before surgery! This dr. is just interested in making a buck - gives the profession a bad name. BEWARE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 12th, 2011
Avoid Dr. Chang unless you have nowhere else to turn
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't care about his patients. Once you've paid your bill, don't expect to ever see his again. Either his office doesn't pass along messages, or he just doesn't care. But don't wait for him to call you back--it won't happen. My advice...go to anyone else but Dr. Steven Chang!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 10th, 2011
HE DOESN'T BELIEVE IN TAKING RESPONSIBILITY.HE NEGLECTS HIS PATIENT.
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Chang is a v ery charming person. But he has no concern for patients that he has operated on and they have complications. He avoids answering questions, says he doesn't know what happens, refuses to follow up with patient care when they have complications from him. He fails to explain areas that are involved with risk from prcedures. HE JUST DOESN"T CARE. All he cares about is money, not about the pateint. When asked why I was having a certain complication his response was I DON't KNOW, I DID NOT GO NEAR THAT AREA.. He needs to learn his anatomy. STAY AWAY FROM HIM,UNLESS YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT PROPER FOLLOW UP AND AFTER CARE....HE'S A GENERAL SURGEON,SO IF YOU NEED A SPECIFIC PROCEDURE DONE,GO TO A SPECIALIST.HE WILL LIE TO YOU ,SAY HE HAS DONE PROCEDURE PLENTY OF TIMES,WHEN IN FACT HE HASN'T.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Steven Chang, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Laguna Beach, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Michael Coccia

33 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Judy Bourget

26 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anne Luhan

15 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor