The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Topper Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Topper?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Topper?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 24 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 9th, 2015

Worst experience yet

After injuring my thumb, I went to see Dr. Topper because I had heard he was the best. Not only is he one of the rudest, most uncaring human beings I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, but he also misdiagnosed my injury 3 times (yes, 3 times), missed one of my appointments because he had "gone to lunch," and never once acknowledged any of his mistakes or apologized. I have nothing to share but complete disappointment in everything he had to offer. Do yourself a favor, and don't go here.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2013

Software Consultant

I highly recommend Dr. Topper. I had my 2nd wrist surgery with Dr. Topper. Compare to the doctor who did my 1st surgery, Dr. Topper's surgery was so much better in many aspects and levels. He is an incredible surgeon and a great doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2013

Insurance agent

Awful experience. I wish I would have read all the reviews on this doctor before my experience, I would have known better. Completely beyond arrogant and rude. If you would like a doctor who is even the least bit kind, use anyone but him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2012

Exceptional Surgeon, Great Staff

Dr Topper is a fantastic surgeon and I highly recommend him. I have been dealing with a very difficult nerve injury in my elbow/forearm/wrist and Dr Topper has been very patient with me every step of the way. I visited with other prominent hand surgeons in the Pikes Peak region that were too afraid of my condition to touch me and Dr Topper seemed comfortable with surgical intervention, which has been a life-saver for me. In addition, his hand therapist Dianne, was instrumental in my recovery. Compared to the other specialists I have visited in town regarding this and other issues, Dr Topper's office is the gold standard.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2012

Thankful

Saved my finger. Took time to explain to me what was wrong with my hand, and how best to fix it. I was presented with several options, and was able to proceed with surgery that returned full function to my finger. Can come across as being uninterested at first, but turned out to be very caring and supportive.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 5th, 2011

If you're on Medicare, DO NOT SEE THIS DOCTOR!!

Dr. Topper is arrogant, has a horrible bedside manner, and treats patients like furniture. He is probably an excellent surgeon. I never found out because he terminated me after I asked to change the date of surgery due to complications with my hand. Terminated without even contacting me. I suspect things would have been different had I been a cash patient rather than being disabled on Medicare.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 7th, 2011

Rating on doctors care

POOR at the very best I can say

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 9th, 2010

Mr Rodney Musarra

Did an original surgery which had complications during the healing process and now the doctor is willing to say a more intense surgery is needed, but will not commit to this second surgery. He has not been very professional since seeing that there is another surgery required and actually acted very unprofessional when informed that the original surgury had complications during the healing process.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2009

Excellent Hand surgery

Excellent hand surgeon. Fixed, as well as possible, a hand surgery batched by another doctor.I can not sayenough good about Dr Topper. Excellent surgeon, excellent follow-up, excellent staff :) totally happy with what he did for me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 4th, 2008

Have Medicare? Prepare to be dumped.

Unless you have a critical injury, if you have Medicare, this physician will use the slightest excuse to "terminate" you as a patient and claim "you" weren't following instructions - without ever speaking to you personally. Beware!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 14th, 2016

4.0 Rating

January 11th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Topper is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Colorado Springs, CO.

  • Dr. Gregg Martyak

    Dr. Gregg Martyak

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Colorado Springs, CO 0 mi

    4.0
    (9)
    10
  • Dr. Paul Rahill

    Dr. Paul Rahill

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    Colorado Springs, CO 0.56 mi

    3.6
    (69)
    15
  • Dr. Hendrick Arnold III

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Colorado Springs, CO 1.29 mi

    1.0
    (1)
    42