ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Sumi Sexton Is this you?
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Sumi Sexton?


10 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2017

Excellent Doctor!!

Dr. Sexton is an excellent doctor. We have been going to her for 8 years and have been very pleased.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 7th, 2016

Failure To Diagnose

Dr. Sumi Sexton missed a diagnosis which nearly cost me life. For nearly 3 years I saw her with a variety of symptoms for which she had no explanation. These symptoms worsened over time. I later looked at 10 different medical websites (such as The Mayo Clinic) which all listed my symptoms as indicating the type of tumor I had. The tumor had grown so large that the surgeon was surprised I was still alive and functional and he told my children I would likely die. Fortunately I didn’t! Dr. Sexton failed to diagnose my tumor and failed to refer me to someone who might.

Doctor's Response

My name is Teri Culp, Customer Experience Manager at Privia Medical Group. I would be happy to discuss this matter further with you. Please contact me at (800) 976-1442, Monday to Friday, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Eastern Time.

SHOW
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 11th, 2015

Do not recommend; testing & reatment refused for genetic risk factors related to cancer

Dr. Sumi Sexton refused to treat genetic risk factors regarding a family history of cancer. Additionally, she refused treatment for medically necessary diagnostic tests including catscans and MRIs. She has refused treatment a total of 3 times for risk factors whereby I eventually admitted to Inova Alexandria Hospital Emergency Room for non-viral/non-bacterial vomiting and chronic stomach pain. I would not recommend treatment by this physician.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2014

Great doctor!

Dr. Sexton is the doctor for our entire family. She has been great with me, my husband, and our two young children. I've been going to her for at least seven years with no complaints. She is knowledgeable and up-to-date on current medicine and is always kind and friendly during visits. She takes time to listen to and answer our questions. She seems to have a good reputation among other doctors too, when I mention that Dr. Sexton is my primary care physician. I also heard her as a guest on the Diane Rehm show one day and was really impressed with her opinions -- she really is a fantastic doctor! The nurses and office staff are always helpful and courteous. The policy at the office is to schedule physicals way ahead of time so that there are more last-minute appointments available, which is great. I have always been able to get an appointment with either Dr. Sexton or one of the other doctors (or the Physician's Assistant) within a day of my call. I have seen almost all of the other doctors and the PA with no complaints. There are medical students there sometimes too, who visit prior to having the doctor see you, if you're okay with that. I'm always okay with that because med students are really thorough, and you still get to see the doctor afterwards, so it's like getting two doctors in one visit. Also, there's a lab on-site, which totally beats making a trip to some commercial lab for routine bloodwork. In short, I totally recommend Dr. Sexton and her practice. This is an exceptional doctor.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 26th, 2011

Blase attitude led to blood clot

When nothing else helped with my acne she prescribed me birth control pills which I'd never been on before. The pills gave me massive migraines and she told me to "stick with it" as my body got used to the hormones. I asked her if I should switch pills and she said it would not make much of a difference. This led to a blood clot (DVT) when I was no longer under her care. Newer studies show the hormone she put me on had 6x greater risk of clotting. She was uninformed and too liberal in my care, didn't listen to my concerns, and ultimately this led to a very dangerous situation given the drug she put me on.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2015

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 8th, 2014

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2014

5.0 Rating

March 4th, 2009

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Sumi Sexton is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Arlington, VA.

  • Dr. Theresa Benchoff

    Family Medicine

    Arlington, VA 0 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    12
  • Dr. April Everett

    Dr. April Everett

    Family Medicine

    Arlington, VA 0 mi

    3.3
    (3)
    13
  • Dr. Frances Demmerle

    Family Medicine

    Arlington, VA 0 mi

    3.0
    (1)
    18