Dr. Susan Hamstra DO Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Brighton, CO

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 0.5)

32 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    69%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 20th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I had been patients of Dr Hamstra and Dr.Ruff for about 5 years she is very nice however trying to get appointment is very difficult put out for 2 weeks! Reception staff always seemed to be annoyed every time I would call to make appt. Terry in the back office it awesome! We did transfer offices and are now being treated with the kindness from the new office that anyone would expect
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
March 27th, 2013
Conservative - wants office return
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hamstra has been my PC for quite a few years. She is fine for an annual pelvic/pap or a strep test and antibiotics. However, anything further and she doesn't want to do anything conventional, at least. She is extremely conservative with medications even to include muscle relaxants and sleeping aids. While I have had several other issues, which I've ended up going to a specialist for, most recently, I had a really kinked up neck and upper back (probably as a result of sleeping on my pillow wrong). After putting me on this 1970's model back roller machine, she tried to do chiropractic maneuvers on me. When I wouldn't budge and was in ridiculous pain, she prescribed muscle relaxants. When I looked up the medication online, I found she had prescribed about 1/4 of what was the recommended starting dose and, of course at that dosage, it did nothing for me. She always wants you to make another appointment and come back in, which is why I think she is so conservative about her treatments. If your looking for something like this, she's fine. If your looking to get your problem solved quickly, find a different doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2011
Long Time Patient
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr Hamstra's for over twenty years and have always found her to be compassionate and caring. Yes, you may have to wait to be seen sometimes because someone else had to be seen for an emergency as I have had to be worked in before but you would appreciate it if it was you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After waiting in the waiting room for an hour, and then the room for another hour, expect her to spend 3 minutes with you and send you on your way. I think that she should not take on any more patients because she can't handle the ones she has. She is always booked up, it's impossible to get an appt quickly. She doesnt listen to you when you tell her how you're feeling. I just didnt care for her office in general. I will be looking for another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 5th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has a letter of admonishment on her record for failure to refer to specialist and inability to properly read lab results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 16th, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She definately cares about her patients and it shows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 19th, 2009
Great Doctor
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 of 5
July 10th, 2009
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dislike her bedside manner. Noncaring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Susan Hamstra, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Brighton, CO.