Overall Review

3.2
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

2.6 (-0.6)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    40%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 37.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 13th, 2016
Brusk demeaner
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first meeting was very stressful. She did all the talking and my husband or I could not get a word in edgewise. She insisted I was constipated and put me on miralax, I ended up with diarrhea and cramps. At the end of appt, she said if miralax does not work, she will prescribe a tricyclic antidepressant, which is what any general GI would do. When I told her I take pepcid complete after meals, she said that was odd. She tells all her patients to take 40 mgs. at bedtime. I also told her I take gaviscon after meals. She said that neutralizes acid, why are you taking that?? These medications have worked for me for the last 6 years! I would not recommend this doctor. She is cold and not compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 30th, 2015
Pleasant Doctor/Unpleasant Secretary
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Lucak is such a pleasant doctor, very informative, thorough ,and patient. She took her time to explain my diagnosis and procedure. I would recommend her to others. The only thing I would change is her secretary. She was not friendly at all ;she seemed a bit rude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Excellent doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never written a review for a doctor before,I felt compelled to review Dr. Lucak because I find her to be first rate. She is pleasant, informal, engaging and above all her suggestions have really helped me . I have been suffering from IBS since the age of 17 I am now 57. Dr lucak has really helped me. I read another review that said she does not accept insurance and is expensive, this is not true, she accepts my insurance and I pay a $ 30.00 copay. I live in eastern long island and she is worth the trip to NYC !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2013
Doctor who listens
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been with Dr. Lucak for about 15 years after seeing several other gastroenterologists in NYC. She is a doctor who takes the time to listen and every visit she spends time answering my questions and concerns. Further, she is not afraid to consult with her colleagues to confirm a diagnosis. Like many patients with ongoing digestive issues it is comforting to find a doctor who works with you so closely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2013
Excellent MD
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been with Dr. Lucak for about 15 years and not only do I find her to be an excellent diagnostician but she is a doctor who actually takes the time to listen. She does not rush to give unnecessary and unpleasant tests but she works works with you to examine all possibilities. As someone with a weak digestive system who has had many gastroenterologists over the years, I feel I finally found someone that I can trust.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 28th, 2011
wonderful dr.
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Lucak for over 10 years for my Gerd and hiatal hernia. She never rushes you through an appt, is always eager to hear if there is any change in your condition and has a very sympathetic ear. She has always directly called me when i leave her a message. Sometimes even late in the evening when i know she must be calling from home. I have reccommended her to many people who also feel the same way. My only complaint while she was at Columbia was the long wait times in the office and the staff was rude at times.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 20th, 2011
One size fits all
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has one answer for all IBS issues. She says all IBS is constipation and will not listen to a patient describing all their symptoms and issues. She then prescribes Miralax regardless of your symptoms and then says all other remedies are old fashioned and only she has the answer. She has no inclination to try anything else and work with you. What she prescribed made my symptoms worse giving me the worst intestinal cramps in years. I would never go back to her. She is no longer accepting insurances and is outrageously expensive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 15th, 2010
A real problem
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
With all the prestigious appointments and a position at Columbia, you'd think Dr. Lucak would be a better doctor. She rushed through our appointment, scolded me for complaining about my symptoms, and had her secretaries call me rather than talking to me herself. She always seemed to be on vacation or unreachable for some reason. She didn't help when the pharmacy made a mistake with my prescription. She was a spokeswoman for a drug she prescribes, and didn't tell me that. That drug is now off the market because of adverse side effects. How can you trust someone with a clear conflict of interest like that? PS she doesn't even have to diagnose people because she only takes people with IBS diagnoses!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Susan Lucak, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Susan Fox

36 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Carmichael

37 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Marianne Legato

4.7 of 5