Dr. Tamer Seckin MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.2)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    50%
  • Satisfied
    12%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    31%
  • Wait Time 32.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 25th, 2016
Not what i expected
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Im sure Dr Seckin is a very skilled doctor who is able to help many people. My health is worth whatever time and whatever amount of money it takes to feel better. I waited 2 hours to see him, which didnt really bother me, until i met him. The way i look at it, is that he is giving every patient the time they deserve to get all their questions answered and for him to truely learn and understand each patients exact needs. When it was my turn, He was very unprofessional, didnt tell me anything about my condition, and just wanted to schedule surgery and that he'd be able to tell me more once he got in there. When i asked questions, he got nervous, did not look me in the eye, and was almost defensive. That said, we are all human and can all have our bad days. I know i am not always the same person at work everyday, especially when i'm in pain. I was so hopeful and excited to finally see him and was in complete shock and disappointment with how my appointment went. Good luck to all my endo sisters in finding healing. Keep your head up and never lose hope. Keep fighting to get your life back! <3
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Disappointed
I just wanted to inform everyone before you even call his office they informed me that Dr. Seckin is out of network for everyone. For you to even book your first appointment its $625 or you have to meet your out of network deductible. Very disappointing. I have his book and read it and could not wait to make an appointment but honestly who can afford that?? I will find another excision specialist who takes insurance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After 5 years of pain he was able to give me a lot of relief and spent a huge amount of time explaining things and what the options were and what the likely results would be. I had to travel and have a weeks stay in NY to use him. It was worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2015
Dr. Seckin is the best!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Seckin truly LOVES what he does and cares about his patients from the bottom of his heart. My life has already changed in 3 weeks and I couldn’t be more grateful. Should I ever need another operation for endometriosis, Dr. Seckin will be the one to do it. I recommend him to anyone I encounter with similar problems to the ones I had. Dr. Seckin is obsessed with destroying endometriosis and improving the quality of life for the women who have it. He's frequently traveling the world educating doctors on identifying and properly treating endometriosis. He's the top person on the planet in his field. From Dr. Seckin, to his office team and his surgical team, everyone has been absolutely AMAZING. Dr. Seckin gave me my life back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
truly a rare gem
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is awesome and truly cares and helps one understand what is going on in the body of a person who has severe endometriosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 9th, 2015
Is this a Joke
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was the last review written by Dr Seckin himself to promote himself. Read the review it sounds like exactly what Dr Seckin tells you when you go for an appointment. He tries to sell himself on how great he is. Seriously this is a joke and so is his office. Horrible
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 8th, 2013
All he cares about is money
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The 1st visit was $625 which for working class people is a lot, but I would pay anything to be helped with this pain. I was told that visits for the rest of the year would be included, but little did I know he was charging the insurance company $500 every time. The 2nd visit had no exam. We just sat in his office and chatted, not even about my condition - not even anything medical. We both wondered why I even bothered going there a second time. The office tells you that they will call you back when they don't, they tell you that they have received test results when they don't. Having the condition that the doctor specializes in is enough, then to have to deal with the doctor and this disorganized office makes it all the worse. Do yourself a favor and see one of the other excision specialists. I did see another out of state doctor who I had surgery and a wonderful experience with. I feel that when we disclosed that money is an issue, his office stopped returning my calls. He wants payment up front even if you have insurance which we were never told the exact amount, but guessing it to be in the 20-30k range.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2013
Dr. Seckin truly saved my life.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Seckin truly saved my life. After the birth of my second son I became very ill and doctors couldn't figure out why. I was suffering from bladder problems, menstrual problems as well as major fatigue/weakness among other debilitating symptoms. After almost three years of being essentially not functional, Dr. Seckin helped me find a needle in a haystack. He discovered I had a defect on my uterus as a result of my second c-section and performed complex gynecological surgery to fix it. He and his team of amazing doctors also took out my appendix and fixed a hernia and a diastasis recti. He and his staff also answered all my questions and reassured me after the surgery that everything was going to be ok. The surgery was a very important step in my recovery. My quality of life has greatly improved since my surgery. I would highly recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 25th, 2010
best choice
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After seeing so many infertility doctors and spending 40 thousand from my pocket , I was never told I had endometriosis. I was told my agonizing pain has nothing to do with infertility.I had my surgery with him almost a year ago my pain has significantly disappeared, and I am pregnant without any fertility medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2010
Fibroids and Endometriosis
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Seckin was the sixth doctor I saw for a long history of endometriosis and multiple fibroids. The first five doctors various treatment plans included: unclear diagnoses, Lupron- it will take care of the endometriosis, repeated ultrasounds, MRIs, multiple fertility tests/procedures, waiting until the pain becomes intolerable, exploratory surgery, laparatomy with a 7-8 incision only for the endometriosis and leaving all the fibroids, no response to my request to have help finding or scheduling with a specialist, no option for laproscopic surgery because of scarring, option of a large vertical incision and total hysterectomy. I was able to see Dr. Seckin within 4 weeks of my initial phone inquiry. He reviewed all of my records to date, did his own ultrasound and presented the option of laproscopic surgery. The treatment plan was to remove the very large fibroid and the one stuck to the bladder. He also planned to remove the endometriosis, freeing the stuck ovary. My procedure included a 4-5 incision as well. My first surgery for these issues did not even address the fibroids and included the 7-8 incision. This was my first with Dr. Seckin. All went according to plan. He did a lot more than what was done in the first surgery and the recovery from his work was so much easier. I would recommend Dr. Seckin for any gynecological issues. I am so grateful for Dr. Seckins knowledge, skill, TRUE expertise, patience, caring, empathic and compassionate nature and for still having my uterus and ovaries. He also spent time talking with my husband and continually asking how he was doing along the way. He said that we might still be able to have children naturally. Just the hope is a gift. Dr. Seckins office staff has been polite, efficient, empathic and respectful. It is a pleasure to have an office visit there!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2010
Crazy
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this office only cares about money. They ask you what you do for a living and dr. seckin doesnt explain anything to me he talks to his nurse like she is the patient... I felt like this was a huge waste of time and i realized a huge mistake. Never again.... Never again
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 6th, 2009
highly recommend this Dr
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HAd great experience with this Dr. and his staff. He is intelligent, listens quielty, knows what he is doing and has great bedside manners and is experienced and talented surgeon. His staff is awesome. Lenox hill is his hospital The hospital experience was awesome. never been been treated so compassionately and competantly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Tamer Seckin, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Chung Liu

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Kathryn George

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Eleonora Markesic

4.1 of 5