Dr. Taniya De Silva MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism New Orleans, LA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 10 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.2)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    20%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 18.8 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

3.0 of 5
October 20th, 2016
Doesn't return important patient phone call
I have been ill for 4weeks and she has not returned any of my calls. My Diabetes have been very high. I 'm on an insulin pump and er drs. Said to check with her for adjusting the pump to correct these highs. I have yet to here from her. I had a serious kidney infection which hospitalized me. I have only heard from her medical assistant whom can't do anything for me but tell her to call me. She has not called me yet. This is a failure to me. Someone else Should be b on call to help patients whom have been very sick and with high glucose level s for weeks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 8th, 2013
So Caring
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. De Silva helped me while I was pregnant with gestational diabetes. She sat down and reviewed my lab work with me and explained what everything meant. She also sent me multiple articles about gestational diabetes and gave me an informational book on nutrition to help with my fluctuating glucose levels. When I had to be placed on medication she quickly researched the medication I was placed on to make sure it was the correct fit for me and my unborn child. Dr. De Silva also checked on me and my glucose levels rather frequently. I have and will continue to refer patients to her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 8th, 2013
Fabulous, very caring
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Taniya DeSilva has been an extremely caring and considerate physician. She has followed up with all results, and tests making necessary visits flow smoothly. She has always treated me courteously and spent as much time as needed with both me and my husband. When asked for referrals for surgery, she has accurately chosen wisely. I would recommend her highly - and have!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 20th, 2013
Look Elsewhere
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. DeSilva for Type 1 Diabetes. She will not respond to phone messages, or refill requests. If this had been a one time thing, it could have been overlooked. Unfortunately, anytime that I have needed insulin, or anything else, I have had to drop everything I am doing to go down to her office to beg for insulin. 3 days without prescription insulin is dangerous. This is unacceptable. She will not even give adequate supplies of test strips. Who in the world could abuse diabetic test strips? It is an atrocity that this woman is allowed to "care" for diabetic patients, because all of her actions(or lack thereof ) show that she does not care-not even a little bit. She also told me that I had diabetic nerve damage to my hands that was irreparable without even looking at my hands. Another doctor diagnosed it as Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (totally curable) That was the last straw. I had to find another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 31st, 2013
RN BSN MSN
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Taniya Desilva is a true asset to her profession. I had a high level of anxiety when I entered her office but her excellent bedside manner, detailed explanation of the steps she would render in regard to my mildly abnormal serum Calcium level down size my anxiety level from a 10 to a 1. It is a true privilege to be under the care of such a excellent physician who strives to render optimal patient care. I have been truly BLESSED to have found such a wonderful and caring physician who views the patient as a Person and Not a Subject!!!!!! Thank You Dr. Desilva for everything!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2017

5.0 of 5
December 10th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 10th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 2nd, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Taniya De Silva, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New Orleans, LA.