The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Tessa Cigler Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tessa Cigler?

Lung Cancer

Lung Cancer

Get the facts about lung cancer, including how many people get it and what increases your risk for developing it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tessa Cigler?

Ratings and Reviews

36 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    15
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    15

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
35.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 36 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 25th, 2016

Terrible doctor. Incompetent. Run.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

April 10th, 2015

Addendum to January 25, 2015

I sought a second opinion with a medical oncologist at different Medical Oncology Association in NYC. First three sentences: "Great pathology. Great OncotypeDX results. Chemotherapy is not a necessary treatment." Cancer causes us to feel vulnerable. How many women have been told they need chemotherapy and are receiving treatment unnecessarily because they did not seek a second opinion?

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 25th, 2015

FIND A NEW ONCOLOGIST!!!!!

She is horrible. Instead of checking her appointment schedule, she called me on a Friday afternoon after 5:00 pm, spent approximately 2.5 minutes on the phone with me telling me how complicated my case is and highly recommends chemotherapy. What doctor does this? WE ARE HUMAN BEINGS NOT MEDICAL CASES. She displayed absolutely no empathy, neither during my initial appointment nor on the phone. She was perplexed, when I questioned her motives to call at such a late hour before the weekend and could not understand that such news should have been presented to me in her office.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 26th, 2014

She is textbook. No differential for age. She tells you to google!!!!Find another doctor.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

January 8th, 2012

I am an older patient and I like her but I think she works best with younger patients. She will answer your questions but never elaborates or gives details - you have to ask. Its hard to get a clear answer. I think she tries to make your prognosis seem better than it really is and sometime you just want her honest opinion based on her education and experience (and gut feeling).

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 7th, 2011

I overheard talking bad about one of her patients. she had no professional manners of a caring physician

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2011

Excellent Doctor

Over the course of my cancer treatment, I met with numerous doctors at Weil, Sloan Kettering, and Beth Israel. Dr. Cigler was far and away the most competent, intelligent, caring, and knowledgable doctor I encountered. She's is very direct but gentle, is never dismissive of my concerns, and actually picks up the telephone! I was shocked to see the low rating for her bedside manner. In my opinion, it is very misleading, and I would hate for someone to decide against meeting with her based on a lone review.She is also part of an excellent group of doctors, including Ann Moore (who unfortunately doesn't many insurances, or maybe any at all). They have a world class team there. I would also highly recommend her to younger women with breast cancer, as she is on the younger side herself and seems to be attuned to our particular needs.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 25th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2017

1.0 Rating

July 25th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Tessa Cigler is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Zoran Lasic

    Dr. Zoran Lasic

    Cardiology, Interventional Cardiology, Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (6)
    27
  • Dr. Thomas King

    Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    29
  • Dr. Meredith Turetz

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine, Critical Care Medicine

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    16