Dr. Thelma Asare MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Towson, MD

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.1)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    55%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 26.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very happy with dr asare and GBMC. Would recommend them to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
July 17th, 2015
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr Asare, I have seen her for years. Today, after yet again waiting 45 minutes with no end in sight, I left with the paperwork to transfer to another practice. Why can't they see people on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2015
Ms.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Asare is kind and funny. She and her staff are easy to deal with. They are usually prompt and Dr. Asare spends time in her office reassuring you about any concerns. She asks how my daughter is (also a patient) and leaves messages on my phone several days after a test has been completed. I would highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 26th, 2013
Avoid this Dr
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have dealt with Dr. Asare twice over the phone since she was the on call doc. Both times I was completely at a loss by her rude nature. Just recently I left a message at 8:30am in need of medication for a UTI. She did not call me until 5:00pm and tried to convince me that my symptoms were not UTI related but may be from something else. She could not tell me what else I might be suffering from nor could she tell me what tests I needed to have done. As I tried to ask more questions she stopped me and said to make a decision about calling in a RX because she had other people to get to. Also, she would not be able to call my RX in today because she was busy and she might get to it the next day! She is unbelievable! I see other Dr in this practice and they are great. She is not a good fit at all, I wish they would get rid of her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2013
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely terrible doctor who has forgotten what ethics, bed side manners and compassion is. Avoid her please and others in this group are better. Sincere reviewer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 30th, 2011
Good doctor, horrible office
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Good: Dr. Asare is really nice and she has a great bed side manner. She returned my phone calls when i had issues. The Bad:- In addition to your copay, they charge an additional $10 administrative fee. No other doctor does this. You can't claim it on your health savings account, and i'm not sure that it's legal. - I got a postcard saying I was due for my annual, I called to make an appointment and was told she was booked for the next 6 months! So I had to see someone else. - You have to wait FOREVER when you get there and then wait some more once you're naked. Plan on being there for several hours. - The billing staff is terrible and billed my insurance wrong (and then I got a $90 bill) and it took a year to get that cleared up.- When I changed jobs I had to wait 3 months for insurance and they wouldn't reneew my birth control pills without coming in and paying them $110. - When trying to get Gardasil they wouldn't let me pay for it and get reimbursed by my insurance as I requested since they screw up the billing so much. They said no they wouldn't do it. It took since months to get the first shot because they billed someone elses insurance (surprise). I went in for the second shot, only they had forgotten to order it. I never got the third shot because then I was over the age limit and my insurance wouldn't cover it. I later on ended up getting HPV (thanks doc) and had to have surgery.

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2011
GRRRRRREAT!!
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Asare was straight to the point, very empathetic and took her time during the visit to consult with me before rendering care. She has a great professional appearance, speaks very well and is an expert in her field. I highly recommend her. I did have to wait two months for my new patient appt, and she never called me with the results of my lab work; I actually had to go up to the office to get them. But everything was fine, which may have ben why I didn't get the call. Overall, she is wonderful...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 6th, 2011
Unsatisfactory
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Thelma Asare needs major improvement in the area of treatment/patient follow up. It is very frustrating waiting for over a week without any feedback from your doctor on the status of your lab work (as was the case with me).This doctor also appeared somewhat distant and lacked compassion. Phone calls were not returned back in reasonable time either. It was as if she would rather not be bothered.The area of fertility is usually a sensitive issue for those having problems. A little compassion in the tone of a doctor's voice goes a long way. Besides the service is not free. If I'm paying, then I deserve as much attention and care as possible. Just my 2 cents.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 7th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although she was pleasant enough at the exam, Dr. Asara showed no follow through on important issues even after I called on two separate occassions and requested that she call me. Luckily my husband is a physician and I was able to get the mammogram results through him and follow up with another dr. when the results of the first one were not favorable. To make things worse, she still didn't call back when I got the second mammogram results back and they confirmed the not favorable results of the first one. She didn't even return the call when I called and asked her to call back. Needless to say, I am not going back. On an annoyance note... her office charges $10-$15 a year (I can't remember the specifics) for routine office paperwork. You have to pay directly and the charge is levied whether or not you need them to do something special. Really this is nonesense. That is what her fee should include.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 8th, 2010
Dr. Asare is a wonderful doctor.
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Asare is a wonderful doctor. She is caring, knowledgeable, and easy to talk with. She has a strong reputation among her colleagues as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2010
One of the best female OBGYN doctors
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'VE HAD ABOUT 5 DIFFERENT OBGYN DOCTORS IN MY PAST, WHEN I FOUND DR. ASARE, IT'S LIKE WINNING A "JACK POT".SHE IS THE BEST.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thelma Asare, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Towson, MD.