The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Theodore Caliendo Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Theodore Caliendo?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Theodore Caliendo?

Ratings and Reviews

37 Ratings with 27 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    25
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    25

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 37 Ratings with 27 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2017

Go somewhere else.

Impatient, rude and condescending. Doesn't think he needs to answer questions from parents. Waited 25 minutes for him and no one else was even in the office that day.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 16th, 2015

They insisted on giving my child 7 vaccines in one sitting and fluoride. Why fluoride? He's not a dentist. He argued with me about getting referrals that we needed in order to get services through early intervention. He didn't really agree that we should go and reluctantly gave me one of the 3 we needed. We won't be returning. I've done this before with my oldest and never had issues with our awesome doctor in Arizona. I Was so upset when we left that both my son and I were in tears. Horrible treatment! Beware that they don't validate parking and they made us stay there as new patients from 8:30 am to 11 am. We had to almost pay the full day rate. Never again!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 11th, 2013

Fighting to get the best

Wow, I am shocked at all the reviews about Dr. Caliendo. I had a regular first time wellness check up for my almost 4 year old daughter. This is my first time using Medi-cal, always paid out of pocket for any medical services. My daughter has never been vaccinated and lived healthy 4 years of her life and when I came to Dr. Caliendo's office the nurse told me that she needs to have 8 vaccines! I said what?! 8 all at once today? She said yes. I was ready to give just the 4 that are needed for age 4-6 and maybe try to space them out but no once the doctor came in he asked me a couple of questions about her health and I expressed my concerns about her cough that she has been having for a while, but he was quick to respond and just say that everything seemed ok. However, when it came to vaccines the nurse came in and said ok let's do the 8 vaccines and I said no I don't want to do 8 today. She called Dr. Caliendo and he was RUDE, MEAN, OBNOXIOUS and shouting at me! He told me that I am on "this program" the Government Program that if I didn't do all the vaccines HE WOULD NOT PAID! Oh really you are so poor that if one parents says "NO" you won't have food to eat! What an A** H***! I couldn't believe it. I asked him how much does one vaccine cost? I was ready to pay out of pocket, since that's what I've been doing with any other doctor. But he proceeded to tell me that I had "NO CHOICE!" I needed to have them done today, that she is behind. Well other doctors told me that she doesn't need to catch-up, but he kept on PUSHING! I asked to space them out and he said "NO" you can't do that. I was crying my face out in the office, feeling helpless and verbally abused! I can't believe this doctor. I'm going to call every pediatrician office in South Orange County and tell the office ladies NOT TO recommend this Pediatrician. My daughter ended up have 8 vaccines in one day. Not sure if it's even legal to do that. I will be contacting the Medical Board. Please save your child and yourself some tears! Do your research! I can't believe what we as parents have to go through to get any medical attention and how am I suppose to trust another DR.? Please don't go to Dr. Caliendo!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2013

Bad, Rude, and Rude!

RUde Doctor. Not Caring at all, bed side manner is horrible. Pls. dont bring your child here. TAnia is caring as well as the other nurses working in this office though.. half O star for me

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 8th, 2013

worst "doctor" ever has no idea what hes doing!

everything is "normal" to him. take the baby to the e.r. and oh its this. but the dr said it was normal.well he made a mistake. no kidding he did. never take the baby back was the advice given.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 25th, 2012

NEEDS TO RETIRE

DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!! dO NOT TAKE YOUR CHILDREN THERE IF THEY HAVE AUTISM,,HE IS REAL RUDE,AND THE BEHAVIOR OF MY SON SEEMED LIKE IT WAS REALLY GETING TO HIM..VACCINES,QUESTION A VACCINE AND U WILL SEE HIS DEMEANOR CHANGE,HE WILL GIVE YOUR CHILD ALL 6 VACCINES AT ONCE IF U AGREE.I recently changed drs to dr mj,he is in same building,he is the most caring dr,he recently just retired but his assistant is also a real good choice...

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2012

The staff is really bad we had to wait for a very long time and they all suck the Dr.caliendo is not a good Dr.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

August 20th, 2012

Why are you in Healthcare anymore?

At first I was sooo happy dr. caliando replaced dr. Haxton and his disgusting wife..."we don't give freebees"..you know what I am talking about Mrs. Haxton! However, after the first few visits I started noticing slight changes his health, his attitude, he is so tired, so drawn out...dude...take a break and stop taking it out on us the public, yes we are a pain in the butt...so what...thats what you get paid to deal with....do you need to retire?Why did you take this offic over if you dont like it anymore, you accept the lowest forms of insurance, and with that you are going to get the white trash of the OC...deal with it...or sell out.Too bad I still have that same insurance, however, I can get out of Dr. Caliando what i need...coz I can talk the talk....but watch out Dr. C... if you do somethin that is not right..shame on you

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2012

Would better serve the community as a patholgist

-He became angry when my husband asked him questions regarding vaccines, refused to answer specifics, and told us we could leave if we weren't ok with that.-He insisted that we needed to have 6 vaccinations at once because we were welfare recipients and, being such, we probably wouldn't come back if he saw fit to stagger them as we requested.-We spoke with other doctors who reviewed the records and they stated he gave our child a double dose of a vaccine which was unnecessary.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 21st, 2012

DONT

Waiting over a hour for the doctor is not acceptable with a 1 year old, specially when he wasnt even at the office yet

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

April 27th, 2012

Early Appts

I think that Dr Caliendo was very good w/my 5yr old son, but if you make an early appt for 8-8:30 your wait time might be longer because Dr works @ Hospital aswell. I had to wait 50 minutes for a follow up visit that took 3 minutes.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 13th, 2012

Very rude Dr,I do not recommend at all.He threatens u that your insurance will be cancelled if u don't receive shots from

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Theodore Caliendo is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mission Viejo, CA.

  • Dr. Paulina Avendano

    Dr. Paulina Avendano

    Pediatrics

    Mission Viejo, CA 0 mi

    4.1
    (4)
    25
  • Dr. Gordon McLorie

    Urology, Pediatrics

    Mission Viejo, CA 0 mi

    3.9
    (7)
    44
  • Dr. Beverly Hendrickson

    Pediatrics

    Mission Viejo, CA 0 mi

    3.7
    (3)
    36