Dr. Thomas Atkinson MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

2.6 (-1.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    24%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 26.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 20th, 2016
Big Pharma Schill
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This physician has no integrity and is out for the money. Would love to know what hidden perks he gets from Big Pharma.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2016
My Experience
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have be a patient of Dr. T for many years. He always take the time to get to the root cause of any medical issue so that he's treating the cause not just the symptoms. Everyone in the office are thoughtful people. Penny is outstanding. I am always treated with the utmost respect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Atkinson is too worried about Kratom taking away his business.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was my doctor for about 15 yrsyrs before I moved & I have to say, I have not yet found a replacement!! I'm still trying, but wish he weren't 300+miles away! If you need a great doc, & he agrees to accept you, don't hesitate -- jump @ the chance to become his patient!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2013
Continue to look for alternative options
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It's sad when the area has so few options when faced with making an appointment like this. I will tell you that if you can continue to look for alternative options vs making an appt with Thomas Atkinson you will be much better off. A recovering addict with a lot of underlying issues still at heart. Steer clear unless you want to be in the same situation 16 years down the road. Without all the details trust me there are better options. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2012
The Total Package!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never write reviews or comment on things I read online however after stumbling across a recent review of Dr. Atkinson, I am compelled to react.Dr. Atkinson, his nurse Penny and the entire current staff have always treated me with compassion and understanding. Dr. Atkinson also holds me to a high standard of accountability in treating my condition. There in lies Total Package!Yes, Dr. Atkinson is an admitted addict, however I find that extremely beneficial when he is indeed an Addiction Specialist as well as an Internist. Who better to treat an addict than an addict with medical training!Dr. Atkinson and his team are an important asset to anyone wanting to ensure their health is given the time and attention it deserves!Signed - One Grateful Patient
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 21st, 2012
Excellent, Wonderful and Caring Doctor and Staff
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I never write reviews or comment on things I read online however after stumbling across a recent review of Dr. Atkinson, I am compelled to react.Dr. Atkinson, his nurse Penny and the entire current staff have always treated me with compassion and understanding. As well as hold me to a high standard of accountability in treating my condition.Yes, Dr. Atkinson is an admitted addict, however I find that extremely beneficial when he is indeed, an Addiction Specialist as well as an Internist.Dr. Atkinson and his team are an important asset to anyone wanting to ensure their health is given the time and attention it deserves!Signed - One Grateful Patient!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2012
Best Experience with a doctor in my 60+ years
Wait time
5 minutes
I would gladly[and have] recommend Dr. Atkinson and his staff to friends and relatives.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2012
Lacks integrity!!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is going to be short and to the point, so you don't spend an hour reading and I don't spend 2 hours typing.. My experience with Dr Atkinson was not a pleasant one.His actions put one of his patients in a horrific situation, and did so knowingly, and without remorse. If I were a new, old, or soon to be patient I would advise you to look and ask about any and all instances with the Ark State Medical Board. I will even go so far to say that I have witnessed him bold face lying to the authorities without blinking. I'm sure my experience with Dr Thomas Atkinson is an unusual one. But would be very surprised to learn that his dishonesty, and just overall lack of integrity was just an isolated incident. His assistant Penny, who is also his wife, she's what I would easily and without hesitation call a bad person! Her sense of entitlement like nothing I've ever seen! I have the up most sympathy for anyone like that. She's what most people would call, (something that I couldn't describe openly on a website such as this one)! My opinion of Dr Thomas Atkinson and that of his wife (Penny) is one of disgust!! I would never think of referring anyone to him or his clinic. He has openly said that he is a recovering drug addict!! I have nothing against recovering addicts or alcoholics! I praise people that go through so much, and learn how to turn their life around! It's just something I think people should know, seeing that he still practices medicine. Hope this helps people make a good and informed decision.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 25th, 2009
One of the best doctors in the area
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am alive today because of him. He is a great doctor, and he never gave up on me, when other doctors did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2009
Best Doctor on the Planet (so far)
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best diagnostician I have seen anywhere, any time. Additionally, Dr. Atkinson is open-minded about treatment, and he keeps up on research in Internal Medicine, goes to the Harvard U. Internal Medicine seminar regularly. He is open to and sometimes prescribes complementary therapies, while still using the available tools in traditional, allopathic medicine. A perfect combination. The wait time in his office can be long, because he often treats patients who have multiple problems or who have not found help with other doctors. So bring a book or bills to pay or a crossword puzzle. The wait is absolutely worth it!! You will have his full attention, as long as you need it, the same as he gave the patient before you. If you call ahead, an hour or so before your appointment, the staff will tell you whether things are running on time or not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Atkinson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fayetteville, AR.

Doctor

Dr. Fran Pearson

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Martha Morrison

39 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Amanda Riddle

be the first to rate this Doctor