Dr. Thomas Barber MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Oakland, CA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.5)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 35 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2017
Great Surgeon from my perspective.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
2 total hip replacements done by Dr. Barber at Kaiser in Oakland. It's been 3 years and I have had no pain and play tennis and ski as I did before the operations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 25th, 2015
patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
superstar
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2015
Terrible Experience
Dr. Barber did my knee replacement surgery years ago. It never healed properly and has been painful ever since. Then I ran into a woman whose surgery was so bad that she sued Kaiser and won a settlement! I have heard his surgeries have been curtailed considerably. Good. I would not let this guy near me again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgery in a brand new hospital with a wonderful staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 29th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to have a revision shortly after my Birmingham Hip Resurfacing. It was never right and ended up gouging my femoral neck and poisoning my blood. The decision to use this device was made rather abruptly and without much consideration by Dr. Barber; he had never met me before and decided within 20 minutes that this was my best option. When I contacted him about the need for revision confirmed by other doctors (3 years later), he was less than interested.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 19th, 2009
Total Knee Replacement
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had 2 knee replacements. The right knee was done by Dr. Barber years ago. I have had constant pain since this surgery and he is not at all sympathetic, although his nurse is very kind. He is arrogant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2008
Hip Replacement Surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Barber is probably one of the best hip replacement surgeons in Northern California. Highly qualified, very easy to talk to, and extremely well informed. I had both hips done in the last three years, and just started skiing again. I'm in my 60's. He gave me my life back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 9th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Barber, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Oakland, CA.