The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Barber Is this you?
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
35 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Barber?


12 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

January 29th, 2017

Great Surgeon from my perspective.

2 total hip replacements done by Dr. Barber at Kaiser in Oakland. It's been 3 years and I have had no pain and play tennis and ski as I did before the operations.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 25th, 2015

patient

superstar

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 6th, 2015

Terrible Experience

Dr. Barber did my knee replacement surgery years ago. It never healed properly and has been painful ever since. Then I ran into a woman whose surgery was so bad that she sued Kaiser and won a settlement! I have heard his surgeries have been curtailed considerably. Good. I would not let this guy near me again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

March 12th, 2015

Excellent surgery in a brand new hospital with a wonderful staff

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 29th, 2012

I had to have a revision shortly after my Birmingham Hip Resurfacing. It was never right and ended up gouging my femoral neck and poisoning my blood. The decision to use this device was made rather abruptly and without much consideration by Dr. Barber; he had never met me before and decided within 20 minutes that this was my best option. When I contacted him about the need for revision confirmed by other doctors (3 years later), he was less than interested.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 19th, 2009

Total Knee Replacement

I have had 2 knee replacements. The right knee was done by Dr. Barber years ago. I have had constant pain since this surgery and he is not at all sympathetic, although his nurse is very kind. He is arrogant.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 27th, 2008

Hip Replacement Surgery

Dr. Barber is probably one of the best hip replacement surgeons in Northern California. Highly qualified, very easy to talk to, and extremely well informed. I had both hips done in the last three years, and just started skiing again. I'm in my 60's. He gave me my life back!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

April 10th, 2015

1.0 Rating

February 5th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Barber is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oakland, CA.

  • Dr Laura Timmerman

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Walnut Creek, CA

    4.9
    (68)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Dr. Philip Wirganowicz

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Oakland, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    26
  • Dr. Kenneth Trauner

    Dr. Kenneth Trauner

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Oakland, CA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (11)
    27