Dr. Thomas Carlson MD Patient Reviews

  • Interventional Cardiology Austin, TX

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (-0.2)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    89%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    4%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 9.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 21st, 2017
Almost Had a Heart Attack
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was moved to this doctor when my long-time cardiologist retired. I went to him for a couple of years. At some point I began having dizziness, shortness of breath, and extreme exhaustion. I went to him several times and he did an EKG, halter monitor, etc. and said there was nothing wrong. I went back a 3rd time and told him I was not hardly able to walk up to his building without passing out. He acted like he did not believe me and then he got a phone call on his cell phone in the middle of my appointment. He cut me off and went and took the call. He came back in and was going to end our appointment without addressing my issue. He became short with me and I started to tear up because I was barely even able to breath and he had no empathy or idea what was wrong. I was dismissed yet again. My symptoms continued until I ended up in the ER and they found that I had severe anemia (hemoglobin level of 4) and had to have blood transfusions and other IV's. I was kept in the hospital for 2 days and my hemoglobin levels got up to 8 so I was allowed to go home. The ER doctors were shocked that my cardiologist did not do any blood work and they put me on iron and sent me to determine the cause of my anemia. I am still being monitored regularly for this but am doing much better. Needless to say, I changed cardiologists. I would not go back to Dr. Carlson and would advise others to steer clear as well. The ER doctor said I was lucky I did not have a heart attack.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 27th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson has been everything I could want in a doctor. He is very friendly and professional and truly seems to care about my wellbeing. He takes the time to explain all options and answer any questions I might have.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 3rd, 2017
Simply the best
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Many times he has visited me at early dawn in ECU
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2016
Excellent Cardiologist
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I have both seen Dr. Carlson recently. He took time to answer my many questions. I like the he is confident and direct. Thank you Dr. Carlson for your care!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 7th, 2016
Caring and wonderful doctor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor Carlson has always showed great compassion for me as a patient. He is knowledgeable and always provides thorough explanations. I would highly recommend this wonderful cardiologist!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2016
Annual Office Visit
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Office Assistants made it easy to schedule my appointment. My checkin was prompt and without difficulty. The medical staff was prompt and efficient. My visit with Dr. Carlson was short in time but covered all of my issues and/or concerns. I would strongly recommend Dr. Carlson to a family member, friend or anyone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel fortunate to have had Dr. Carlson my Cardiologist for 6 years since I suffered a cardiac arrest at home. He is engaging, he is concerned about the issues that are important in my lifestyle as well as those that impact my narrow physical well being. Discharge from two extended hospitalizations, I was (and continue to be) anxious to return to what as a 70+ year-old is a very aggressive cycling regimen. While other physicians encouraged me to act my age and back off, Dr. Carlson has encouraged me and given me direction. Additionally, I have absolute confidence in his clinical advice and direction after experiencing were not unanimous among those caring for me.

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2016
A LIFE SAVER
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Carlson is not only a competent and knowledgeable cardiologist , but is also a very caring man. He has been my doctor for nine years since saving me from a near fatal cardiac arrest. When a lung cancer was discovered while I was recovering, Dr.Carlson assisted me in arranging a quick surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
DR CARLSON IS THE BEST!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
MY WIFE AND I BOTH HAVE DR THOMAS CARLSON FOR OUR CARDIOLOGIST AND ARE MORE THAN PLEASED WITH HIS SERVICES, HIS STAFFING AND KNOWLEDGE, EXPERTISE AS WELL!! HE IS THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great support throughout my illness. Always listens carefully to any of my concerns. I am very appreciative of all the help he has given me to aid my recovery. He really does go the extra mile.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I trust Dr. Carlson !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I can't say enough good things about Dr. Carlson. He is obviously knowledgeable and professional which we would expect. But what is different is that he genuinely enjoys spending time with his patients. He takes the time to answer any and all questions without making you feel like you are taking up too much of his time, though we know he is an extremely busy man in a changing medical environment. He offers his assistance with any follow up questions or concerns after we leave his office. His staff is also professional and responsive. We feel very fortunate to have him as our doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Carlson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Austin, TX.