ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Ryan Is this you?
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
30.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Ryan?


13 Ratings with 7 Comments

4.0 Rating

May 27th, 2016

Like all doctor's appointments, the early bird gets in on time! A 9 AM appointment will get you in and out. Ryan spends the appropriate amount of time and listens to symptoms. I think he is a fine doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 7th, 2013

THANKS TOM

DR RYAN IS THE BEST AROUND. I STARTED SEEING DR RYAN SINCE 1986 HE HAS TAKEN CARE OF MY NEEDS. IN 1986 HE REPLACED MY KNEE.AND IT DOING FINE THANK YOU DR RYAN

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 4th, 2013

Net Loss!

Dr. Ryan performed arthoscopic surgery on my husband's knee supposedly to remove bone chips to prevent or forestall a full knee replacement. Well, his staff never bothered to request confirmation of coverage with our insurance company for the MRI that he ordered (as his office isrequired to do) and we ended up paying over $1,200 out of pocket for it. Then Dr. Ryan didn't remove all the bones fragments and he never mentioned or treated the underlying arthritis that my husband wasn't aware of until he had more pain after that surgery and started seeing other doctors about it. So the surgery did not accomplish anything and in fact made things worse and my husband is in desperate need of a knee replacement because of the pain. When my husband went back to discuss the continuing pain he was eventually rebuffed and without even doing any independent examination, Dr. Ryan's insurer has decided to stand behind him and won't pay to correct his errors.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 21st, 2010

Neither careful or caring.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2010

beyond awful

The worst doctor I have ever been to with the rudest staff (except for the nice male assistant with the poneytail).

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 13th, 2009

Completely misdiagnosed my shoulder pain. Performed surgery, which only exacerbated the situation. After getting a second opinion, I found out that Dr. Ryan was only treating the symptoms, not the actual problem. The procedures he did during surgery is what you would do for a 70 year old, not someone who is 26. While the office staff is friendly, for several appointments I had to wait over an hour past my appointment time. To end the appt, Dr. Ryan will start walking out of the room while talking to you, forcing the end of the appt. I won't ever go back to Dr. Ryan and would reccomend others to stay away.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 13th, 2008

Good at diagnosing and care, arrogant rude bedside manner at end of visit

Dr. Ryan did a very good job diagnosing, but was demeaning in bedside manner. It's a shame, because he seemed like an answer to a prayer, in that he ordered the correct diagnostic tests to diagnose a long standing problem that no one else had bothered to diagnose correctly. So in that regard, he was very good. Maybe the following is not so important in the big picture, because the quality of care seemed good, better than we had experienced. When I tried to talk to him after the diagnosis, he became arrogant and demeaning, honestly if the visit hadn't been important for health reasons, I would have walked out. It is a shame how many specialists have a need to belittle or humiliate patients who are feeling vulnerable and needy. This guy definitely was rude and power hungry at the end, which is unfortunate.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

January 6th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 1st, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2009

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Ryan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chevy Chase, MD.

  • Dr. Philip Bobrow

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Chevy Chase, MD 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (23)
    40
  • Dr. Gautam Siram

    Orthopedic Surgery, Orthopedics Reconstructive Surgery

    Chevy Chase, MD 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (12)
    10
  • Dr. Steve Bernstein Jr

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Chevy Chase, MD 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (12)
    22