Dr. Thomas Ryan MD Patient Reviews

  • Sports Medicine Chevy Chase, MD

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 13 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

13 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    38%
  • Great
    15%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    23%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 30.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
May 27th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Like all doctor's appointments, the early bird gets in on time! A 9 AM appointment will get you in and out. Ryan spends the appropriate amount of time and listens to symptoms. I think he is a fine doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2013
THANKS TOM
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR RYAN IS THE BEST AROUND. I STARTED SEEING DR RYAN SINCE 1986 HE HAS TAKEN CARE OF MY NEEDS. IN 1986 HE REPLACED MY KNEE.AND IT DOING FINE THANK YOU DR RYAN
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 4th, 2013
Net Loss!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ryan performed arthoscopic surgery on my husband's knee supposedly to remove bone chips to prevent or forestall a full knee replacement. Well, his staff never bothered to request confirmation of coverage with our insurance company for the MRI that he ordered (as his office isrequired to do) and we ended up paying over $1,200 out of pocket for it. Then Dr. Ryan didn't remove all the bones fragments and he never mentioned or treated the underlying arthritis that my husband wasn't aware of until he had more pain after that surgery and started seeing other doctors about it. So the surgery did not accomplish anything and in fact made things worse and my husband is in desperate need of a knee replacement because of the pain. When my husband went back to discuss the continuing pain he was eventually rebuffed and without even doing any independent examination, Dr. Ryan's insurer has decided to stand behind him and won't pay to correct his errors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 21st, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Neither careful or caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2010
beyond awful
Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The worst doctor I have ever been to with the rudest staff (except for the nice male assistant with the poneytail).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2009
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Completely misdiagnosed my shoulder pain. Performed surgery, which only exacerbated the situation. After getting a second opinion, I found out that Dr. Ryan was only treating the symptoms, not the actual problem. The procedures he did during surgery is what you would do for a 70 year old, not someone who is 26. While the office staff is friendly, for several appointments I had to wait over an hour past my appointment time. To end the appt, Dr. Ryan will start walking out of the room while talking to you, forcing the end of the appt. I won't ever go back to Dr. Ryan and would reccomend others to stay away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 13th, 2008
Good at diagnosing and care, arrogant rude bedside manner at end of visit
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Ryan did a very good job diagnosing, but was demeaning in bedside manner. It's a shame, because he seemed like an answer to a prayer, in that he ordered the correct diagnostic tests to diagnose a long standing problem that no one else had bothered to diagnose correctly. So in that regard, he was very good. Maybe the following is not so important in the big picture, because the quality of care seemed good, better than we had experienced. When I tried to talk to him after the diagnosis, he became arrogant and demeaning, honestly if the visit hadn't been important for health reasons, I would have walked out. It is a shame how many specialists have a need to belittle or humiliate patients who are feeling vulnerable and needy. This guy definitely was rude and power hungry at the end, which is unfortunate.

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 1st, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2009
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Ryan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chevy Chase, MD.