Dr. Thomas Sweeney MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.9 (-0.2)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    64%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    12%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 21.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2016
Worst Surgeon!!! Stay Away!!!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This guy practically has a scalpel knife in hands during consultation!! Be careful!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Sweeney for 2 years. We have done everything that can be done without surgery. I will be seeing him shortly for minimally invasive robotic surgery. My husband had the surgery done last year with good results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
great dr
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very good dr, I would say the best around , I didn't have surgery by him yet, but if I do, I will go with him, I like how he cares and gets to the bottom of the problem!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2014
professional failed spinal surgery patient 12 years 17 surgeries
I saw Dr Sweeney about 5 months ago. I felt so confident with him I signed up for him to reconstruct my T10-S1. As far as his staff, I understand busy but these girls have absolutely NO COMMUNICATIONS BETWEEN THEM. THEY LOSE VERY VALUABLE INFO, TESTS ETC. THEY LIE ABOUT TALKING WITH HIM AND WHAT THE STATUS IS OF YOUR CASE. IT TOOK THEM ANOTHER 4 MONTHS AND 3 DR APPTS TO GET IT STRAIGHT FOR MY SURGERY THIS THURSDAY. THE INCOMPETENCE OF HIS STAFF IS SCARY. WHO IN THE WORLD CALLS A PATIENT ON A FRIDAY@453PM AND SAYS DO YOU HAVE YOUR MRI? (WHEN MY APPT IS MONDAY AM AND I LIVE ON OTHER SIDE IF STATE) UM NO YOU DO , I TOLD YOU FROM DAY 1 I WANT HIM TO HEAL ME SO WHY WOULD I HAVE IT? YOU'VE HAD IT FROM DAY ONE, SO WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN TELLING ME HE HAS BEEN REVIEWING FOR 4 MONTHS ?WHEN YOU SEE A SPECIALIST LIKE SWEENEY YOU HAVE TO HAVE ALL CURRENT TESTS RIGHT? SO WHY WOULD I HAVE IT, Then I call to tell his nurse to put a hold on it for a possible heart problem, she proceeds to tell me about her history. A few weeks later she say she never talked to me about my heart. I said really then how do i know youve had heart issues and a stroke. Honey not my first rodeo. I could perform my own fusion if it were physically possible. Dr Sweeney couldn't believe what I knew. If I didnt have the faith in this man I would of run so fast. They even screwed my moms paperwork and lost her films. Complete incompetence in his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2013
Microdiscectomy Surgery Gone Bad
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sweeney performed an unsuccessful microdiscectormy surgery that had to be re-done by another surgeon. Word around town is that this happens often with Dr. Sweeneys' surgeries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2012
Tommy Thompson
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had Dr. Sweeney working on my back since 1998 (Operated on 1 disc) and again in 2010 for 5. Not only a great surgeon, it's great to walk again without fear of falling down, but actually cares about you. All of his staff are great people. To Dr.Sweeney, Donna, and the rest of the staff thank you for everything you have done for me and I tell anyone who asks who go to. Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful Doctor, I would highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sweeney was very caring and performed excellent surgery on my spine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2009
Excellent Care
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
My experience with Dr. Sweeney and his staff could not have been better. The surgery went perfectly. The office was helpful in putting together a payment plan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Sweeney, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.

Doctor

Dr. David Karp

39 years experience

3.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Tan Ly

12 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Caroline Chebli

18 years experience

4.2 of 5