Dr. Thomas Macgillivray MD Patient Reviews

  • Vascular Surgery Houston, TX

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 45 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.3)

45 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    62%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    2%
  • Bad
    11%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 18.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
February 6th, 2017
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Did double bypass AND gave cow valve also on my mom then in her mid 80's who few months previously underwent unexpected small intestine surgery. Mom was like 65yr old person after Dr Mcgillivray worked his talented surgery. Highly recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2017
Very accomplished and skilled surgeon
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience with Dr. Macgillivray was great. He is a very skilled surgeon who takes the time to deliver full explanations and answer all questions. His bedside manner is not like anything I've experienced before. He saw me everyday while in the hospital after my heart surgery. Dr. Macgillivray is very kind and passionate with his patients and devoted to his profession. Boston is missing the best cardiac surgeon since he took his new position in Texas. I will be forever grateful to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Phenomenal person, phenomenal physician. Best of the best. I am forever grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2012
Mike M
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Macgillivray is a very good surgen He did a valve replacement,aortic repair and a pluminary repair on Me . my hospital stay was sort( six days )I'm four weaks out and doing great . I feel good and raedy to go I'm just waiting for My ribs to heal .I recommend Dr Macgillivray to any one needing cardiac surgery . (very skilled man )
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
I would recommend Dr. MacGillivry without any reservations. He gave my 82 year old Dad a bypass and a cow valve and as a result a new lease on life. He is thorough, talented, caring and professional. Our family owes him a huge debt of gratitude for his dedication to his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 20th, 2010
He is wonderful
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
when all other doctors gave up he took me and fixed me up well enought to get me a transplant. he was an advocate and a friend in the darkest hours of my life. god bless him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2010
The Best
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. McGillivry is phenomenal. He is so caring and knowledgeable. We would have had a very different outcome if we had not sought a second opinion from this man. And MGH is the best place to be a patient. The care was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2010
A Surgical Wizard
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't recommend Dr. Macgillivray highly enough. He did my aortic valve and ascending aorta replacement, and I was hiking in the Tetons 32 days later with no pain. The man is a surgical wizard -- my outcome exceeded my wildest hopes. If you need lots of hand-holding out of your surgeon, you might not be wild about him. But if you need someone to step up to the plate and hit a home run for you, he's THE MAN.

4.0 of 5
June 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Macgillivray, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.