Dr. Thomas Mead MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.5
  • 66 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

4.2 (-0.3)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    82%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Wait Time 15.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2016
Forest/Mechanicsville office
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ive been a patient of dr mead's for going on 12 years now. He is absolutely the best in richmond. Compassionate is the perfect word to descibe him. I never knew there was a Compassionate doctors award, but it does not surprise me that he has earned it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful I highly recommend him anytime
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The only doctor that listened to me and helped me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing experience with him and his staff. He's always on time and shows genuine concern for the well being of you and your child.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 17th, 2015
Beware of Sneaky Billing Practices
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never experienced a doctor's office like this. I recently went in for my first visit which was my annual exam. The doctor asked me general history questions and if I had any issues I wanted to discuss. Since the doctor didn't have my medical records from my previous doctor yet I mentioned my history of fibroids with my last pregnancy. I had no complaint that day, I simply told her about my history. This talk didn't seem odd to me until I received my EOB from my insurance. Because I answered the doctor's questions, I was now being charged a specialist fee of $50 because they billed for a completely separate office visit in addition to the annual exam. I was with the doctor for 15 minutes at most. How in the world is this ethical?? What should have been a free routine visit under my insurance was now costing me $50. How can you see a new doctor and not answer questions about your health history? This is the most absurd and underhanded action I have ever seen taken by a doctor's office. What I thought was a good visit has now turned me completely off from Dominion women's Health. Do not go here unless you have a perfect health history or you're okay with random charges being thrown at you without your knowledge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 25th, 2014
Dr. Mead is the best...
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Mead for the past 6 years. I ended up going to another practice for a few short weeks at the beginning of my 4th pregnancy due to a high insurance cost that Dr. Mead's office wanted up front, but was fast to return to his office and pay due to his professionalism and caring manner. Never have I felt rushed during an appointment nor have I felt pushed to the side by him or his nurses! All my questions and concerns have been answered and the nurses return calls promptly!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2014
Excellent
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Mead has always been there for me. He is honest ,caring, and has always checked on my health. He is prompt to see you. His nurses are friendly and caring. The Rappahannock office would not be the same without him. The best doctor I've ever been to! Thank you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2013
Great Doctor
I understand the importance relating to our healthcare, I have been a patient of Dr. Mead for over 9 years; I highly recommend him. In each phase of my life he has been available (from being an older mom in pregnancy to a women growing older -smile) he is an awesome Doctor. I am sure you will find the same compassion and professionalism, I have received from Dr. Mead. Great Doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 15th, 2013
Not a great experience, even for an annual exam
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt forced to undergo an unnecessary pap smear by Dr. Mead (it had not been three years, goes against guidelines, etc.) and his nurse told me that the test was still necessary because "I didn't know who I had been sleeping with." She should've gone ahead and added the "sl*t" to the end rather than settle for the insinuation. I actually DO know who I've been sleeping with, thanks, and should not have to feel ashamed for being sexually active. Not appropriate, I'm switching OB Gyns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2012
Great doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recommend him. He was the only doctor who diagnosised endometrisos that I've been in pain with for 20 years. Other doctors told me it was all in my head. The surgery went really well. Dr. Mead is very caring, he listens and will answer your questions. I'm very glad I found him and will go to him if I need further surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2012
DR MEAD
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I HAD DR MEAD AS MY GYN DR IN WELLSVILLE NY. I WAS HIS FIRST PATIENT THAT HE DID A HYSTERECTOMY ON AND I WANT TO SAY THAT I WAS VERY IMPRESSED AND THAT HE DID AN AWESOME JOB. HE WAS THE BEST GYN DR I HAVE EVER HAD. I REALLY WISH HE WAS STILL HERE IN WELLSVILLE BUT IM GLAD TO SEE HE IS DOING SO WELL
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2012
RUN, PLEASE!!!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor told me I could continue taking a Class-D medication during my pregnancy that caused harm to my unborn child in only the 5 weeks he treated me! The nurse was very rude to not only me, but to my husband too. They are so unprofessional. They were talking about other paitents while they were looking at me. He did not do a complete exam on me either, missing something that was potentialy harmful to my unborn baby. The restroom in the back had urine on the floor. Dr. Mead only seems to 'care' about the mothers comfort, and has no reguard to the baby. He has lost 3 of his paitents that I know of because of his lack of bedside manner. RUN!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Mead, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Mechanicsville, VA.

Doctor

Dr. Zvonko Spasic

9 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Seema Faiyaz

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Raymonda Barbour

be the first to rate this Doctor