Dr. Thomas Montag MD Patient Reviews

  • Gynecologic Oncology Chesapeake, VA

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Wait Time 21.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
May 28th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We spent a great deal of time in the initial consultation, but he keep me waiting , with no other patients in the office. Afterward, seemed as if he could not be bother with questions the day of the surgery. Very rude to my family at the hospital. Followed up with one appointment after surgery and did not want to do any other visits with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2015
Dr. Thomas Montag
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Montag is a wonderful doctor! He is straightforward, friendly and very supportive. His not only my doctor but he has become a trusted friend. His prompt care saved my life and I will be indebted to him for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2014
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a major operation that lasted 7 hours and had 3 surgeons present. Dr. Montag was the lead surgeon for my surgery. I spent 17 days in the hospital of which 4 were spent in the ICU Unit. Dr. Montag was able to remove all of my tumor and visited me daily while I was in the hospital to ensure my progress was going well. Had it not been for the excellent surgical skills of Dr. Montag I may not have made it through my operation. He may be a little "gruff" around the edges, but I was always able to make him smile and he is by far one of the best doctors I have ever dealt with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2014
patient
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this is the worst doctor. he did not diagnose me correctly and I almost died. thankfully I found another doctor who told me that he is dangerous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 21st, 2013
Completely horrible
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Montag did a surgery on me, refused to give me a local anesthetic in my actual cervix, the last thing I heard was she'll be fine. When I woke up at the hospital he was already gone, and had said nothing to me at all, nor did he say anything to my waiting family. Also he left me in recovery and fully planned on leaving me with no pain medication, when he had literally just removed half if my cervix. When he was called by the hospital and informed that he had left no prescription his exact words were "I'm too far, I'm not coming back, find someone else to do it, and then hung up on the hospital staff. A week later here I am still having bleeding, and I am pretty sure I have an infection, also in a fair amount of pain. When I called dr. Montags office his nurse literally laughed at me. I am now heading to the hospital. Do not go to this doctor!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Montag for my cancer. He acted like he knew what he was talking about. Then I saw another doctor for another opinion. The other doctor told me that Dr. Montag was not qualified. This really scared me. I was taken care of by my other doctor and I have been cured. Thank God I stayed away from Dr. Montag. Please, find another opinion. Save yourself! Dr. Montag is a bad doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 19th, 2012
Great Doc
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Let me tell you this he is a great doctor and his office and staff are great also. If you are looking for a doctor that can give you the best care and feel welcomed when you walk in the door you want Dr. Montag
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 28th, 2011
shocked by others ratings
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Montag is very professional. did a great surgery on me, explained things well, office staff was great. I never found anything bad about my experience except for my health. If you are loking for a good doctor-choose Mr Montag. if you want a best friend, look elsewhere
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 27th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doc M has no personality. He was so dosconnected emotionally from me and seemed like he did not care at all about me. Yes, he might be smart, but he does not care about me as a person at all. I worry that he does not care enought to do as good of a job that a different doctor might do. There are better doctors in the area that do a better job!

5.0 of 5
June 20th, 2011
Genius
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
While he does sometimes come across as rude or mean, we didn't choose him for his personality, we chose him to get rid of the cancer. I'd rather have someone hateful working on my cure than someone sweet coddling me all the way to my deathbed. Do as he advises. Don't try to demand absolutes. We are kicking cancer's butt one day at a time thanks to him and God.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 30th, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the office was dirty , , the doctor was rude , he was nicer to the white lady
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 17th, 2010
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he was the worst and very rude
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Montag, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chesapeake, VA.