The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Palella Is this you?
  • 16
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Palella?


25 Ratings with 7 Comments

2.0 Rating

August 10th, 2016

Frustrated

Excellent Doctor. Spends time talking with you and and explaining treatment. Will sit and answer your questions. BUT, I have been there about 7 times and my average wait time is 55 minutes. Receptionist is nice and friendly and I am sure she takes a lot of abuse from the patients regarding the wait. Staff is out and out terrible. I am so frustrated because I like Dr. Palella, but it is getting to the point I may go elsewhere and hope to find some like him without all the wait and discourteous staff.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 21st, 2015

Wonderful Doctor

Caring, concerned and Highly competent

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 7th, 2014

Run

dr is great while you are at your appt.....don't expect the staff to be nice to you, respect you, even give you the courtesy of a friendly hello -Liz his nurse can be the exception at times - she will act --- do not expect to get a call back -expect to wait for prescriptions to be filled - to wait and wait and wait to get into the examine then wait and wait some more --- bring food and drink as I have seen many people so - expect a good diagnosis - expect lots of friendly banter from dr. --BUT don't expect to be called back even when you are told to call to get test results --- I was told to expect this but thought as long he is a good dr. I can ignore the rest ---I lasted for a number of years and it broke me. GOOD LUCK

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 9th, 2014

Professional, Personable and extremely competent

I have been going to Tom Palella for over 15yrs. He has always been gracious, attentive and concerned. His initial, and accurate diagnosis revealed a condition (Lupus) that other doctors had dismissed. He is not only a great doctor, he is truly a very good man; concerned about his patients, his community and his country.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2013

Love Doctor Palella/Office staff rude and mean no compassion

I have been seeing Dr. Palella for going on four years and he is great, he care and listens , his nurse Liz is very nice and I have found only one person that is office staff that has been nice and she is the one who checks you in, I have to come in to the office to get a prescription once a month and if that one girl is not there nobody help or if they do it is 10 min or more of my waiting the kicker is there is someone right there that I could reach out and touch and she just looks at me and turns away very rude! I like the doctor and now a days it is hard to find one that understands what you are going through but he needs new people friendly staff upfront ,you need people friendly people working upfront if you don't you may lose patients because of poor attitude.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2013

Patella a Genious

The doctor is very good with the amount of time he spends with each patient, listening to their concerns. Office staff is rude and mean! Nurses are womderful!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

February 1st, 2013

Great doc very rude office people

Dr palella is a genious. He loves to solve puzzles and get to the bottom of confusing health issues. His nurses are very nice. However his office staff is not. They very loudly discuss billing and insurance issues. They are also likely to suggest treatments that require you to go through his office and won't allow you to go through the hospital for treatments. In this day of shrinking doctor salaries with medical reforms, it appears that they are trying to create new revenue flows. They are also obnoxious about resolving insurance issues. As a patient we can not control how long it takes for our insurance to process the claims. They need to be much more aware of this and not come off as greedy or desperate. I am very disappointed that the doctor would allow this practice and that he isn't interested in the patient's best interest to seek treatments anywhere but in his office.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2017

4.0 Rating

April 11th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 19th, 2016

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Palella is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Des Plaines, IL.

  • Dr. Joseph Chimino

    Dr. Joseph Chimino

    Internal Medicine

    Des Plaines, IL 0 mi

    4.3
    (13)
    9
  • Dr. Timothy Cahill

    Internal Medicine

    Des Plaines, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    31
  • Dr. Igor Naryzhny

    Dr. Igor Naryzhny

    Internal Medicine, Gastroenterology

    Des Plaines, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    8