The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Chen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Chen?

Metastatic Melanoma

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Chen?

Ratings and Reviews

11 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    0
  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 11 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 17th, 2015

Nancy

Very attentive to side effects, and explains treatment options with clarity.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 24th, 2015

I certainly would not recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2012

excellent, very easy to talk to conversational, informs and discusses treatment options. supportive and caring. Sometimes i am late, sometimes he is late. It works for me. Would recommend him to others.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2011

Highly Compassionate and Dedicated Oncologist

Dr. Chen is a highly compassionate and dedicated oncologist who has provided the best personalized care possible for my sister who recently died of a rare terminal cancer. He has gone beyond the call of duty to care for my sister His care extends to care for the wellness of the primary caretaker and family in selecting the palliative care options. He is culturally sensitive and has great bedside manner. My sister couldn't have lived as long if it wasn't for Dr. Chen's expertise and dedication!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2009

Lucky to have him for my doctor!!

I feel that Doctor Chen has cared for me the same way that he would for a loved one or friend. He has taken so much extra time and is one of the few doctors that I have ever found that listens and tries to solve any medical problems which you may have even those not related to the original problem for which he may have been treating you. He views his patients as a "whole" person and not merely the disease which they are struggling with. He is knowledgeable and if he doesn't know it at that moment because it is not in his specialty he helps to find the answer.He is thorough and smart and leaves you feeling comfortable because you are in his care. He is a fine and knowledgable doctor and an extremely caring human being. I feel so lucky to have him as my oncologist!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2009

Dr. Thomas Chen is the BEST!

Dr. Chen is everything that an excellent doctor should be! He is caring, compassionate and knowledgeable! Most of all, he listens and does everything that he possibly can do to keep you in good health. I have never had a doctor who went so beyond what he needed to do. He is everything that you would want in an ocologist and a whole lot more! He deserves to have at least double whatever the top rating is!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 6th, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 7th, 2015

3.0 Rating

April 24th, 2015

5.0 Rating

October 8th, 2014

5.0 Rating

April 12th, 2012

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Jose, CA.

  • Dr. Martha Man

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, Hematology

    San Jose, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    17
  • Dr. May Chen

    Medical Oncology, Internal Medicine

    San Jose, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    24
  • Dr. Bryant Sheh

    Hematology and Oncology, Internal Medicine

    San Jose, CA 0 mi

    3.8
    (6)
    10