ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Vail Is this you?

Filter Reviews

169 Ratings • 69 Comments

4.8
  • 155
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Vail?

Showing 12 of 169 Ratings

Exceeded my expectations.

Posted on November 9th, 2017

Can't wait to return for the 2nd hip joint replacement!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Third time has been a charm!!

Posted on October 30th, 2017

Dr. Vail has been a life saver to me!! About 4 months ago I underwent 2 failed knee replacement surgeries by another surgeon. To say I was disappointed/frustrated is an understatement!! After getting several more options on how to get my knee functioning correctly again, Dr. Vail agreed to take over my case!! A full knee revision was performed 2 weeks ago by Dr. Vail and I’m very happy to report the third Time was a charm!! I still have a ways to go with PT, but my knee appears to be functioning as planned!! I’m now looking forward to enjoying life again!! Thank you again to Dr. Vail, his incredible staff and all the nurses, PT John, and PA Jay at UCSF!! Together we did it!!!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Vail

Posted on October 11th, 2017

Have all good things to say on Dr. Vail and his whole staff!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Kind, thoughtful and excellent dr!

Posted on September 19th, 2017

I have had orthopedic issues since I was a child. So, I've been to a lot of doctors. I truly feel so lucky to have found Dr. Vail. He is thoughtful and really makes me feel listened to. I've emailed him several times and he gets backs to me in an extremely timely manner. It's hard for me to put into words how amazing of a doctor Dr. Vail has been to me and I can't say enough nice things about him and his team.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

very pleased !

Posted on August 30th, 2017

very very little pain or discomfort. Bruising was/is my only problem and the rightness of my leg but the surgery itself was a huge success

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 4th, 2017

I am so impressed with the level of care and daily communication .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Strongly recommend Dr Vail

Posted on June 16th, 2017

My hip replacement has given me a new lease in activity in my life. It took a long time (6months) to get into Dr Vail, but wanted his expertise and success rate.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best surgeon

Posted on June 14th, 2017

I was lucky enough to have Dr. Vail do my left hip 7 years ago. When my right hip needed to be replaced, I immediately went to see him. I am completely pain free without pain meds 2 weeks after surgery .

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Outstanding results

Posted on June 14th, 2017

Well planned execution and quick recovery. I think the use of Health loop is good also. Staff and Doctor all very engaged and willing to help.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 30th, 2017

I would highly recommend Dr. Vail. My experience was extremely positive from the first visit, through surgery, hospital stay and aftercare. Two weeks and I feel like a new person, no pain, no walker/cane and totally independent. Dr. Vail is the very best !

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 24th, 2017

my new knees are perfect I ma now working on getting the swelling out of my legs and that is coming now that i am off the blood thinner

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Total Rockstar

Posted on May 16th, 2017

The Physical Therapists at The Jewish Home were astounded by the range of motion and the flexibility of my knee within less than a week post-op.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Vail is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Francisco, CA.