Dr. Thomas Vail MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery San Francisco, CA

Overall Rating

4.8
  • 144 patient ratings
  • 64 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

144 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    92%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    1%
  • Poor
    1%
  • Bad
    3%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 4th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am so impressed with the level of care and daily communication .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2017
Strongly recommend Dr Vail
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
My hip replacement has given me a new lease in activity in my life. It took a long time (6months) to get into Dr Vail, but wanted his expertise and success rate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Best surgeon
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was lucky enough to have Dr. Vail do my left hip 7 years ago. When my right hip needed to be replaced, I immediately went to see him. I am completely pain free without pain meds 2 weeks after surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Outstanding results
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Well planned execution and quick recovery. I think the use of Health loop is good also. Staff and Doctor all very engaged and willing to help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 30th, 2017
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would highly recommend Dr. Vail. My experience was extremely positive from the first visit, through surgery, hospital stay and aftercare. Two weeks and I feel like a new person, no pain, no walker/cane and totally independent. Dr. Vail is the very best !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
my new knees are perfect I ma now working on getting the swelling out of my legs and that is coming now that i am off the blood thinner
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 16th, 2017
Total Rockstar
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The Physical Therapists at The Jewish Home were astounded by the range of motion and the flexibility of my knee within less than a week post-op.

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2017
The BEST surgeon I have ever known!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Through my career at UCSF, I have had the pleasure of knowing many doctors through my 30+ years. I was lucky to get Dr. Vail for my first hip replacement. He not only has an exceptional background (biomedical engineering and medicine), he is truly a caring and polite gentleman. In talking to him, his background/education eventually brought him to arthroplasty. He has a brilliant understanding and background in the mechanics of joints. My first hip replacement was so successful that six years later when I needed a second one, I did not want anybody else to perform the surgery. The second time around, I am equally impressed and happy that it was Dr. Vail and his team who saw me through the pre-surgery process, surgery and post recovery. Two weeks post surgery, I am able to get around the house without crutches and am getting stronger each day. I look forward to resuming my "normal" active life! I can't say enough great things about Dr. Vail and his team!

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Vail replaced both of my knees and one hip. I believe that my outcomes have been as good as I could have hoped for. I am a physician and I appreciate the great skill he brings to his profession.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2017
Dr. Vail and his team are the very best
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I recovered so quickly from my hip replacement with Dr. Vail due to his top surgical expertise and his extremely thorough post op care. Able to resume daily activities within two weeks care plan before and after surgery extremely well thought out and thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 1st, 2017
He made a difficult surgery seem easy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2017
Excellent, 2 hip surgeries ( right side in 2015, left side in 2016) Plan to go back for left knee surgery. It was worth the waiting months for an opening in his schedule.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Vail is a highly experienced, knowledgeable and kind person, his relaxed, confident, personal visit before going to the operating table, took away all my fear and apprehension and made me feel relaxed.. at ease during and after surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Vail, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Francisco, CA.