Dr. Thomas Winegarden MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.7
  • 61 patient ratings
  • 30 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

30 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    30%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    46%
  • Bedside Manner
  • Wait Time 37 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 4th, 2016
Stay Away
Stay away from this man. I was in a hospital on a 72 hour hold and he was the doctor assigned to me. The day after I was admitted I was already fairly lucid and noticed a lot of strange things. My dad visited me and I told the doctor it went well. He said, "So he's not evil anymore?" I said, "Did I SAY he was evil?" I knew I hadn't. His response was, "Well don't ALL daughters think their fathers are evil? My daughters..." and he trailed off. My dad even noted that he was in a ratty tshirt and jeans instead of anything resembling work clothes. There was another patient who roamed around singing to herself, "Dr. Winegarden lies! Dr. Winegarden lies!" and I knew this guy was weird. Later I spoke to another patient who told me he regularly messes with the minds of his patients. He wouldn't let a girl leave unless she agreed to let him be her doctor once she was released. He was supposed to see me to assess when I could leave and he walked right past me, gave me a strange look and went home. I needed to leave for fear of losing my job and had been lucid for days so I asked if someone else could see me. When he found out he told the staff that if I saw someone else he would put me on another 72 hour hold. I talked to the staff who were also confused why I was still there and said if I wasn't seen the next day I would raise holy h-e-l-l. The next morning I was released. Worst experience with a doctor I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2016
Great and caring Doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Winegarten saved me from myself. He is a great listener and I am happy I found him. I was inpatient at that time so maybe I was lucky. I still see him on the outside.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 26th, 2016
Is This Guy For Real???
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I have NEVER seen anybody so self centered and with such a massive ego! He is only interested in what else he can cram in his mouth rather than what you have to say.Always have to wait 2+hrs.only to be treated like a second class citizen.Why is he in mental health? Clearly a Dr. that should have retired years ago!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Was always running late. I even booked my appointment so I was his first patient, he was still an hour late getting to the clinic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a Very Understanding Compassionate Doctor. He was my Doctor in the Hospital and is Currently my Doctor. He is really down to earth and Cares about his Patients. I wouldn't trade him...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 5th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long long long wait times. They should at least be honest about how long it will be. I don't consider 2 hours to be "running a little behind". Honesty and respect are basic fundamentals in patient care. We have jobs, families, & lives. This isn't right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's a controlling individual that is constantly eating during appointments. One should think he need some psychiatric care....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2015
bad
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Be came very self centered. Did not ask appropriate questions I.e. how are you feeling, are your meds working, etc. Was eating during appt..not appropriate at all.Would never go back to this clinic,!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 27th, 2015
Run like the wind and DO NOT turn back!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This mal-practitioner and his minions left me feeling so violated that I can no longer trust any member of the medical community whatever their capacity might be. At Fairview Southdale Hospital he repeatedly had me forcibly drugged and violently restrained. When I told him I was not at all or ever to be interested in his 'services', he yelled at me saying, "That's it! I don't need to take this from you. You will get committed. I will personally see to that ." Upon my discharge, he withdrew ALL my meds saying that this was necessary for me to admit that I need him and this way I have no choice but to return. Then he can really take care of me! And the worst part about this? I was not treated as badly as some of the others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 20th, 2015
Beware of this wack job!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My wife was a patient of his at Fairview and he seemed totally great there. Once she was out of the hospital and she saw him in his office, it was like a real life Jeckel and Hyde. He was unbelievably unprofessional during the appointment. For example, he started eating his lunch during her appointment, made it sound like she would never feel better and that she was doomed to a depressive life. He also told her that since I have MS, she should prepare for the fact that I would end up in a nursing home. My wife cried over that for two days...she was shocked and terrified. This POS has a God complex and has no business being a doctor, much less a mental health doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 8th, 2015
WORST Shrink Ever!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There is not 1 good thing I can say about my brief experience with this Dr. Have NEVER seen someone so unprofessional. Can't believe this guy has patients. It's worth your time to find ANYONE else. Seeing him was a TOTAL waste of time and money. Glad I got smart and left. Only wish I'd done it sooner!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 24th, 2015
Unprofessional, rude, poor quality care, needs to either take his job seriously or retire
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Any person who repeatedly tells me or anyone else that they are "asking dumb questions," and that they "don't understand how medicine works" is rude in my book. But the fact that I, too, am an MD and that this Dr Winegarden was fully aware of this fact made his rude comments feel especially personal and unprofessional. In my view we are all patients either now or at some point in our lives and thus I would find such remarks equally rude and unprofessional regardless of who he dared to share them with. In addition, at my 15 minute appointment, he spent more time complaining about his carpal tunnel than listening to me. Also, he did not get a list of the medications I take. This is inexcusable, particularly given that the meds he prescribed and the samples he handed out had deadly interactions with meds I already take. Luckily, I realized this before swallowing any of his bad psychiatry. Further, keeping his sample room in a kitchen so dirty even the samples are probably growing bacteria is unhygienic to say the best. Sadly, it also appears to be yet another example of how he has grown far beyond caring about his patients, being remotely on time, or acting with a modicum of professionalism. He may once have been a good doctor, but I think either retirement or a major change in attitude are now warranted. Even worse is his nurse, who treated me so disrespectfully I wasn't even sure how to react. I don't expect "special treatment" because I am an MD. However, ordinary human decency is something all of us patients deserve. This man might have cared at one point. Now, however, he clearly doesn't and it shows everywhere you look. Do yourself a favor and choose somebody else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Winegarden, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chanhassen, MN.

Doctor

Dr. Anna Yurchenko

8 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kevin Brown

14 years experience

2.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Douglas Nemecek

26 years experience

2.3 of 5