ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Tim Samelson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tim Samelson?

Childhood Asthma

Childhood Asthma

Get the facts about childhood asthma, including the causes, symptoms and complications related to this condition.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tim Samelson?

Ratings and Reviews

21 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    18
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    18
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
8.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 21 Ratings with 8 Comments

2.0 Rating

January 7th, 2017

An interesting view

While Dr. Samelson has good patient manners I didn't feel rushed or pressured during the visit I did however get advise that I found to be a bit alarming. I feel my kids are normal I have a 3 year old who to me eats normal kid foods and dislikes veggies right now. I was advised to give her nothing but veggies at every meal and only offer her water till she eats. Was told that after a few days she would eat the veggies. Of course anyone would eat after a few days of nothing but water and not eating. Was also told that time outs were to be in plain boring spaces. I have limited space so we use her bed or a small desk that she sits at. Dr. Samelson informed me that was not timeout and that I needed to take 2 large pieces of furniture and the wall and trap her in a space. When I informed him I don't any such areas like that in my home for safety reasons I was told to lock her in a closet. My daughter is also a bit rebellious and has stranger danger so during the visit she wasn't fully participating. When asked to count for him she refused because she was drinking her juice. I asked her nicely if she could count and she wouldn't so he attempted to take her cup. She fought back and bit down. He forced open her mouth and ripped the cup from her placing it on the exam table stating. Mom wins. Obviously I gave it right back to her While he is friendly and informative his methodology on how to handle a childs behavior for me is just a bit to extreme. I believe in talking through situations and appropriate timeouts where they have to sit quietly and forcing her to eat veggies at age 3 just seems a bit to much. She's 3 and i'm sure will grow into other foods as she gets older and we continue to offer healthy choices to her.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 18th, 2016

EXcellent doctor

He is a great doctor, so warm and caring as well as knowledge . He always has time for any questions or concerns.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 12th, 2016

Excellent doctor

Dr. Samuelson is an excellent pedestrian. We are new to parenting and we had so many questions. Dr. Samuelson Always answers all our questions and gives plenty of information and details we didn't knew or didn't even think of. He is never in a rush to go the next patients thus spending ample amount of time during our visits. My husband and I are very happy that we chose Dr. Samuelson. I would recommend Dr. Samuelson to everyone...

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 20th, 2014

He is a wonderful doctor I ever met. My kid likes him and office is very friendly. My kid has autism he used to shout when we take him for check ups but with dr Timothy , he listens to him very well. We are visiting for our newborn now and we like the way He explains about development and cares we need to take. I highly recommend the doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 10th, 2013

His office is usually pretty timely. He is wonderful with both of my kids and is very knowledgeable about development and what to expect at their ages. The office manager, Lydia, on the other hand, is not as pleasant and easy to work with. She could be less abrupt and combative with parents.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 13th, 2012

The woman that works at his front desk, Lydia is unprofessional and combative. We left his pratice 2yrs ago & I still have not found a doctor that I like as well as Dr. Samelson. If he were to replace Lydia I would return to his pratice in a minute.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2011

Best Dr. I have ever met!!! He is wonderful!!

He is a wonderful Doctor!!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 1st, 2009

Exactly what I was looking for

New to the area and I took the kids to a large practice in the area. Never saw a Dr, only a nurse practioner. I wanted a Dr who knew my family and he is exactly what I was looking for. Awesome with the kids, on their level and they were totally comfortable. Listened to all my concerns. It was our initial visit and he spent an hour or so with us to find out our complete family history. I feel he has the experience as a Dr and parent to understand our needs

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 7th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 4th, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 1st, 2016

1.0 Rating

November 20th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Tim Samelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gurnee, IL.

  • Dr. Uchenna Osayimwen

    Pediatrics

    Gurnee, IL 0.76 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    12
  • Dr. Suja Joseph

    Dr. Suja Joseph

    Pediatrics, Child Neurology

    Gurnee, IL 0.76 mi

    4.6
    (13)
    25
  • Dr. Elizabeth Yerkes

    Dr. Elizabeth Yerkes

    Pediatric Surgery, General Surgery, Pediatrics, Urology

    Gurnee, IL 0.76 mi

    4.4
    (21)
    24