Browse Health
Dr. Todd Giese, MD
Internist, Pediatrician
26 years of experience
Video profile
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

25

Total Reviews

13

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.3157894736842 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.6 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.8333333333333 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.5789473684211 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.7368421052632 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.6842105263158 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.5625 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 32 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highly Recommend Dr Todd Giese in Crystal Lake, IL  |  show details
by Ed on Jul 8th, 2013

Oustanding care from Dr Todd Giese & Everyone at his office !! Highly Recommended !! Friendly, Thorough, Professional & great communication.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Aug 21st, 2012

Such a big heart and great at what he does!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Finding Jesus at Dr. Office  |  show details
Aug 2nd, 2012

Did not appreciate this doctors opinions. Why should I pay him to give me the same message that I receive from my pastor! Jesus saves, does he also pay my doctors bills? My religous preferences should not be his concerns, since I has there for physical concerns not psychological.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Finally found the doctor I have been looking for!  |  show details
Jul 30th, 2012

Dr. Giese is a real doctor that treats the patient and does not have that reflex action to write a quick prescription. He is the best of both worlds really. He is up-to-date on medicince and practical about application. What a relief. I have been searching for about 8 years.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Awful doctor  |  show details
Jul 28th, 2012

So this doctor does not believe in pain medications. He does not believe in birth control. I was in the hospital and he preached to me and said that I will be in pain but not to take any medications. He was horrible. He accused me of being addicted to narcotics! He does not like it if you challenge his beliefs. Did he not have to take the oath of "do no harm"? I think he is the worst doctor ever and would never recommend anyone see him, even in an emergency.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Doctor to Avoid!  |  show details
Jul 13th, 2012

Dr Giese used to be a good physician. Now he feels that if you are not a spiritual person and don't read the bible every night for at least 1-2 hours, you will not have good health.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  A Doctor who Cares  |  show details
Oct 26th, 2011

I have been seeing Dr. Giese for many years now and both me and my son think he is a great. I have read some reviews that say he is unprofessional, I would definitely not say, what I like most about him is that he is personable. If really cares about his patients both from a health perspective and personally. If he is asking more questions its because he wants to get to know you because he cares. If you are looking for a stuffy boring Doctor who barely asks any questions or talks to you and rushes like he cant wait to get out of the room than Dr. Giese is not for you there are plenty of those doctors around. Sometimes you do have to wait awhile at the office but I dont mind because when it is my turn he doesnt rush me and takes time to listen and answer all my questions.I have also been pleased with the others doctors there.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Religion Has No Place in a Medical Office...  |  show details
Jul 26th, 2011

I saw Dr. Giese first upon recommendation and a few other times when other doctors in the practice were unavailable. On one occassion, I had visited due to a throat infection - I was asked about my current prescriptions, one of which was birth control, and was then subjected to his strong religious tirade about how sex will never mean anything to me because I'd had it outside of marriage. He went on to spew his opinion about how my future marriage was going to be forever tarnished due to my pre-marital sexual encounters. I was in such shock that I couldn't even say a word. Another visit to Dr. Giese (trust me, if I hadn't been desperate I would not have gone back) for a mild case of tonisillitis resulted in horrible side effects due to the "overkill" strength of prescription he gave me. Most doctors would prescribe penicillin, which had always done the trick for me, but instead he prescribed the same antibiotic given to anthrax patients (Levaquin). Besides paying over $100 when I could have paid $4, every bacteria in my body, good & bad, was wiped out and I suffered with the results for a month after. I've learned my lesson and went to another practice altogether.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr Giese is a great doctor  |  show details
Jan 27th, 2011

I have been seeing Dr. Giese for a couple of years. I have found him to be pleasant to talk to, easy to communicate with and above all a great Doctor. I don't see him often but when I do I know I will get great care. The negative posts that are on here certainly don't sound like the Dr. Giese that I know.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Unprofessionalism.  |  show details
Dec 15th, 2010

When he entered the room, he shook my hand, and began asking a slew of confrontational, rude, questions. He was sarcastic in tone. I advised him I was not there to discuss his questions, but was there because I was in extreme pain, and wanted to stick to the exam. He exploded, he stood up, opened the door, and yelled in the office area "you dont give me attitde", then slammed my file down on the receptionists table and yelled "cancel it", and left in a huff down the hall. I collected my check, and waked out. Frieghtening experience. Utter and total unprofessionalism.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 1st, 2010

I saw Dr. Giese on 2 occasions. Both times I was prescribed extemely narcotic drugs for simple issues (cough, neck pain) which I could not take. Also, I felt extremely uncomfortable by his bedside manner. He was overly touchy to the extreme.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Mike R. on Dec 4th, 2008

Great Doctor! Very attentive toward patients and family. Extremely easy to get appointments the same day or with any other doctor in the pratice.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doc  |  show details
Jun 9th, 2008

I've been seeing Dr Giese for nearly 10 years, usually just once, maybe twice a year. He has treated me appropriately, and almost feels like more of a friend than my Dr.