Dr. Tom Mayer MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-2.4)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 29.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 24th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Poor staff. Mis diagnosis. Left in worse shape than I went in. Not recommended. Pill factory. Terrible experience. Would not recommend to worst enemy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 4th, 2011
Worst "Doctor" I've Ever Met
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seriously the WORST Doctor...If you can even call him that, that I've ever met. Kept me waiting over 2 hours in the waiting room then got mad because he had to wait a couple of minutes on me to return from the restroom. I have a WC injury & was told I might have compression fractures & need an MRI he said "so what if you compression fractures? lots of people have them you don't need to know to about them but if you want an MRI fine..I'll be lucky if they pay for this visit" when the results came in & I returned he didn't even tell me the results or give me a copy, I had to ask for it. It turns out I had 2 bulging discs but he wasn't concerned about the pain that causes me & he just signed me up for his rehab program that did absolutely nothing. I don't see how he can help anyone because he doesn't shut his mouth long enough to listen and he has no empathy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2011
***warning***
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred here and was scheduled to be 1st appt of the day. I waited over 2.5 hours before the dr came in. He was more closely akin to a car salesman as he tried to sell me on the oppurtunity I was blessed with to have access to his facility and program. He was rude, ingeniune, condecending, and a fast-talker (in a high pressure sales context). He told me how workers comp was so tedious and I was a doctors nightmare so no one else will probably want to deal with me. He promised to "have me hooked up to his (exercise) machines and working through the pain while I squeel like a pig". His waiting room seemed intimidated by him. His nurses were unfamiliar with his reknowned "blowfish toxin treatment". He did not review my medical file, MRI, examine me nor allow me to speak. He told me that if I wanted a prescription the i'd have to see his partner but he only sees those who have emotional issues that are co-morbid symptoms of the injury so if I wanted pain medicine I would need to "really embellish my depression or anxiety symptoms". The office is dirty and drab. If you feel like a second class citizen then this place will make you feel right at home. I told the office off before I left, vocally & publicly, and received a round of applause before I walked out. I am educated, a professional, and refuse to be a victim. Never allow yourself to be treated in such a demeaning and patronizing fashion as this office has adopted. Don't believe me?......go ahead, schedule that appointment and see for yourself !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the best doctors I have ever seen. I have been to five other doctors and none of them could help me with my shoulder pain. Dr. Mayer spent the time to find out how to help me get better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2010
Great Doctor
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I've been in pain for several years - started in my back and traveled to my leg. This is the first doctor who was able to pinpoint the cause and ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2010
Relief at last
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been living with back and leg pain for over a year. Dr. Mayer took the time to fully evaluate me and finally pinpointed the source of the pain. Since my issue had been going on for so long, he explained that it could be a slow process to recovery - we avoided surgery and after only a few weeks of therapy at PRIDE, I am already seeing results. The therapist here are thorough, caring and knowledgeable. What a relief!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2010
Very Knowledgeable
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor and staff are very experienced with back and neck pain. They help me get better when no one else could. Just do what they say and keep up with your treatment and you will see results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2010
Caring doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mayer is the first doctor who really understood my condition and how to fix it. He is very smart and really cares about his patients. If you have pain, this is the doctor to go see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2009
Bad DR
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wait over a hr to see this guy. takes work comp only and pushes his rehab. Did not evaluate me at all nor did he look at my medical history. He does ignore his patients. Seems most are afraid to cross this guy. I have a malpractice lawyer on call as I do not trust this guy. Sadly still stuck his care if you can call it care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 14th, 2009
Bad News
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
this Dr is bad news
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
The man was suppose to eval my shoulder/neck,knees.hip/back. He never did this but did half way look at the shoulder when told he was hurting me he added more force leaving multiply bruises on me and ignored the fact that I was having tingling and numbness. He also refused to let me have a patient advocate in the room which I need due to a disabilty in which there is a communcation problem. He was very rude and unprofesional. Also ignored my medical history.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Tom Mayer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Shelton Hopkins

45 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Guy Driggs

41 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Richard Jones

50 years experience

4.8 of 5