Dr. Thomas Nagel MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.9
  • 102 patient ratings
  • 69 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (-0.1)

69 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    92%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    1%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Promptness
  • Bedside Manner
  • Wait Time 17.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2016
He's worth the wait
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You learn right away that you are in for some waiting time when you visit Dr. Thomas. But I think that he is worth the wait. Even in the crazy world of finding out you have level 4 cancer and the hearing about the surgeries involved, Dr. Thomas is engaging, friendly and personable. He helps to calm things down. I enjoyed working with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thomas did an excellent job with the preparation, surgery and follow up appointments for my tongue cancer. The procedure was successful, with no complications, and the follow up care has been great. I would recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2016
Great surgeon, Kind Doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thomas is a great surgeon and doctor. You can barely see the scar on my neck. He was very patient with me during the healing process and was legitimately concerned with my progress throughout the surgical recovery process and my radiation recovery process. I will miss him as my doctor at Dana Farber.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2016
Head, Neck
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I give Dr. Tom Thomas the highest score possible. He did surgery on a tumor located in my sinus where it was cancer had to remove the left side of the roof of my mouth. He is VERY caring, comforting couldn't ask for a more CARING and understanding dr. explains everything in detail took the time to talk. I don't live by Dr Thomas I'm from another state I would travel anywhere so Dr. Thomas could treat me. I HIGHLY recommend anyone in need of a physician to contact him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2016
first class, top-notch surgeon and physician
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Tom Thomas is a first class, top-notch surgeon and physician. I was actually among one of the first of his patients at Dana Farber and received the upmost of excellent care. I went for a second opinion for my tongue cancer. I had already had a surgery with most all of the cancer cells removed but I went to him to ensure everything was truly cancer free. His primary concern was there wasn’t enough margin between the bad resected basil cancer cells and the good tissue of my tongue. Not only did he grant me sufficient conservative margin but he removed “the bridge” but taking out 47 nodes out of the left side of my neck granting me an extra insurance policy that it couldn’t infect the rest of my body. Not only am I 100% cancer free but Dr. Thomas used his previous plastic surgery skills such that there is virtually no signs of ever being operated on. I have full functionality of my tongue and can taste, whistle and talk as if nothing had ever happened. The only symptoms I get are an occasional dry mouth (some of my saliva glands removed) and it’s easier to bite my tongue if I eat too fast. Dr. Thomas treated “the total body care” and kept my wife and kids constantly informed of the status and explained all procedures on the way. We all felt truly confident and comfortable with his care. Post-operative care was superlative also as he took steps for my oral care, checked up on me regularly, and practically acted as my psychiatrist managing my stress levels. I highly recommend Dr. Tom Thomas for any head, neck Otolaryngology (Ears, Nose and Throat) care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2016
Excellent experience!! Very grateful!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recommend Dr. Tom Thomas! I saw Dr. Thomas to remove an adenoid cystic carcinoma cancer tumor in my right buccal oropharynx area. The tumor was about 2 centimeters in its largest dimension, and had some spreading that was not seen on the MRI pictures. Dr. Thomas removed the mass and obtained clean margins. My surgical experience could not have been better. I was completely comfortable at all times. My last memory was breathing oxygen from a mask for the surgery team in the operating room at 11:00AM; then I woke in another room, wondering if anything had been done to me, as I was not feeling pain, was not groggy, was not nauseated, and felt very well. The clue that something had happened was the wall clock; 3 hours had passed since my last memory; it was 2:00PM. Soon, I was eating ice chips, followed by gelatin and then custard. This was about 3:00PM. I was then asked if I felt I could transfer from the hospital bed to an easy chair, which I was readily able to do. I saw my family and friends once settled in the chair and was discharged from the surgical day unit at 4:00PM. Dr. Thomas explained the problem and procedures very well. He listened to my major concern, which was sickness from anesthesia. Dr. Thomas most definitely treated me like an individual, not a case, or case number. His bedside manner was excellent. I live about 120 miles from Dr. Thomas, and am grateful that he was within reach to me. I know I made the right choice with Dr. Thomas. I trusted him with my life, and would again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 7th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thomas was the surgeon I saw when I had to have surgery for thyroid cancer. Truly one of the best doctors I've ever had. I would recommend him without hesitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thomas provided exceptionally great care before, during, and after surgery and I will forever be grateful. Thanks to Dr. Thomas my wife and I are living a normal life and once again looking forward to the future. Dr. Thomas's straightforward approach mixed with a sense of humor and compassion lessened our anxiety and made my surgery and subsequent treatment plan doable. Also, the much less invasive T.O.R.S surgery he performed left me with barely a visible scar which is a true testament to his professionalism and many skills. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Thomas as a Surgeon / Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2016
5 - Star Review
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Tom Thomas was very knowledgeable and answered all the questions I came in with. His staff was also very courteous and they seemed compassionate about what I was going through. He had a great sense of humor as well. The experience was great and I would absolutely refer him to friends & family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
From the very first visit meeting with Tom Thomas, MD, he took the time to explain what was happening, how surgery was going to be needed, pros and cons of the surgery, and what follow up visits would consist of. Dr. Thomas made sure that I understood, used language that was clear, not above my head, and never did I leave thinking, "what did he just say"? The surgery and follow up visits have been exactly as described would be. I highly recommend Dr. Thomas due to his knowledge, skills, but most importantly, his caring, and understanding manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2016
Highly recommended
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Clear communication; excellent treatment and follow-up. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 18th, 2016
Dr. Thomas is a very skilled and highly competent surgeon and I would recommend him without question. Not only is he very educated and skilled in his craft, but he has the gift of human compassion and understanding and knows how to make a patient feel safe. I went to him at Dana Farber Cancer Institute because of cancer of the tongue and despite the very frightening circumstances he made me feel protected and cared for. This combination of intelligence, skill and compassion are rare.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Thomas Nagel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rochester, MN.

Doctor

Joseph T Breen

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Jan Kasperbauer

32 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mirabelle Sajisevi

5 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor