The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Tommy Swiney Is this you?
  • 22
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
9.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tommy Swiney?


35 Ratings with 14 Comments

1.0 Rating

January 15th, 2016

Peu

Not sure if he's human but he's definitely got a god complex, don't expect someone whose never suffered a day in their life to comprehend the word "empathy". Dudes dipping into his own stockpile of drugs too. However, his student psychiatrist was very kind with a wonderful sense of true empathy of other's suffering.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 12th, 2015

Holy smokes! I think this guy looked up from his keyboard one time in the half hour session. Didn't even want to attempt a diagnosis. Easier to just continue medications my family Dr. took a stab at. Very weak, but typical small town psychiatrists.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 10th, 2014

Wow! These reviews are astounding!

I did not like him at all. I found him rude and argumentative. I switched doctors after approximately four appointments. I must have become one of appointments shortly after he graduated, because his so-called "bedside manner", left much to be desired. Gave zero stars for the last four criteria, as I did not see him long enough, he never followed up and time spent with him was NOT therapeutic.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 12th, 2013

Elitist and biased

The staff doing the intake do not make one feel comfortable due to their stumbling over words and southern drawl. The doctor is elitist and biased which is not something a person with mental health issues who is paying a lot of money for services should have to endure. I'm sure the good ratings he receives are from those who fit into his "perfect patient" mold. Don't even try him, unless you enjoy rejection and an unprofessional staff.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 21st, 2012

Really cares

I have been to different psychiatrists over the past 15 years, but Dr. Swiney was the only one to adjust my meds to the proper levels. He also gave me a lot of great feedback and instruction on handling my situation. Dr. Swiney (and one other doctor) have been the best doctors I have ever known and who actually care.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2012

Good psychiatrist

He is nice, knowledgeable, and has helped me a great deal. My needs have changed over the years and he has helped with them all.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 7th, 2012

Im afraid when others find him there will be no more room! he's that good.

Very friendly! lets you talk, gives you time to talk and most importantly, is that he NEVER talks down to you. Excellent Doctor. And the staff is top notch its obvious they know the type of clientele and are very accommodating and friendly.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2010

helped me

the Dr. & staff were very nice.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2009

VERY patient, caring, understanding and really cute too.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 10th, 2009

Very caring, competent MD. I am a local RN and would recommend him without reservation.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2009

i love dr swiney!

dr swiney believes in the lowest dose possible and will NOT make you strung out on pills like some other drs. i trust dr swiney with my psychiatric care 100%

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2009

He is very professional. I highly recommend him. He is very patient and is very helpful with getting the right medications.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Tommy Swiney is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tallahassee, FL.

  • Dr. Ruth Ruterbusch

    Preventive Medicine, Neurology

    Tallahassee, FL 0.48 mi

    25
  • Dr. Karen Chason

    Geriatric Medicine, Neurology, Psychiatry

    Tallahassee, FL 1.38 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    28
  • Dr. Nayyer Iqbal

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Tallahassee, FL 1.43 mi

    2.3
    (3)
    37